Ratings based on 994 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Great location on tree-lined street

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Free parking, location, complimentary breakfast (in spite having to bring it up to your room).
Cons: Attitude of some (not all) staff, scheduling of room cleaning (on two out of three days, cleaning was at 3:30 p.m. when we were in our room).
Location: Two blocks from Burrard, a main thoroughfare, 10-minute leisurely walk to Aquabus Hornby dock, 10+ minutes-walk to Vancouver Art Gallery (excellent!).
Building is old, therefore limited by design, unit is nice and big except for bathroom (extremely small), living area and kitchen are comfortable and convenient. Staff members except for Arabella seem uninspired, though responsive enough. Location is unbeatable for pleasant walking to public trans and the Vancouver Gallery of Art. Management policies in place indicate they are trying hard, e.g. breakfast. Free parking a plus as other hotels charge a high daily fee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Close to Cruise Port

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Not that I can think of at this time.
Location: See above.
Reasonably priced and close to the cruise port which was very convenient. It was a little hard to get coffee downstairs in the morning unless you make coffee which is provided in the room. We enjoyed our stay and was able to get around using the bus system which was great. We enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

spacious room, friendly staff, close to good food

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Hotel appears to be remodeled studio apartments. Spacious room with kitchen and dinnete. Quiet neighborhood. Staff gave good advise about tours, restaurants and more. Great for a tourist! Would look to stay here again if we again visit beautiful Vancouver.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
this eclectic hotel was close to the beach and very comfortable, Enjoyed the continental breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

アットホームが売りの宿

Posted Jul 14, 2016
全体的に日本人には向いていると思います。つかずはなれずのサービス。近所にあるタイ料理のお店も絶品です。また利用したいです。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great hotel and location

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, price.
I was a little worried that the hotel is quite a distance from the skytrain stop but the distance is actually quite manageable. The rooms are very good sized for the price and the staff are very friendly. I actually enjoyed taking breakfast from downstairs and having it back in my room. Makes it more comfortable and the kitchen has everything you need. Just outside, there are restaurants everywhere and the park/ferry ride to Granville Island are just a short walk away. Best thing I liked was the hotel's mentality about service. Where loads of hotels want to charge you for every little service, Sunset Inn is trying to throw in free services like complimentary newspapers taken to your room, free DVD rentals, and good quality soap and shampoo. I would definitely stay here again if I was staying in Vancouver.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Beautiful neighborhood. Charming hotel. Free breakfast and parking. Close to everything. Nice and helpful staff. Spacious rooms. What more could you want.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale, FL

Nice suite within walking distance to downtown

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Free breakfast, kitchen to cook dinner when we didn't feel like eating out again.
Cons: Some furniture and rugs need updating. Some rooms need painting
Location: Great location near West end . Very close to restaurants and grocery store. Had a car , so I don't know about public transportation.
Stayed for 5 nights and then came back after 2 nights in Victoria, and stayed another 2 nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First Impressions Do Count

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Our first impression when we entered the shabby and old smelling lobby was to leave as fast as we could! The hallway outside our room had a bad smell and so did our room. The couch had what looked like bleach stains on the back cushions. Fortunately, there was a suite left and we got to change rooms but the couch cushions also had white stains on them. These rooms were too expensive for not having good furniture! Homeless people were in alley where you had to drive to park your car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Everything was very nice and covalently located. The TV remote was a little confusing to work.