Ratings based on 1,053 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So close to the beach!!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
I thought it was an amazing hotel when it comes to the proximity to the beach and the downtown core! However, I will say that AC is the room would be beneficial. Also, a refrigerator and extra plugs close to the bed would be great as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

I is close to the beach and great for walking

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the beach and Stanley Park.
Cons: I can't think of any.
Location: The location was great. If you go to Vancouver to walk this is the place to be. The neighborhood had lots of eatery places, diverse food.
The hotel is old and has lot of character. All the furnishings and the beds are new and very comfortable. In the morning after breakfast we went out to the park, we walked and visited the neighborhood. There were lot of eatery places. The hotel restaurant and the bistro were very good. The food was excellent. I felt that I was eating among the trees while I was seating in the restaurant. We loved the place and we will visit again and again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older but such charm!

Posted Jul 6, 2016
The neighborhood was perfect. The history of the hotel was interesting. The staff were very kind. No bells or whistles but so very enjoyable. Bike rental and park are 2 blocks away (easy and enjoyable walk). Would stay again and again and again if we are able fortunate enough to return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from roelofarendsveen

Middenklasse hotel, perfecte ligging

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Middenklasé hotel nog in oude stijl.
Cons: Koffie voorziening op de kamer. Twee zakjes koffie ( 2 kopjes) voor de hele dag? In deze tijd zou een klein koelkastje prettig zijn.
Location: Zie hiervoor
Hotel 50 meter van het strand en 10 min lopen van Stanleypark. Als je van wandelen houdt, loop je vanaf het hotel naar de Vancouver lookout en Gastown. Desnoods taxi terug.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa

you can not beat the location.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
I have been coming to the Sylvia for 35 years, it's location on English bay close to Stanley park is great. sometimes I think of it as a tired old icon along the bay but it works.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Great location, suite size and basic facilities.
Cons: Shower needs an upgrade, no light in walk in wardrobe, cramped toilet space.
Location: Access to Stanley Park and English Bay is excellent, local transport to the centre is also close by. Lots of other restaurants close by.
We booked a suite on the top floor. Paperwork sent through had my middle name on it so initially our booking could not be found. Once discovered received better service. Whilst is was a lovely suite it could benefit from upgrading of facilities. View is great and kitchen facilities appropriate, lounge comfortable. Staff are generally pleasant. Occasionally do not come across as welcoming as perhaps they should. Décor, reminiscent of the past, quaint in places.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver island

Very nice hotel in great location

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Throughout the hotel are wonderfully restored photographs of the city and hotel environs from bygone eras. You feel like you have stepped back in time
Cons: It's an old hotel. The bathrooms are in need of an upgrade.
Location: Fabulous location right on English Bay! Great walking and close to lots of restaurants and shopping.
A fabulous, historical little gem right on the beach. It's a treasure. Great walks along the beach and in Stanley Park within a minute of the front door.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Wonderful historic hotel. Great bar and restaurant right on premises. Would use again. Location perfect and views outstanding of English Bay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In a lovely area and nearby eateries

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Appreciate it is old world hotel but overpriced for what it is. Service staff efficient but not very friendly when checkin in. We did have an early checkout and the night staff and security were very friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Groningen

Sfeervol hotel op mooie locatie.

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Het hotel ligt in Downtown Vancouver. Stanley Park ligt op een steenworp afstand, net zoals het strand van English Bay en de bushalte van de twee hop-on-hop-off busdiensten. Het hotelpersoneel is vriendelijk en bereid te helpen. Lopen naar het midden van Robson Street neemt ongeveer 15 tot 20 minuten in beslag.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by rdyck, Hotel Management
Thank-you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review