Ratings based on 939 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northen BC

staying at the Sylvia

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Quaint looks, great history, and great location fro getting to everything.
Location: Location is excellent for shopping restaurants and transportation
I was in Vancouver for a conference at the Convention Center. My parents always speak highly of this hotel. I was able to walk to my conference and enjoy the morning air. Everything was clean and I had all the amenities I needed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great old building.

Posted Feb 6, 2016
They don't make hotels like they used to. Why stay in a generic suburban-type hotel when you can stay in a historic building a block from the park and overlooking the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from london

Nice welcoming atmosphere

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: The other guests and friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Renovations are necessary
Location: English Bay, Stanley Park-- nuff said
Plus ca change plus ca meme, great location , Sylvia is a landmark to return to. By west coast standards this hotel is an icon. I used to frequent this hotel to escape from prairie winters and I keep returning from England.This visit was changed by the renovations to the dining area, but it will not deter me from returning at least twice more this year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old character hotel right on the beach.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Cons: Parking. We got back to the hotel late, no spots in the parking lot, had to park on the street.
Classic old hotel. Great bar, one of the best views in Vancouver. Close to Denman and Davie Streets, lots of restaurants of varying kinds, shops etc...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denman Island, BC

Great location

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Cons: Keep up the Great upgrades
The silver is in a great place, close to downtown conveniences, great restaurants and right across the street from the beach. It is also right next to the greatest walking/running trail in the city, around the beach of Stanley Park. Sylvia is a great place and it also has a great restaurant right in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: It is an old hotel and needs renovation in common areas
Location: Next to park and ocean
Pleasant hotel in excellent location. Clean room and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo

excellent location, loads of character!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: everything
Location: Great view over English Bay, buses near by. Restaurant with food to die for very close; also shopping.
I have stayed here several times and it is the hotel of choice for me in Vancouver. Part of the restaurant was being renovated, but it didn't really bother me. Lovely breakfast. The room was large and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

English Bay Splendor

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Location and Staff
Cons: Housekeeping, dishes were in hall way for more than 12 hours, beds were very hard and bedding was standard.
Location: Great restaurants, lots of options for walking. Stanley Park offers lots of walking trails and beautiful scenery.
Awesome location to access West End of Vancouver and Stanley Park. Restaurant in hotel is lovely and the staff are awesome. Rooms are dated, beds are okay but a little more attention to cleanliness would have increased my rating. As a historic building in the heart of the West End it is a lovely place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2016
The Sylvia is always a great place to stay. We love the proximity to Stanley Park and the comfortable feel of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

classic hotel by the beach

Posted Jan 13, 2016
We love this place - very old but maintained - had a corner room overlooking the beach and wish we could stay longer