Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

One Night at the ShangiLa

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: The hotel is situated right in Vancouver downtown, near excellent shopping, restaurants galore, museums, theatres and parks.
We enjoyed our stay at the ShangiLa very much. The room was appointed very tastefully and had all of the comforts of home. The designers had really thought about every possible detail which would make the traveller feel truly taken care of. The decor was just done right, the king bed with its duvet, pillows and mattress just heavenly. The sitting area as well,was cozy and inviting to spend time in. As well, the room had a big executive type desk, big TV and DVD player, lights galore, entry foyer, walk in closet with ample room for hanging clothes, shoe shine drawer, ironing board and iron and two seats and mirror to be used for getting dressed. The bathroom was also very impressive, with black and white marble walls and flooring, spacious shower, bath tub, separate toilet and 2 sinks set in a black stone counter top. The left mirror had a built in TV; there was a make-up mirror and a seat, bathrobes and slippers complemented the accessories.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 11, 2016
This was a really nice hotel in an excellent location of Vancouver
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shang Gri La all the way!

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Well located for most things in Vancouver,including harbour,bike hire and shops.Recommend hiring bikes nice way to see city especially the water front
This hotel is so good. I do not normally give perfect marks but this hotel deserves them. Room well appointed,comfortable. Food,whether breakfast or dinner was excellent. Staff in general very helpful and couldn't do enough to help. Was sorry we had to leave.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Four Days..Nothing Scheduled

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff.
Cons: Resting between hikes and wanted to watch some football. They didn't have any on the room tv ,but the wash room had it,more channels,different server
Location: Bike around Stanley Island, Ferry and shop Granville Island, walk through Gas Town, Canada Place, Fly Over Canada . Wander the sea wall.
Didn't have anything scheduled , we were going to play it by ear. The Shangri La staff was very helpful especially Jarren. He drew us maps, suggested bike rentals ( with discounts), places to see that were bike/ walking distance and great places to eat. We had a wonderful time. One of the best places to eat was next door,The Keg. Brendon , our server was also very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 5, 2016
Great location for shopping and restaurants--great service-- nice fitness center
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Spendy, but so nice

Posted Sep 2, 2016
We had a lovely stay. The food at the restaurant in the hotel was really good too. I did find it humorous that there were instructions on how to operate the shower. It was not that intuitive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worth the change- great place

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The staff was great- it was out of the way- while being in midst of down town-- not alot of hustle and bustle like other hotels--
Cons: nope
Location: Right down town- walk to great restaurants- walk to shore front- walk to museums
We usually stay at another five star- but this was GREAT- staff was very attentive. The breakfast package was wonderful. Loved the hotel and the very kind staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

What's in a name?

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Perfectly located..walking distance to Art Museum, Robson Street, Canada Place. High end amenities provided...plus robes, towels.
In fiction, Shangri-la is a beautiful imaginary place where life approaches perfection. In Vancouver, at the Shangri-la, perfection is achieved.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Room was very spacious, but the mattress needs to be replaced. It was getting rather saggy. This is my only complaint. The hotel is otherwise excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Truly Exceptional

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Cons: The only thing missing was a view of the mountains or water. For the price of the hotel, I expected this.
The staff are without exception an incredible team. They made me feel happy just watching them work so seamlessly together. They top off exceptional facilities, great food and really wonderful rooms.