Ratings based on 1,775 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: bad service. The bed bugs.
Location: The Grouse Grind (Grouse Mountain) was amazing.
We booked this hotel last minute because it was our last night in Vancouver, and it seemed ok. It was a little smelly, and scummy, but not so bad, when comparing the price with other hotels. We did, however, wake up with an itch. My girlfriend had multiple 2 cm wheals bunched up in groups, but I seemed to not have any apparent rash. Unfortunately, we didn't know what bed bugs were. Approximately one and a half weeks later, in our apartment back home, she got the same rash and I got the same itch. We found out later, that they were typical bed bug bites. The only other place we stayed in Vancouver was an AirBnB with three other family members, who didn't have any problems. So we concluded that we probably got bed bugs from the Grouse Inn. After two weeks of cleaning laundry, hiring exterminators, and rigging an anti-bed bug apartment, we decided to see what we could do to prevent any other travellers from getting infested (NOT FUN!). We spoke to the manager, Ala, who said that he'd get back to us the next week, in order to reassure us that our room was clean, without any response, and it's been a couple of months. So in the end, we never found out if there was a bed-bug problem there, but there is no way to be reassured. I think you should think twice about going to the Grouse Inn, and if you do, dont bring any baggage inside, clean your clothes, and leave your luggage outside when you get home just in case.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

slow heater

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: The location was handy for us; having just come from Lionsgate Hospital to spend overnight before travelling home. We were able to find a restaurant.
The room was cold and smelled musty when we arrived on a cold rainy night. It took most of the evening for the small heater to warm it up. It took us a while to find out how to find and turn it on. The complimentary breakfast was OK. The room for it was quite small and crowded at the time. A pretty basic accomodation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good Location: Close to Lions Gate Bridge and TCH

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Location and clean. Price. Free Parking. Good Staff.
Cons: Bathroom could be remodelled and painted.
Location: Quick to travel across bridge into Vancouver. Close to TCH, and ferry to Van Island.
Hotel was clean, but older. Comfortable bed. Pool and continental Breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Recommend an optimum hotel in VanCity

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Location is good. half an hour walking distance to Lion's gate bridge, Stanley park and Royal park.
We stayed a few days in October 2016 in Grouse Inn hotel in North of Vancouver. The situation was good..It is so far to Stanley Park and Royal Park. It has a very good parking. The breakfast is very good. The host are very kind. Specially there are 3 excellent Iranian hosts.I should thank for their sincere reception. Considering all items (rent, facility, cleanness, ...) , I highly recommend there to those who are seeking a good stay in VanCity. If you need further information,let me help you, please.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Nice hotel for the price.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Good location, good breakfast and big rooms.
Cons: None.
Location: Good distance from downtown and tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Very good experience of staying at Grouse Inn. I definitely recommend to those people who are interested in comfort in economical prices.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Friendly staff and okay breakfast. But the room was fairly old and dirty. The bathroom smelled really bad
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable nice hotel.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: It was convenient, had everything I needed and it was affordable.
Cons: Maybe the cleanliness of the rooms, felt that could be better.
Location: I had my girlfriend to take me everywhere around town. Grouse mountain is nearby for a good hike. Downtown is not too far away. Restaurants etc...
Good stay, staff was polite. I enjoy the location and loved that they provided breakfast and a gym. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel I have ever stayed.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Room was stinking (so called smoke free room ). Cig buds were just out side of room. front desk was not cooperative and rude.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island


Posted Sep 29, 2016
Family vacation, and we wanted to be close to Vancouver, and the suspension bridge. This is the second time we have stayed at the Grouse Inn. We will continue to stay there when ever we visit the city. :)