Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melton Mowbray

Valparaiso Oct17

Posted Oct 22, 2017
The road outside the hotel was dug up so the area around it resembled a building site, not the hotels fault but it detracted from the experience of staying in the city. The two girls running the hotel are very friendly and nothing too much trouble, nice sitting chatting to them and other guests of an evening in the lounge. Hotel needed an upgrade, my shower door didn't fit properly and kept falling off but the room was clean and tidy with good view over city. I would prefer to stay in Cerro Concepcion where restaurants are much better, I couldn't find one around hotel that was any good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2017 by Doris Aranguiz Vega, Gerente Propietaria, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your words. We are happy that your stay has been pleasant and we deeply regret that our rating has been reduced by 40% just because it is not located in Cerro Concepción. It is possible that due to the lack of knowledge of the city of our client, have not found restaurants to your liking near our establishment, but there is an extensive offer near the center of the city and in the worst case we are only 5 minutes by car of Concepción Hill. Thank very much Muchas gracias por sus palabras. Nos sentimos felices que su estadía haya sido agradable y lamentamos profundamente que nuestra calificación haya sido disminuida en un 40 % solo por el hecho de no estar ubicado en el cerro Concepción. Es posible que por el desconocimiento de la ciudad de nuestro cliente no haya encontrado restoranes a su gusto cerca de nuestro establecimiento, pero hay una extensa oferta cerca en el centro de la ciudad y en el peor de los casos estamos a solo 5 minutos en automóvil del cerro Concepción. muchas gracias
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Delightful Stay!

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hosts at the Grand House are amazing women -- very kind. We arrived late (around 8:00 p.m.) and were offered hot tea and cookies. Breakfasts were excellent. On the day we wanted to go to Vina del Mar to see the sights our hosts offered us a ride. This is an quaint and super comfortable place to stay. But, as other reviewers noted it is not for guests who can't climb steps! Wonderful place to stay!!!
5 out of 5
by Richard

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
They go way out of their way to make you happy and to help you out. Loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

A hidden gem in Valparaiso

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: View, friendly staff and gourmet decorations.
Cons: Not in my mind.
Location: The location is very nice. It is close to the Valparaiso site and the Vina Del Mar beach.
This boutique hotel is a hidden gem at the top of a hill. I was living at the second floor and the view is just amazing. The room is clean and elegant. The staff are super friendly and there is a variety of antique collections. The breakfast is plenty and all are very delicious. This hotel is close to the Valparaiso site and other tourist attractions as well. Overall, I highly recommend this boutique gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view from the hotel.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The view and comfortable room.
Hotel staff are great. Doris is fantastic and will do her best to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Ann

A wonderful welcome to Valparaiso and Chile

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Doris and Carolina ( hope that is the correct spelling) were great. They welcomed us with tea on the terrace with the amazing views. The room also looked out over Valparaiso. I would certainly recommend the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Our hosts were really lovely and tried to be very accommodating and helpful. We were not in the area that we had hoped to be so it was more difficult to get around. The breakfast was inadequate in terms of the quality of the food - canned fruit, sliced bread, etc. (though the eggs were good) and that was a disappointment as we are more used to home baked goods and fresh fruit, etc. The beds were too soft for our liking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Wotif
Lovely staff, very welcoming and friendly family. The hotel is unique and definitely fit the bill of a traditional style bed and breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Ryan

Grand House B&B Victorian Style

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
The Grand House was on the old residential part of the town without any funicular. Be prepared to cab it or use a Collectivo to climb up the steep slopes. The house itself was great and the landladies were absolutely phenomenal. They tended to us really well and were very hospitable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warm service

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
The ladies who run this place are wonderful: warm, inviting and very helpful. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the bay was one of my favorite parts of staying in Valparaiso.