Ratings based on 1,384 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Granville St hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2015
It was a last minute booking, all the hotels in downtown were booked, football and hockey game night and big convention, so we took what we could get. Location is convenient but Granville st is noisy. The hotel is clean but it's an older building. Overall, no real complaints, we pretty much just checked in and then went out on the town, came back and slept. The front desk staff was really nice, we kinda slept in and went 30 mins past check out time and it wasn't an issue. Besides the parking being full and having to park on the street and then getting a parking ticket, it was a fine stay for the night
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Worst Internet speeds ever!

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: The room was cozy, comfy and clean.
Cons: Internet!
I was booked a room on the second floor. The room was cozy, clean and comfortable, but it lacked certain appliances you might need (e.g., microwave, small fridge). Most disappointingly, the Wi-Fi was the worst I experienced in any hotel ever. I was in town on business and needed a stable Internet connection to get work done and exchange e-mails frequently. The hotel advertises high-speed Internet, which would be true if you consider 6Mbps high-speed. On top of that, the connection would get dropped and I'd have to manually reconnect like literally every 5 minutes. If you don't care about Internet, and all you're looking for is a place to stay while traveling, HoJo's provides the basics of what you need. If you're here on business and need peace and privacy, with a strong Internet connection, stay away. I definitely won't be coming here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria B.C.

Did it's job

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Did it's job for the night. Expensive for what you get. Would have been nice to know that there is practically no parking supplied. Had to park 2 blocks down for 18 dollars a day. Had no warning about this at all. Did it's job for the ACDC concert.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Good location for shopping

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Parking is a problem . Walking, shopping and dining are excellent.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted Sep 7, 2015
After reading reviews we weren't sure what to expect. The front desk hostess was extremely hospitable and helpful. When we arrived a few hours before check-in, we were told our room was ready. She offered to set us up with tickets to Hop On Hop Off bus which was a great way to explore the city, good for 24 hours. The bus stop was right at the corner. The rooms were clean. Little outside noise. For the price, we were extremely pleased.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, B.C.

Great staff. Excessive noise at 3am at bar closing

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff, the location in proximity to Vanier Park. The price was reasonable.
Cons: Microwave and fridge in room. Shelving in bathroom to store things. Perhaps the club bouncers could move patrons along at bar closing.
Location: Bard on the Beach. Granville Island. Water Taxis. Vancouver and Maritime Museum. The people and vibe are amazing in the West End!!!!
The staff were very accommodating. When I couldn't get the blow dryer to work they came up immediately with one in hand and ended up fixing the problem. Shower head and pressure a bit dismal. Way to much junk on the small bathroom counter, no where to put my stuff...knocked the shampoo on the floor every time I reached for the toilet paper! No fridge in room for our restaurant leftovers and no microwave to heat them anyway! Service not that great in the Wings restaurant, sat for a fair amount of time before we got drink refills and the bill. The main reason I will not go back is the noise that came from the on site Night Club, I was awoken at 3am every night of my stay by noisy bar patrons hooting and hollering outside my window. I thought we would be safe as we were facing the back alley...not so! Have stayed on Granville at other hotels for many years, this year I found the noise excessive.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fare for the price

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Cons: Turn the nightclub into a regular restaurant. Less noise.
On bus lines, easy to get to Stanley park from hotel--2 bus rides. Has coin laundry, free wi-fi. In poor neighborhood with homeless people around. Has a nightclub on first floor that is loud at night---makes it hard to sleep sometimes. Ok for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn, NY

Great location. Old hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The location was excellent. However the hotel is old, and the price I paid to spend the night was rather steep for the amenities the hotel offers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Found a rodent in the room

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Cons: get rid of the rodents
Very disappointing experience, as there was a rodent in the room and had to change rooms at 2am.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

In need of some serious renovations

Posted Aug 27, 2015
I have no problem paying 300 dollars for a hotel room, especially downtown Vancouver but come on Howard Johnson. The rooms are terribly out dated, the halls smell like something died in the walls, the extra 20 you charge to pay in your parking lot after the 300 for the single room...never again at that place.