Ratings based on 2,417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel, good location

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Good location to downtown shopping and restaurants. Not too far to yaletown and gastown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saskatchewan

Good location

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Great location for walking to spots downtown (Robson street, gas town, Yale town, Canada place). Wear comfy walking shoes too!! The hotel was clean but is an older hotel that could use some upgrades.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Inexpensive, Convenient, A Bit Old

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Not enough elevator service. Lobby is old fashioned.
Location: Within 15 minutes walk you can get to main part of downtown, Vancouver Art Gallery, Gastown.
It is hard to find hotel rooms in downtown Vancouver that are inexpensive and flawless. This place is very convenient to downtown attractions and is about 5 blocks from the Vancouver City Centre airtrain stop. My room was comfortable but far too small. The elevators were very slow and I usually gave up and used the stairs. The lobby and general feeling is a bit old feeling. But overall it was acceptable. Counter clerks were helpful. Lots of coffee places nearby for breakfast start. I would recommend this hotel for budget minded folks who want to avoid the really unpleasant places.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NRW

Zentrales Stadthotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Hotel liegt günstig im Zentrum, alles gut zu Fuß zu erreichen. Großes Stadthotel mit eigener Tiefgarage. Sieht von außen älter aus als es ist. Zimmer sind ok. Obere Etagen mit herrlicher Sicht auf Stadt und Umland.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mex

Hotel cerca del estadio

Posted Jul 18, 2016
La zona no es la más turística y el hotel es muy viejo. El servicio en recepción bien pero la limpieza de cuartos deja mucho que desear
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location was great, but wasn't worth the stay

Posted Jul 14, 2016
While staying one night here I had an unfortunate experience and I doubt that I'll ever return back to this hotel. When I got there to check in at the time they said my room would be available. I had to wait in the lobby for an hour because there was still a guest in my room for some reason. Then once I got my key cards, I found out that they were defective so I had to be escorted to my room and sit there and wait another hour in order to get key cards that actually worked. After going out to dinner and coming back I learned that there was no room service for the night because of maintenance issues, and no on demand movie options because there entire system was down. After all of this occurring, the staff didn't even give an apology. I payed for a 3 star hotel, and recieved 1 star service. I do not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice, centrally-located hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Great location, very clean and comfortable
Cons: TV remote was non-functional with the TV (the remote would light up, but wasn't syncing with the TV)
Location: Robson St has a ton of great restaurants and shops, across the street from the stadium, near everything in central Vancouver!
We stayed at the Sandman in the heart of downtown Vancouver for 8 days and had a great experience. Pros: -clean, comfortable room -plenty of storage space (drawers, closet, etc) -mini-fridge in the room -large bathtub -very helpful staff -had lots of resources in the room and lobby with activities/sights to see -GREAT location: Robson St has tons of great shops and restaurants, right next to the stadium, close to Chinatown, Gastown, Yaletown, and numerous bus stops. (Also down the street from a Costco, which was super convenient!) Cons: -the room is small by US standards (real estate in BC is CRAZY, so this kind of made sense, and was on-par with the size of other hotel rooms we saw) -our remote worked, but not with our TV
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016
It was great first time in vancouver glad i picked this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Convenient

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Location was convenient and easy. Queen Elizabeth Theatre pretty much just across the street. Biggest complaint we wasted so much time waiting on very slow and extremely busy elevators....expect an hour wait during checkin or checkout times. i didn't like the toonie sized whole with rust on inside of the bathtub and no supply of Kleenex. Staff was great, helpful and friendly so that would make me want for a do over before suggesting it to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel. Centrally located and love all amentit

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Hotel convenient to city and loved all accommodations. Very friendly staff and reasonably priced.