Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They are trying

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The bed was comphy, and the bedding and floors were new, but more attention to the clenlinesd, there was a ketsup package in the corner, bathroom ceiling was dripping nicotine and no in room coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
The 401 is a basic, but clean establishment. Given it's location next to the highway it's surprisingly quiet. The staff are chill and helpful and when the rooms are being offered at a good discount it's a great deal
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Worst Hotel Ever; dirty, run down, unsafe area, rude manager, BLACK MOLD,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Hotel was clean but outdated and not what I expected.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, noisy and uncomfortable hotel.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Our room was dirty, nothing was working and the bed was uncomfortable. Smoke detector had no battery in it. The fridge was leaking. The AC had so much dust in it. I would never stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Coquitlam

Everything I Needed

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: affordable, pet-friendly, comfortable, clean, all the necessities... and great staff
Location: located right on major roads for travel into or out of Vancouver, all the necessities in close range, only a few blocks to Broadway, shops, Skytrain
I booked three nights at the 401 while I was waiting to take possession of my apartment. I chose it for three reasons: the price, the location (close to my job), and the fact that it's pet-friendly. I was concerned that the room would be run-down or dirty, since it was such a good deal. This was not the case at all! It was basic, yes. It was older, yes. But it was very clean and well-kept. I had to look under the bed to find my cat a couple of times and the floor was spotless; the cleaning staff obviously do their jobs. The bed itself was comfortable, the furnishings were tasteful, and the room was everything I needed - complete with a mini-fridge and microwave, a desk with a nice chair, and a standard bathroom. It didn't have the "extras" that a bigger chain might provide, but that's precisely what I didn't want to pay for. There's coffee on downstairs all day, and the lady at the front desk was one of the nicest people I've encountered since I moved to the city. She's genuine and helpful, and she makes a point to call guests by name. By necessity, the location isn't the quietest (right beside Grandview Highway AND Boundary Road). However, it wasn't sketchy, either - which was the bigger concern for me. If you don't mind some traffic sounds, it's actually a delightfully convenient place to wake up and start your day in Vancouver. Plenty of off-street parking, too, in a secure, treed lot. I would absolutely recommend the 401 to anybody. Affordable, tidy, friendly, and safe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from worcester U.K.

Nice hotel, restaurants close by.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The hotel was light and airy. Highway traffic couldn't be heard in room. Within walking distance to restaurants.
Cons: Tea making facilities in the room.
Location: Great location for over night, as airport very close. Beautiful gardens to visit. Indian restaurant called James within walking distants.
Hotel staff were excellent. Although didn't have tea making facilities in the room, were available in reception.