Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Overall horrible

Posted Apr 24, 2017
We showed up at the hotel, there was someone sleeping on the street right at the door. We went in regardless. Staff wouldn't let us park in hotel parking lot because our short box pickup was too big, even tho it was already parked and out of the way. He argued and argued then at 1am sent us away, telling us to leave, that he canceled our reservations. We just traveled 14 hrs with a new baby. NO WARNING on the website that parking lot was only for small vehicles. When he told me it said on the website, I pulled it up for him and it said nothing about only small vehicles.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Popped over from Vancouver island to go to a Vancouver whitecaps game. Great location on Granville. Friendly staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not a hotel. Its a hostel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Hotel Ambassador is NOT a Hotel. It is a Hostel and should be named and advertised as such. Incredibly hostile and rude evening staff. Didn't wind up staying there, am looking to get my money back from Visa. This Hostel reflects poorly on found through expedia. I will be contacting my credit card company for refund as i didn't stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell River B.C.

went to hockey game was close to Rodgers arena

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: being close to city center
Cons: bathrooms
Location: shopping Arena goods area
had a good sleep short stay didnt like having to leave room to go to washroom
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ambassador

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: quiet
Cons: no everythings fine as is
Location: it is on granville street. right downtown.
this little hotel also has gas cooking facilities for their guests. good place to stay , close to everything, so you can walk everywhere in downtown area.. no discomforts at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
This place is great for the cost and is in a fantastic location! It's walking distance to so much and the Granville Strip is RIGHT there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good location with all essentials

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Located close to everything with all the basics at a reasonable price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Not what I expected

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: downtown location
Cons: Cleanliness, staff, and noise control
The shower curtain smelt like urine. The beds were small. I had a stranger come knocking on my door within the first hour of arrival, and they proceeded to call out someone's name walking up and down the hallway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Best location!

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location, friendly staff, clean
Cons: Nothing. Everything you need to know before booking is clearly in their hotel description.
Location: Edge of yaletown. On Granville street which is the main strip through Vancouver
This place is great. It's in a great part of Vancouver if you enjoy night life and want to be able to walk almost anywhere in the city. Beds were comfy. It was nice to have a to with cable channels even though we were out a lot. Shared bathrooms were no issue at all. They were super clean at all times and in 5 days I never has to wait to use one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Not worth it.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything
The room was small, there's no elevator and we had to walk up 2.5 flights of stairs. In the morning found a used condom on the desk. Was not impressed!!!!!