Ratings based on 1,137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Staff was amazing and helpful, thanks for rhe recommendations!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Lovely old hotel on English Bay.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location, cost, staff.
Cons: Billing practice of charging credit card despite prepaid reservation is troublesome. A week later they have still not removed that charge.
Location: On English Bay and across from Stanley Park. Cafes, bistros, international foods, close bus lines, all made the visit wonderful.
Pleasant staff, great views, access to Stanley Park, great little restaurants, bus lines, etc. Loved it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sympatisches Hotel in toller Lage

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Tolle Betten, sehr freundliches und engagiertes Personal
Cons: Parkgebüren zu teuer
Location: Ruhige Lage dierekt an der Strandpromenade und am Stanley Park. Bushaltestellen in die Downtown direkt vor der Tür
Wir hattenwegen eines Abstechers nach Vancouver Island zunächst nur 5 Tage gebucht, waren aber so zufrieden dass wir gleich verlängert haben.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

a nice , quirky, vintage hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: friendly staff, unique character that wasn't of a sameness of other hotel chains, low key friendliness and service of staff,
Cons: free newspapers, coffee urn at desk,
Location: great location to walk the waterfront. lots of coffee shops and variety of restaurants at various price points nearby.
great location, able to walk along waterfront to Convention Centre . Hotel had our vintage of local patrons enjoying retro live music and they didn't hesitate to get up and dance and sing! Surrounding area had lots of coffee shops and restaurants at many price points and varieties.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and quiet

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Location and friendly staff and quiet room
Great 100 year hotel and very quiet even and right on English bay friendly staff and right at the entrance to Stanley park
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location, friendly staff and quiet room!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Appreciated that staff was able to respect my room request and also loan me an umbrella as needed in November! Fantastic location to everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything we asked for was taken care of.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, history, view. Everything was great.
Cons: There wasn't anything we didn't like. 111111111111111111111111111111121111111/
Location: Everything is nearby. Coffee, restaurants, food, scenery
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very enjoyable experience.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: LOCATION - LOCATION -LOCATION very spacious room
Cons: the room lighting
Location: we didn't rent a car and we were able to see all the major places. Bus transportation is convenient and cheap
Service and helpfulness were great Some upgrades could be made - little shabby in places - lighting was not good for reading
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

Can't beat the location!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: We visit Vancouver two or three times a year and we always stay here. We like the old world charm of the place, the convenient location and the friendly, helpful staff. Love the bar!
Cons: There's nothing that I don't like about the hotel. What travelers need to know about selecting the Sylvia is that it is a heritage building - it is not a sleek, modern, trendy place with a gym and a spa, etc. It has all the conveniences you need and everything is in good working order. If you do have a problem with your room, I'm sure the hotel staff would get right on it if you kindly let them know.
Location: This hotel is situated across the street from English Bay and is right at the beginning if the Stanley Park seawall.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A lovely old hotel by the park

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The rooms are large and quiet. Staff was very friendly
Cons: I found the suspended ceiling in the room ugly. That was the only unappealing detail
Location: The location is quiet and residential but close to Stanley park and shops and restaurants.