Ratings based on 1,188 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Outstanding location, friendly staff and very comfortable rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abbotsford, BC

Nice older hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Nice older hotel with lots of character. Very clean. Wonderful staff. Comfortable beds. Love the old pictures that are throughout the hotel. Only con is they need more electrical outlets in the room. This was our 2nd time staying there and it will always be my 1st choice for hotels in Vancouver.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I loving staying @ The Sylvia

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Fabulous hotel; location to die for. If you are looking for trendy swagger this is not the hotel for you but if you are looking for a relaxing, laid back yet gracious atmosphere - the Sylvia is the hotel. Rooms are large, the view / location is unparalleled, wifi is strong and the people are lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Lovely heritage ambience. Spacious rooms.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
It's such good value for the dollar. Right across from the beach and close to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel in ideal location

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Best location in Vancouver, and a quaint, old school hotel. Nice cocktail bar and very reasonable room service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Historic hotel, close to the water

Posted Jan 21, 2017
This is a beautiful hotel, covered in ivy vines and located near the water in English Bay. You are away from the main action of the city, but that is only a 5-10 minute bus ride away. The staff were welcoming and informative about local attractions, events happening in the area and how to get around if you didn't have a car. My room was in the new part of the hotel and it was clean, comfortable and spacious. I'd recommend this lovely hotel to any travellers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great experience

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Great location, very close to the water. The hotel was cute and had a boutique family feel. The decor was a little outdated but in a way this added to the charm of the hotel. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location and really good value for money!!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We had three days in Vancouver and the Sylvia was a great location with buses and the amazing Stanley Park on our doorstep- great live music and good food down stairs! Mostly older grey haired guests - but we would defiantly recommend this place!! Great Location and value for money!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location & Heritage Hotel!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
We are originally from Vancouver, we grew up knowing the Slyvia & would go to the Lounge for drinks. We now live in Victoria, & we usually stay at other places but we always wanted to stay here. Just fantastic! We had the best time, beautiful Vancouver Heritage hotel, the best friendly staff, clean, brilliant room with a view of English Bay. Great music and drinks in the lounge and the best view in the city! We would go back in a heart beat. We know Vancouver, but for people who don't this is the best location, you won't be disappointed. Mike and Jill Semancik
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
The bay view is the best,,,,. ,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, No