Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Clean and Convenient

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Room design, location convenience.
Location: Metrotown Mall, Sky Train station.
The staff was very kind and when I first walked into the room my initial impression was 'wow! This is so neat and tidy!' The room was very nice. We were also a 10 minute walk from metrotown mall which was very convenient because we went there everyday to use the Sky train.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Central location friendly staff and clean

Posted May 26, 2017
Great helpful staff clean room the continental breakfast was great very nice stay except pool was not open easy to get around
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Jocelyn, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience at our property. Whilst I am thrilled that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay, I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused by our pool not being open during your stay. It was under maintenance at the time, but is now open to for our guests to use. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay to enjoy our pool! Kind regards, Andrea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, SK

Good friendly staff

Posted May 25, 2017
The place was rather small, especially the bathroom, but comfortable. The bed was very firm and we slept well. The pillows were too fluffy, but that's just being fussy. The included breakfast was also good. Nice to have a hot meal first thing in the morning. The breakfast sausage isn't the most healthful thing on a menu, though the rest of the selections good.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Cam, Thank you for your review and for your kind comments towards our staff. I am sorry to see that you found your room to be a bit on the small side. We do have a variety of room types available to suit the different needs of our guests. If you found the room you stayed in to be a bit on the smaller side, I recommend booking either a kitchenette or a suite for more space on your next visit. I am also delighted to learn that you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast offering, which offers a variety of food and beverage options – both hot and cold – to help kick start your day. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay soon! Kind regards, Andrea
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
What's to say? It's a Best Western, nothing fancy but nothing wrong with it either. The only negative is the restaurant attached to the hotel is a poor example of a buffet breakfast place. But there are plenty of good places within easy walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy our complimentary continental and buffet-style breakfast. We’ve recently added some more food and drink options to our already large variety of items. Is there anything in particular that you do not like about our complimentary breakfast? We are always looking for ways to improve and would appreciate your detailed feedback and suggestions. Thank you again, and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back for another stay. Kind regards, Andrea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherwood Park

Clean and safe

Posted May 3, 2017
Hotel was very clean and cared for beautiful grounds keeping. Friendly staff good hot breakfast. Security paroled the hotel and felt very safe and respected by the hotel staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a kind review. I am delighted to see that your stay with us has been enjoyable overall, and that you find our staff to be excellent! Providing our guests with a superior level of customer service to ensure that they have a comfortable and enjoyable stay is important to us, as we aim to deliver a home away from home experience. Should you ever have any issues, questions, or concerns during your stay, we have staff members available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at our front desk to address them. We take guest safety very seriously; we have security guards on-site and security cameras installed throughout our property, and our security team will do their best to have any situation resolved quickly if there are any reports. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay soon! Kind regards, Andrea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to metrotown

Posted Apr 23, 2017
It was clean and affordable. The breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We are indeed close to Metrotown (two and a half blocks away, to be exact), in addition to grocery stores, a variety of restaurants and eateries, and public transportation options (bus and SkyTrain). I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, and hope that you will give our coffee shop a try when it’s completed. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay soon! Warm regards, Andrea
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ywg

Convenient location staff is friendly

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Breakfast was very good and the staff was helpful and friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Sheldon, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and found our staff members to be helpful and friendly. Our hotel’s central location makes it convenient for guests to easily access shopping, dining, and transit options, which means that our guests never have to travel far. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you back for another stay soon! Kind regards, Andrea
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glorified motel. Stayed at better Best Westerns

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Front desk said I couldn't earn air miles or Best Western Rewards because I booked via Expedia vs directly through Best Western. Parking was outside and far from our particular room. No secure parking. This was a glorified 2 level motel although it was renovated. Nothing accessible inside including the restaurant for breakfast was across the lane from "lobby". We could hear people outside our room just talking because it was like a motel. Will choose another BW next time or other hotel in area. Only advantage was the location, which is close to metrotown and our family lives near there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of the entire team, please accept my sincerest apologies for not meeting and exceeding your expectations on this visit. You can either earn AirMiles or Best Western Rewards points for each qualified stay, but unfortunately not both. If you used points to redeem for your stay, you cannot earn points on it either. As part of our hotel's major renovation project, we've soundproofed each of the guest rooms to ensure that our guests can enjoy a quiet stay. However, you may still hear a bit of noise from outside the door when we are at full capacity. On a more positive note, thank you for highlighting the aspect of your stay that you did enjoy, which is our hotel's location. I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back for another stay, and hope we will earn a higher rating then. Kind regards, Andrea
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakewood WA

Will Not Stay Here Again

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Located on a main street
Cons: Customer service and the ability to have the room deposit charged at the time of booking. This was a horrible experience.
We were on a weekend getway in Vancouver and decided to stay another night. We found this hotel online I called them directly as it was getting late in the day. The person that answered the phone stated thay they had one room left and it would be xxx plus tax for the night. I stated that online the price was xx. He again said xxx plus tax then hung up. We booked the room online and headed towards this location as we were in North Vancouver. At check in the desk attendant was very rude and said "you booked this today on Expedia" I said yes I did. He asked for the card I used to pay for the room to charge the room deposit. I gave it to and he refused the card. Said that they will only accept Major Brand credit cards. I stated that this card is a mastercard. He then stated no it is a prepaid debit master card. We got into an argument about the card. He stated that no hotel in Vacouver would accept the card. We had no trouble the night before at a nicer hotel. Meanwhile the check in line got longer and longer as he refused to charge the room deposit on the card. I asked that he call a manager or someone else that I could talk to. He called a manager and stated that I was checking in with a prepaid mastercard and if they can accept it. Maanger said yes just charge the depsoit to the card and have them come in at check out and we will refund the deposit. He made a point to comment several times that they are making an exception in accepting the card.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Alberni, B.C.

Lots of clean rooms

Posted Feb 24, 2017
A good place to stay. 25 minute wait to check in was a bit long though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Dear W. Cook, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. Whilst I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed staying at our property very much, I am terribly sorry to learn that you had to wait 25 minutes to check-in. We are always looking for ways to improve, so we appreciate the feedback that you’ve shared with us and look forward to delivering a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back again for another stay soon! Warm regards, Andrea