Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
This hotel is very old and in very poor condition. It does not have air conditioning and is way very uncomfortable to sleep in due to the heat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Nothing fancy. You get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: The History!
Location: 24 hr Church's Chicken next door. If you like Church's Chicken. It's close to public transit. Staff was excellent.
Over night stay. Not there for long. Travelling by public transit. Didn't want to pay $250 plus taxes elsewhere for maybe a 9 hr stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Historic hotel that is outdated.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Cons: Pretty much everything, especially the wifi.
Location: Located in a poor neighborhood that was very dirty compared to the rest of the city that is probably the cleanest in the world.
This hotel is old and featured in a lot of TV shows including the X-Files, but it has not been refurbished since the 1950s, The furniture is original and the chair in my room was very heavily stained. I put a towel on it to sit down. The carpet was also stained. Their is no air conditioning and the temperatures were in the 80s. The window would open, but only about eight inches. There is no ice machine and when you ask for ice the staff will hand you a small ice bucket that is half full. I guess that it was just too much effort to fill it completely. There is no electronic key and they hand you a very large old fashioned key you have to carry around with you. The TV was an old tube TV on a stand that took up a large section of the room. This hotel also demands that you put up a $200 deposit on check in. I have never had any hotel charge me that much for a deposit. Why? Nothing in the room is worth $200. Certainly not all the furniture combined. I came back to my room at 3:30 and it had not been made up. I was given a room on the east side and in the morning my car was eventually blocked in by film crew that was filming a TV episode in a room past the next room. There was around 50 people hanging around until late and they made a lot of noise. Why was I given a room that they knew would be surrounded by these people? Furthermore, the Wifi was extremely poor and spotty and I was only able to connect for a short period of time over my two day stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo B C Canada

Nothing but problem

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Terrible problem with some of the staf get charged 75$ for returning the key a bit late Ben told by staff at arrival that I was able to sleep in my van because they d'int have room to put a cot bed in the room and been woke up at12:15 and treat me to kick me out of the property if I was not go sleep in the room in a double bed with a male freind
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario, Canada

Why no mosquito screen for windows?

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: No other choice, other hotels in the vicinity are full.
Cons: At least a mosquito screen for windows. Of course air conditioning would be the best.
Location: Chinese Tea houses nearby serve very good dim-sum at very good price.
No air condition, no mosquito screen thus window cannot be opened, free sauna bath!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

poor place to stay. No beaches near by.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Not much of anything.
Cons: The staff that worked ther.. Better accomdations
Location: not of selections of restaurants and stores. To far too Downtown
It was confusing talking with lthe lady on the phone. The lady was a problem dealing with her. the room was too small. the furnishing in the room had vey poor furniture.. the room was very hot. with apoor fan. No aircondtioning.. the bathroom was very small. I WILL NOT GO BACK THERE AGAIN
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Ancient motel with ancient facilities

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: The staff was pleasant.
Cons: A bulldozer is in order for this place!
This is a very, very old motel built in the 40's! Nothing much has been upgraded since it was built. Don't expect to find air conditioning. Don't expect to even find a ceiling fan! And don't expect to charge your iPad or laptop or cell phone because the electrical outlets are slim to none. In fact, the one table lamp wasn't plugged into anything at all! Why, because there was no outlet anywhere near it! And don't wash your hair before you go to the office and request a hair drier either. If you need a bed to sleep in for a night, OK, but don't expect anything more than that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from penticton B.C

Posted Jun 9, 2015
I can't believe how small the bathroom was. the shower as well. you have to stand diagonal to be able to wash your hair. the tiles got so slippery I almost fell and hurt myself. there's no AC and that fan doesn't really help. it was so hot I was uncomfortable. for the little amount we talked to the staff they seemed nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sterling from langley

woeiwiwei

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
charming! historic!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels