Ratings based on 1,539 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient location.

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: staff
Location: close to restaurants and shopping and airport
Only there to sleep... short stay. late arrival , early departure..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good amenities

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Quiet room despite being next to the elevators.
Location: Within walking distance of a strip mall area. Awkward to get to by bus as you walk past another Sandman hotel that isn't the Signature.
Airport shuttle was good, close to airport - many airline staff stay there. Mattresses slightly unlevel and uncomfortable in the middle.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle,WA

Poor service and hotel nearing dump status

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: easy access to the freeway
Cons: Service (where is the famous Canadian hospitality?). Room Service (actually clean the rooms before you put people in them).
The front desk was painfully slow. Got to our room to find that it was right next to the elevator (typical), and had yet to be cleaned. There were two key cards sitting atop the dresser from the previous occupant. The sheets were clearly used but the bed was made. The bathroom had fresh soaps and shampoos next to a used bar of soap and there was garbage on the floor of the bedroom. I tried calling the front desk from the room twice but nobody answered. Went down to the front desk to explain the condition of the room and to request a new one. Was not given an apology or any type of sympathy at all, but rather a new room key for a room next to the service elevator this time. Our new rooms bathroom had some rather obvious staining on the ceiling but otherwise was OK. We booked the hotel because of price and reviews but would not stay here again. The hotel could provide a better experience with a little more effort. I'm tired of hotels putting me next to the elevator or stairs when I don't book direct with them. The elevator even had a "book direct" message on the front which gives the impression that your service will suck if you don't. In our experience this was spot on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg,MB

Dated room and small

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Photos of the room where totally different from what the room looked. Room was very dated, bathroom wasn't clean and the room was quite small and had a lot of furniture so it was so tight to move around. Wouldn't recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad experience

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Very bad service; bad altitude staffs; the AC sound like truck engine...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Easy access to Airport and Skytrain or ( Canada Line)
Cons: All seemed well maintained, equipped will all amenities one would need.
Good bus shuttle from Airport to hotel, no long wait time for shuttle.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

Old Old

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Lobby is nice but it ends there. This is the old hotel and not he new one. It has a cheap update but light make up cant help this place. Sheets were dirty on one of our queen beds and mattresses were sunk in towards middle on both. We flew in late and checked in at 2am so we didn't have energy to even complain. Daughter slept on top of her bed with a blanket we brought. Besides the beds the room had horrible lighting which I believe was by design so you wouldn't see how bad it was. Anyways, stay somewhere else newer or nicer if you have a choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: beds are comfortable
good experience, clean room and comfortable beds. Staff is very friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sandman "not so" Signature

Posted Mar 24, 2017
The best thing about this hotel is the proximity to the airport, along the restaurant downstairs and pub within walking distance. The Hotel itself (Provincial wing) is completely outdated and the rooms tiny and also outdated. The air conditioner, (which sounded like a jet engine all night) didn't work, there was no desk in the room to work, the TV was the size of a placemat, and there was no shampoo, conditioner, etc...in the room. I've got no problem with places like this, as long as that's what you intend to book, however when you book a hotel that tries to come across as modern and nice, they have a long way to go in living up to that standard. Another disappointing Sandman experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Park and Fly.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Park and Fly and a good night's sleep.
Cons: chocolate on my pillow?
Location: The hotel is near the YVR airport. I would recommend heading down to Granville Island. Artsy. Food. Waterfront. Boats. Street music. Treasures. Parks.
I love hotels where park and fly is offered. We stayed here and the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, we slept well, and there was a Denny's right on site. In the morning we left our car and were shuttled to the airport. We returned 10 days later, were picked up at the airport by their shuttle, and returned to the hotel. We might have stayed another night there but we jumped into my car and headed off to meet my new grand daughter who had been born while we were away in Hawaii. I would (will) use this hotel again when we go on our next vacation. No worries and so convenient. There are 2 Sandman hotels. I have stayed at both. This one, the Sandman Signature, is the one to be at. The other has a great restaurant ...but seems to be older and caters to a lot of younger people.