Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Rimvydas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Alvaro from Oporto

Fantástico

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Este hotel se situa em uma fazenda de 1366, simplesmente fantástica a experiência
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Un hotel hermoso!!! Espero regresar pronto para disfrutar una experiencia fantastica!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
Todo estupendo solo que tuvimos que alterar un poco los planes porque nadie avisó que había que reservar con antelación para hacer la cata y la cena en el restaurante
5 out of 5
by David from Wiltshire

Great location

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
A fantastic location in a stunning 13th century hotel with bags of character. High quality of service great food and wine.
3 out of 5
by R. Jones from Brussels

Beautiful, but not a gourmet retreat

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
Positives: Beautiful location, easy to find from Salamanca, check-in fine, friendly reception staff, stunning room with terrace overlooking canal and friendly barman for evening cocktails. Negatives: Photos of two outdoor pools on various websites (including this one) were clearly shot with a wide angle lense - they were tiny and certainly not suitable for swimming, but fine for a refreshing dip [For any swimmers, there is an excellent outdoor municipal pool in nearby Valverdon - 1 km away]. Food and drink was a little disappointing: although the service and some sampling menu dishes were adequate, some dishes lacked flavour and creativity. Also, considering that there is an extensive cellar, the wine that was offered to us as part of a sampling menu (as well as free-of-charge in the room) was also a little disappointing. That said, the venue is stunning and I'd consider a return given its proximity (15 minutes drive) to Salamanca and rural setting (river walks possible in the nearby national parkland).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: the place and the staff all most welcoming
Cons: rooms could do with refreshing in places
Location: location of the beaten track and by the river is wonderful and Salamanca is only 30 minutes away, say no more
Arrived late so missed the dinning experience, but the staff could not have been more helpful and organised a wonderful snack which we ate in the bar over a glass or two of there wine. looking forward to going back in July
5 out of 5
by T.Bloke from Oxfordshire

An oasis of calm

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: A perfectly reasonable drive from Madrid makes this an accessible weekend retreat from many Western European cities.
Cons: Nothing springs to mind.
Location: Nearby Salamanca was well worth a visit and would have liked to spend more than the half day we had there.
We enjoyed a very relaxing night with some lovely (and very good value) wine and fresh local food. We're looking forward to the excuse to come back.
4 out of 5
by Pauline from Portugal

Enjoyable experience

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: The feeling of history.
Cons: Height restricted in the bathroom room and should be protected to avoid one banging the head
Location: The view from the rooms are comforting and make sleeping a truely relaxing experience.
The hotel is a special experience because of it's historical heritage. The room could have done with a little TLC in places due to general wear and tear. The staff where very welcoming and attentive during our entire stay. The restaurant degustation menu was excellent if a little rich at times for our taste. We will certainly be staying again when breaking our trip from Faro.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Think Twice or Pay Twice

Posted Nov 8, 2012
Pros: The history, buildings and country location
Cons: It was a big rip off in our opinion
Location: Close enough to Salamanca to be downtown in 15-20 minutes
1) The bed was hard as a rock 2) Temperature control was awful (too hot) 3) The room smelled like raw sewage from one of the bathroom fixtures 4) The geese woke us up at 5:00 am and wouldn't shut up 5) Food OK but overpriced 6) When I cancelled the following night's stay at 10:00 am (the romance had gone) I was told that wasn't possible, even though there was no written policy. Nice setting but times must be getting tough .