Ratings based on 984 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to transit

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The reno's were nice.
Cons: n/a
Location: It's right downtown access to many things.
It's always great to stay at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. Miss the store they use to have but with the mall so close I can see why the change.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hagerstown, USA

Traditional hotel, great bar, needs rooms updates

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Very traditional and well located hotel, great bar and restaurant. We enjoyed a lot the Polar Express High Tea. The rooms and bathrooms need update and the disappointment was the pool was not open and we were not advised!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel is in dire needs of major renovations.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything needs to be brought to the standards of 21 century
Location: Awesome location in the heart of Vancouver - the best part of this hotel
We had to leave one day earlier. Our younger son travelled with us and we could not stand the sounds from the room adjustent to us ( couple had sex 24/7). I expect the refund.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great historic hotel in the Center of downtown van

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Felt important being there. All employees were very polite and we even received some cake for the birthday we were celebrating
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Very comfortable, staff were all very friendly. Location is excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Posted Nov 22, 2016
very close to the sea wall and convention centre.really nice hotel .very friendly staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great neighborhood--downtown Vancouver

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Easy ride on Canada Line light rail from the airport to the City Center stop; short walk to the hotel in the heart of shopping and downtown fun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel with great location but it is very old

Posted Nov 21, 2016
We were on the 4th floor, noisy and bright because the art gallery next door is undergoing construction. The HVAC unit in the room does not seem to be able to cool the room enough, so the room is always very warm, which made it difficult to sleep. We remedied the hotness by opening the windows, which was ok at night but as mentioned, we get woken up very early due to construction next door. location is very good, close to everything downtown. hotel is very old so the room (especially the bathroom) is tired looking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna ,B.C.

Great central location !

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: A first-class location, attentive staff.
Cons: No ,they are doing fine!
Location: The best shops are all close, theaters /concert-hall a short taxi-ride away.
We used the ''Golden'' quality-level since preferring the more private atmosphere with a separate lounge/breakfast-room, resulting in a more comfortable stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Week at Hotel Van

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Location and history
Cons: Tell guests about pool closure at check-in and during reservation. Booked my stay on Expedia - didn't see any information about construction/closure
Stayed at the hotel for first time in many years. Reno's to lobby and rooms are good. Was disappointed that the construction started before 7am. Either that or they have some serious rattling issues with the shower plumbing in my room area. I was moved to another room 3 floors higher and no more construction/plumbing noise, but it was a room that hadn't been renovated yet so not as nicely appointed as the first one. But the quiet was more important so I stayed in the older room. Was also disappointed that the hotel aquatic facilities were closed. I wasn't informed of this during the reservation of check-in processes, which would have impacted my hotel selection. They've made alternative arrangements, but when I showed up on the second floor with my bathrobe and bathing suit on, getting dressed and going to another hotel or aquatic facility was not in the cards. No other concerns.