Ratings based on 1,241 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location on English Bay Beach!

Posted May 26, 2017
Spent three days here for business in a three room queen suite. Amazing views - with spacious comfortable and clean space. Windows open wide which is great and views of mountains and ocean a huge plus. Plenty of restaurants and coffee shops nearby as well as markets if you want to do your own cooking in the kitchen. Steps from Stanley Park and a fifteen minute walk to Robson and shopping. Good food (not great, but good) and sunset views in the bar/restaurant and a friendly, relaxed vibe. All in all, well worth it! Would stay at the Sylvia again in a second.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Quiet hotel on English Bay

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The Sylvia was comfortable, quiet, and the view was excellent. I had purchased a 5-day tour package and they picked me up at the door.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: The Sylvia is right on English Bay so you can walk on the Sea Wall. Also close to Denman St for restaurants and great fruit markets.
The Sylvia has a lot of character and the view of English Bay from the dining room is wonderful. The room had been recently redecorated and was spacious and comfortable. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Being right on the Sea Wall made it convenient for walking. The hop on hop off bus stop was nearby. I would certainly recommend it and would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
A wonderful hotel, great location, and very helpful staff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sylvia Hotel - Vancouver BC

Posted May 16, 2017
The Sylvia Hotel is a heritage building and therefore is limited in its amenities. 2 elevators which were small and rickety. It was difficult to get our luggage into the hotel as there are only stairs leading into it. The rooms are huge but are showing its age. No air conditioning and being on the 7th floor the room became quite warm. Staff were helpful in recommending restaurants and giving directions to local attractions. Great location in that it is close to Stanley Park and in walking distance from Robson Street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Comfort close to English Bay

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: heritage building and friendly staff and neighbourhood. I think it is still has dog friendly rooms.
Cons: bedroom and bathroom need updating and a clean
Location: We walked the neighbourhood of old homes, small apartment blocks and parkettes. You can walked across and sit on beach and walk into Stanley park.
We have stayed at the Sylvia many times over the last 20 years. We were not disappointed in our welcome and the helpfulness of reception and restaurant bar staff. We like that it is a heritage building in a quieter area of the downtown Vancouver. The restaurant and bar have great views on to the bay and a happy vibe to the those inside. We enjoyed the Thursday jazz quartet while we had drinks and shared plate of snacks with friends and family I would have to say that while we liked the comfort of our room and queen size bed, the room needs updating and a good clean in the corners for dust and dirt. We definitely will be back, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Possibly the best the West End has to offer

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The Sylvia is a landmark hotel at affordable prices. It has an intangible charm that you will not find elsewhere.
Cons: I think the restaurant's food could be improved. However there are many, varied dining options nearby.
Location: The seawall is literally at your doorstep. For walkers or runners there is no better 10K option. Denman St is full of restaurants.
I like the Sylvia because it is low-key and it has so much history to it. I lived in this neighbourdhood for over 30 years but recently relocated. Consequently this was the first time I had stayed here. Certainly it is in the heart of the old West End - West of Denman Street and across the street from English Bay. The room was spacious and comfortable with lots of natural light.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Japan

Good

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Suggest renovating bath rooms.
Location: It is next to Stanley Park and to Walkwall along the beach. You can enjoy watching the sunset or walking along the beach.
Close to the beach and the park, and has its long history. Some equipments are rather old. Most of the staffs are very good though some in the dinning are not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parksville, B.C.

Location of the hotel is great!

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Staff great. Meals terrific. Bed comfy.
Cons: Bathroom! Get a good designer it can be done.
Location: Terrific lots to do close by!
My husband's knees were touching the sink cupboard doors when sitting on the toilet - not what you expect when paying $257 per night! Need some bathroom upgrades! We had more room in our motor home bathroom. Restaurant great as well as super service. At your prices parking should be free instead you have 22.68 added to bill. Very comfortable bed and sofa & chairs. All staff were very professional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An old faithful

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location
I was not informed on check in but dinged with an overly expensive parking bill on departure. I was not impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Quiet hotel near Stanley Park and the ocean.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: The location at the edge of Stanley Park and right next to English Bay was perfect for us.
Cons: We had no complaints. Although the hotel was built in 1912, it has all the modern conveniences.
Location: . You can walk through Stanley Park or along the seawall for miles. You can easily catch a bus to downtown. There are many restaurants nearby.
The Sylvia Hotel was recommended by a friend as the best place to stay in Vancouver. We were very happy with our choice. The Pacific Ocean and beautiful Stanley Park are steps away, with nearby restaurants and shopping. You can catch a bus to downtown or a ferry across False Bay to Granville Island to see the fabulous Public Market. The staff were friendly and helpful, the walls were thick, and the views from any room will have trees. Two elevators take you up, or you can use the stairs.The rates are high, but so are hotel rates all over Vancouver. Be prepared for an expensive city.