Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Coquitlam

Everything I Needed

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: affordable, pet-friendly, comfortable, clean, all the necessities... and great staff
Location: located right on major roads for travel into or out of Vancouver, all the necessities in close range, only a few blocks to Broadway, shops, Skytrain
I booked three nights at the 401 while I was waiting to take possession of my apartment. I chose it for three reasons: the price, the location (close to my job), and the fact that it's pet-friendly. I was concerned that the room would be run-down or dirty, since it was such a good deal. This was not the case at all! It was basic, yes. It was older, yes. But it was very clean and well-kept. I had to look under the bed to find my cat a couple of times and the floor was spotless; the cleaning staff obviously do their jobs. The bed itself was comfortable, the furnishings were tasteful, and the room was everything I needed - complete with a mini-fridge and microwave, a desk with a nice chair, and a standard bathroom. It didn't have the "extras" that a bigger chain might provide, but that's precisely what I didn't want to pay for. There's coffee on downstairs all day, and the lady at the front desk was one of the nicest people I've encountered since I moved to the city. She's genuine and helpful, and she makes a point to call guests by name. By necessity, the location isn't the quietest (right beside Grandview Highway AND Boundary Road). However, it wasn't sketchy, either - which was the bigger concern for me. If you don't mind some traffic sounds, it's actually a delightfully convenient place to wake up and start your day in Vancouver. Plenty of off-street parking, too, in a secure, treed lot. I would absolutely recommend the 401 to anybody. Affordable, tidy, friendly, and safe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from worcester U.K.

Nice hotel, restaurants close by.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The hotel was light and airy. Highway traffic couldn't be heard in room. Within walking distance to restaurants.
Cons: Tea making facilities in the room.
Location: Great location for over night, as airport very close. Beautiful gardens to visit. Indian restaurant called James within walking distants.
Hotel staff were excellent. Although didn't have tea making facilities in the room, were available in reception.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Clean & Comfy

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Clean room very comfortable. Definitely better than it used to be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just a place to lay your head for a few hours.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Location: nothing
very noisy,curtains were not even hung properly,had to ask for glasses …none in the room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do you like staring at trash?

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Cons: At the very least, add a rug to the room to wipe your shoes on...we tracked dirt literally everywhere on that hardwood floor. And add a coffee pot!
I booked this hotel in haste because my husband and I didn't really plan our trip very well. I wish I'd taken the time to actually look into this hotel before paying for it. The room was lackluster and the beds as hard as a rock. We actually learned the hard way that you can't move too much in those beds because they shift on the frame and actually slip off of it. At one point our heads were beneath our feet! The view was nice enough once you got over how insanely busy Grandview Highway was. We had a nice view of the mountains from our balcony. But then I looked down....trash. Trash everywhere. More cigarette butts than I could count, mountains of garbage, and a pile of blankets where a poor unfortunate soul was sleeping. I chose not to have my wine out on the balcony. Then about 4am I could hear a drunk man screaming at his roommate through the paper thin walls. I also got to hear him use the bathroom, which was ever so pleasant. You think I would be able to at least chug some coffee to overcome how tired I was from the night of awful mattresses and screaming drunks, but no....there was no coffee pot in the room. You had to go to the front to get it, and only after 8AM (when the office opened). So...while it was certainly somewhere to lay our weary heads, we will not be returning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dumpy and too much traffic

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: good location only
We didn't even stay after taking one look, very old and run down, smelly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Drama, Arguments and a Game Playing Owner Await

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Being decent human beings would be a good start -- like not yelling at the poor woman staying in the room across from us.
Location: Highway and impromptu garbage dump adjacent.
The rooms were small, noisy and garbage was strewn about outside. And each day we came back to the hotel, somebody was yelling at somebody. While somewhat entertaining, I would have preferred not having to deal with that nonsense. But if your dream vacation involves stress, drama, and game playing with hotel staff -- then the 401 is for you my friend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to go in vancouver by car

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The Parking is included, the coffee is free, nice view, right place if you dont want spend more
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old and dirty

Posted Aug 28, 2016
No phone and fridge didn't work and very dirty. I don't recommend this place to anyone
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty noisy room

Posted Aug 21, 2016
dirty room: bugs in the washroom, old renovation and strong disgusting smell noisy room: heater in the summer blows with strange noise the whole day and night, non stop