Ratings based on 572 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to appointments

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Cons: remodel bathroom
small room mold smell in bathroom needs new curtains on window
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Nice friendly staff...clean comfortable rooms..great stay...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel fairly priced

Posted Jul 10, 2017
For being in and around Vancouver with a bus stop right outside this hotel is priced very fairly. You won't be getting anything special but if you need a roof and a bed then look no further.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Do not clean room everyday...has bed bugs...breakfast they just bought outside
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Better off staying with relatives

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Near family and friends.
Cons: Have items for sale in the lobby, not in the small refrigerators guest need to store their own items in.
No elevator, saw into neighborhood backyards, and them into our room, $200 deposit on credit card, space in dorm frig taken by their soda, water, etc. with a price sheet for each item. My husband and I got bitten by something there--bed bugs or spiders?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

Hotel needs work done

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Hotel is getting very run down, not clean. Definitely need some upgrade
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Securities for lower level guests was minimal. No bars on windows. Room was musty smelling. Water stains on the walls and ceiling vents was hanging out. Almost ready to fall. Continental breakfast consisted no more than Timbits from Tim Horton's. Overall, with the exception of the owners daughter (who seemed to care) nothing and no one could convince me or anyone I know to stay here again. Very disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

You"re here because of budget

Posted Jun 30, 2017
You will have to pay a $200. deposit! If you're not comfortable with that, look elsewhere. I read other people's experience and they encountered bed bugs and poor wi fi reception. I stayed 5 nights and did not encounter any bed bugs, and I noticed a few rooms were under maintenance (cleaning or upgrading). My wi fi reception was poor, but the lady at front desk corrected that for me. After booking with Expedia, I realized that the room was non-refundable, keep that in mind before booking. Breakfast was Tim Horton;s donuts and muffins and hotel coffee. If you want to save money Happy Day Inn is for you. If you are fussy and like nice rooms and services, look elsewhere. Hope that helps!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Affordable Motel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Location worked for the event we were attending
Cons: Eliminate the $200.00 damage deposit that do not refund until housekeeping goes into the unit after you have left the property
Location: Near both Highgate and New Westminster
Needed an affordable motel near New Westminster for 1 night and only to sleep
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros:
Hotel was not at a standard of cleanliness that I would expect for the price that they are asking. Poor standard of amenities the wi-fi was not working, staff could not rectify this issue. Breakfast was none existent and no seating area was allocated.