Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Ambience, friendly staff, great wine.
Cons: Few too many flies in my room, and the staff walked in a couple of times while I was in the room.
Just what I was looking for! Rest,relax and great wine!! Food was spectacular as well. Worth the drive!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Wine tasting excellent
5 out of 5
by David from Wiltshire

Great location

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
A fantastic location in a stunning 13th century hotel with bags of character. High quality of service great food and wine.
3 out of 5
by R. Jones from Brussels

Beautiful, but not a gourmet retreat

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
Positives: Beautiful location, easy to find from Salamanca, check-in fine, friendly reception staff, stunning room with terrace overlooking canal and friendly barman for evening cocktails. Negatives: Photos of two outdoor pools on various websites (including this one) were clearly shot with a wide angle lense - they were tiny and certainly not suitable for swimming, but fine for a refreshing dip [For any swimmers, there is an excellent outdoor municipal pool in nearby Valverdon - 1 km away]. Food and drink was a little disappointing: although the service and some sampling menu dishes were adequate, some dishes lacked flavour and creativity. Also, considering that there is an extensive cellar, the wine that was offered to us as part of a sampling menu (as well as free-of-charge in the room) was also a little disappointing. That said, the venue is stunning and I'd consider a return given its proximity (15 minutes drive) to Salamanca and rural setting (river walks possible in the nearby national parkland).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: the place and the staff all most welcoming
Cons: rooms could do with refreshing in places
Location: location of the beaten track and by the river is wonderful and Salamanca is only 30 minutes away, say no more
Arrived late so missed the dinning experience, but the staff could not have been more helpful and organised a wonderful snack which we ate in the bar over a glass or two of there wine. looking forward to going back in July
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T.Bloke from Oxfordshire

An oasis of calm

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: A perfectly reasonable drive from Madrid makes this an accessible weekend retreat from many Western European cities.
Cons: Nothing springs to mind.
Location: Nearby Salamanca was well worth a visit and would have liked to spend more than the half day we had there.
We enjoyed a very relaxing night with some lovely (and very good value) wine and fresh local food. We're looking forward to the excuse to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pauline from Portugal

Enjoyable experience

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: The feeling of history.
Cons: Height restricted in the bathroom room and should be protected to avoid one banging the head
Location: The view from the rooms are comforting and make sleeping a truely relaxing experience.
The hotel is a special experience because of it's historical heritage. The room could have done with a little TLC in places due to general wear and tear. The staff where very welcoming and attentive during our entire stay. The restaurant degustation menu was excellent if a little rich at times for our taste. We will certainly be staying again when breaking our trip from Faro.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Think Twice or Pay Twice

Posted Nov 8, 2012
Pros: The history, buildings and country location
Cons: It was a big rip off in our opinion
Location: Close enough to Salamanca to be downtown in 15-20 minutes
1) The bed was hard as a rock 2) Temperature control was awful (too hot) 3) The room smelled like raw sewage from one of the bathroom fixtures 4) The geese woke us up at 5:00 am and wouldn't shut up 5) Food OK but overpriced 6) When I cancelled the following night's stay at 10:00 am (the romance had gone) I was told that wasn't possible, even though there was no written policy. Nice setting but times must be getting tough .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2012 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with nice staff, however communication was a little difficult with some staff as their English was not great. Got a bit lost as the address is not Salamanca but Valverdon and then the address in the nav sat took us further away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

Hacienda Zorita: spectacular wines and hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
This restored old convent is now a superb winery and magnificent hotel. The rooms are spacious and have expansive verandas facing the river beside. The rooms come with a free bottle of wine and each room has a small wine chest. The wine tasting room is quite beautiful, full of aging wine in barrels. The restaurants are gems, with wonderful meals that have slight overtones of molecular cuisine. It is not too easy to find, but once you're there, 15 minutes from Salamanca, you're in heaven.