Ratings based on 1,217 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great historic hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
I would recommend this Hotel to anyone. It's an old historic site and has a fantastic restaurant/lounge overlooking English Bay. I would say however there appeared to be no gym and the Business Center is lacking. This is. Place to stay on holiday though and the location is second to none. Loved It and will continue staying there on future trips
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
I love the fact is is a bit old fashioned, loved having a real key for my hand, location rocked and staff so nice and friendly, Ill stay there again anytime, I used to live in Vancouver years ago, worked at the English Bay Cafe in its time, so loved the old neighborhood, food great at the Sylvia too..thanks for everything!!! Bonnie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Pleasant hotel by the water

Posted Apr 14, 2017
This historic hotel is conveniently located to downtown Vancouver with plenty of lovely walking and eating spots. This is an older hotel still uses a single physical key for a hotel room (which you can leave in a message/letter box with the main desk if somebody else needs access to the room). The room was pleasant and comfortable. The bathroom was small, with a low overhead shower head, but the water pressure was good and hot enough for a pleasant shower. I have stayed here before, and would gladly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to restaurants, public transportation, beach

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: They hire excellent staff who know how to be helpful.
Cons: Well, it's just an old hotel that needs refurbishing. Eg. carpets in the hallway on 5th floor had a pretty strong odour. So, one floor at a time I gue
Location: walk the beach to Granville Island, or the seawall to Stanley Park
Excellent. The radiator in my first room was making a racket and I was moved within the half hour of reporting it. My room was upgraded in fact. A front desk staff member also sorted out the booking I had made on line. This was my second visit and would have no hesitation staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Hidden gem in Vancouver

Posted Apr 9, 2017
We stayed for 4 nights in the nicest hotel in Vancouver. It is a gem hidden in Vancouver and the area is like Vancouver used to be 30 years ago. The area is quiet, close to everything, clean and beautiful. The staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. The restaurant was where we went for breakfast everyday not only for the food but the view of English Bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Dog and people friendly

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Location. History. Pet policy.
Cons: All good.
Location: Beach, park, food,
Great location near beach and Stanley park. Old, solid building. Lots of history. Well maintained. Pet friendly. Good restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: update bathroom
Location: Stanley Park, Sea Wall , English Bay beach, walk to foot ferries - False Creek, shopping in the West End
Pleasant stay in an old hotel which is fairly well maintained, in an excellent downtown location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Hotel was comfortable, good location, and delicious food. I wouldn't recommend if you are celebrating something special. We stayed for our honeymoon and didn't feel like our special stay was valued. It was extremely noticeable as all other hotels we stayed at did something big or small to help us celebrate. This hotel prides itself with long lasting customer value and I definitely didn't see that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The location was fine but our bedroom was very sma

Posted Mar 26, 2017
We were disappointed with the size of the bedroom and bathroom was really cramped. The food wasn't very good and service was poor. We had read about the hotel in the Lonely Planet guide so were expecting something better. I was told that some of the rooms have been renovated but ours obviously wasn't one of those.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable classic hotel close to English Bay.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Great neighborhood! Hotel is an old classic fixture in English Bay. Great location for walking, running on waterfront. Restaurants are excellent.