Ratings based on 842 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Midlands, UK

Comfortable, well located hotel.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The shower was a little counterintuitive and inconsistent.
Location: Prime location for eating out or a walk along the water.
Comfortable, well located hotel with decent facilities and friendly helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great location

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: great location
Cons: Water temperature in shower fluctuated as I was trying to take a shower. Noisy neighbors.
Enjoyed being close to English Bay, Stanley Park, and many restaurants. Cozy beautifully furnished room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olds, Ab

This is an old hotel that needs refurbishing.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Location and desk staff.
Cons: Update the room and replace the mattress (sloped to the outside but we slept more in the middle).
Location: Great location across from the ocean. There were many places to shop and eat close by.
Our stay was just fine. The hotel is old and looks it. The shower would occasionally give a shot of scalding water so you had to be ready to move out of the spray. The bed is well used but my back is fine. The desk staff were great the breakfast staff were great. The evening dining room staff were very poor although polite and friendly when they did come around infrequently.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and awesome staff

Posted Jan 17, 2016
This hotel is in such a great location. The front desk staff is so nice and accommodating. The rooms are really comfortable and fairly recently renovated. My only complaint is that it's noisy... I could hear every person around me entering and exiting their roomroom, their televison, dogs barking, and whenever the water turned on. It was a little hard to sleep with so much background noise but luckily it didn't continue to late. Otherwise this hotel was great and I'll definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Good hotel at a reasonable price

Posted Jan 5, 2016
We have stayed at this Best Western several times over the last few years as the price is very reasonable for a great location and the hotel itself is clean and comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern BC

Social Justice / Environmental Concerns

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Recently stayed at the Best Western Sands after a couple of years. Large clean rooms but the hotel beginning to show it’s age. Hotel has a pro-environment policy that could use a bit more explanation…however, one aspect of the hotel environmental policy immediately raised concern. We were offered a ten dollar rebate coupon if we did not use house-keeping during our stay – so under the guise of caring for the environment jobs of housekeeping staff were jeopardized – less work, less hours of employment. Considering house keeping staff are generally from marginalized groups in society….the policy is neither environmentally nor social justice friendly. The rebate was to be used in the ‘lounge’ and was a profit generator for the hotel. Or am I missing something?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Good staff, hotel restaurant. Close to many amenities. Room was basic and noise from others in adjacent rooms was a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medicine Hat

Great staff, great food, rooms a little dated.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
I thought the room was going to be bigger to be honest but it was very nice. Wish it had new windows though! Was a little chilly in the room. Beautiful restaraunt and great staff though. Really enjoyed my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Noisy and Cold!

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Major upgrading needed.
Location: Near beach
Street and plumbing noise pretty bad due to old, single-paned windows and noisy pipes. Elevator on it's last legs and the other one out of service. Emergency exits questionable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel near downtown and great restaurants.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
The hotel was nice and the staff was incredible. The location is awesome, you are 15 min from downtown Vancouver and a 10 minute walk to Stanley park, which is beautiful. Also you are in a neighborhood full of great restaurants.