Ratings based on 1,101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Great place; excellent atmosphere. Friendly, helpful staff. Fantastic location / views.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location , location.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay, being so close to all that Stanley park has to offer and excellent service at the hotel in this historic hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for bicyclists.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location is fabulous for bicyclists. Close to Stanley Park and right on the sea wall. Secure bike storage available.
Location is perfect as a jumping off point for cycling and walking. Easy distance to Granville Island ferry. Restaurant is excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just excellent.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Great hotel, brilliant location, excellent staff, yummy food frm hotel restaurant. You couldn't want for more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, U K

Super location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Position on English Bay was excellent. Attentive staff.
Cons: Some redecoration and updating would be good. Restaurant food lacked flavour and the menu was rather boring.
Location: Twenty minute walk to downtown area - strolling through residential area. Very close to Stanley Park entrance.
The interior reflects it's age (1912) and could do with a makeover. However our room was very comfortable and everything did what it was supposed to do.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winnipeg mb

Lovely hotel close to beach and Stanley park

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Very comfortable, scenic , good food, Handy to buses, .............
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful heritage building

Posted Sep 9, 2016
The Sylvia hotel is a classy older style heritage building. The staff are welcoming and accommodating and the hotel is in a prime location to explore Vancouver. I would recommend their restaurant/bar at the end of each day to watch the sun set!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: The hotel location, hotel and room amenities, staff, fridge and parking availability.
Cons: The parking spots are a bit tight. If you return late in the day, expect to squeeze into a spot between pillars, especially during high season.
The Sylvia is a special place for us. We stay there on special occasions only. It is so close to the Park and English Bay. Downtown sights are close walking distance as well. The rooms are well appointed and well maintained. On this stay we had a room with a partial view of the bay. The bed was comfortable and there was a closet to store our stuff. We rented a fridge for a nominal fee and it worked just fine. The staff were very helpful with storing our bikes. The underground parking was a bit tight for our car.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Alt und abgewohnt

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Nette Lage und von außen wirklich nett. Freundliches Personal und nette Empfangsdame. Parken mit 22$ pro tag absolut in ordnung. Das erste Zimmer roch wie ein Bahnhofsklo und wir baten um ein neues. Das Zimmer war groß und hatte 2 Fenster und ein großes Bad. Auf dem zweiten Blick sah man wie abgewohnt und ungepflegt alles war. In der Dusche/Badewanne war an der Decke ein fetter Schimmelfleck und der Boden im Bad klebrig. Was in dem Teppich lebt entzieht sich meiner Kenntnis. Das Bett schien nicht wirklich frisch bezogen, denn nachdem ich dem Roomservice 5$ hinlegte und um frische Leinen bat fühlte es sich ganz anders an als in der ersten Nacht. Sehr schade, alle diese Dinge wären durch ein ordentliches Management absolut vermeidbar und easy zu beheben. Dann wäre das Hotel seinem hohen Preis auch wert.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Very nice older hotel.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Beautiful detailing. Excellent, helpful staff. Close to beach and shops and restaurants. Very clean. Definitely will return. Only drawback was no air conditioning but they did provide a fan in the room.