Ratings based on 1,168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA. Mo,

Classic Hotel with a European feel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
We had a wonderful 3 night stray here. It was a good location to walk or take a bid to everything we wanted to see/do. Megan was VERY helpful with all our questions. Fun to talk with other guests at breakfast while we enjoyed the fabulous croissants. Glad we upgraded to the private bath.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cutest place I've been too!

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Lovely staff, rooms... Overall great experience for a cheaper price!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice place downtown!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Comfortable bed, in a relatively quiet building. The decor was nice, there's even a cool little suit of armour upstairs. Shared bathrooms weren't a problem (and there was no vancancy so that's at peak usage) but the lack of A/C and screen on the window made it pretty warm at night in the summer. Otherwise it was a nice place to stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Quaint & charming hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Close to all amenities.
This quaint, charming hotel was so nice to stay at. A century old hotel, fully renovated but still maintains that old world charm. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful and the location was excellent - walking distance to cruise ship terminal, close to shops and restaurants. Excellent breakfast included. Only disadvantage to note are the share bathroom/toilets but these were always available to use with a number on each floor and kept extremely fresh and clean. Overall, a wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Lovely room in a great location

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location; beautiful bathrooms and many of them.
Cons: Counter space near the sink would be extremely helpful. Instead there's a gigantic tv screen taking up space. Wall mount it, if you must have a tv.
Location: Hotel is over a used book store! And it's a short walk to the Canada Line and Water Street restaurants
Easy check-in, helpful staff and perfect location. My room got a lot of street noise but there's little to be done about that.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal, Qc

Très chaleureux, ambiance familiale

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Sa proximité au port de Vancouver, sa propreté, son accueil, son style victorien chaleureux.
Cons: Au déjeuner, offrir des confitures de plus grande qualité, du jus d'orange, du yogourt et des bananes. Des classiques toujours appréciés!
Location: Très accessible à plusieurs lignes d'autobus vers le parc Stanley, le centre-ville, la place du Canada.
Chambres très propres, accueil en français, bon rapport qualité-prix. Par contre, pas facile d'accès pour les gens qui voyagent avec des fauteuils roulants ou des poussettes, mais l'aide du personnel est un atout. Déjeuner français (baguette, croissants, confiture ordinaire, café, céréales et bleuets frais). Pour ma part, je trouvais qu'il manquait de variété.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Convenient

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Location: We went to an excellent restaurant called Joule. It was in Gastown, within walking distance from the hotel.
Hotel was very clean, nicely appointed and convenient to restaurants and sights. It reminds us somewhat of nice private European hotels. We had a private bathroom which was mandatory for us, but not all rooms have one so we were told. If it's important to you, I'd suggest you ask in advance, like we did. Hotel is not centrally air conditioned and the portable air conditioner in room was pretty noisy throughout the night. That noise was the only drawback. We will go back there whenever we are in Vancouver.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
This is a nice hotel, make sure that you are aware it is a walk up and request something on the bottom floor of you cannot take the stairs. Also, shared washrooms are nice and clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shelbyville, Indiana

Great stop for after a cruise.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Clleanliness. Free Wifi!
Location: There didn't seem to be any restaurants near with out a walk of several blocks. the hop on and off transportation was about 4 blocks or more away.
The staff was extremely helpful to suggest tours for the day we were there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Disgusting smell. No air conditioning.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The only good thing about this place: close to everything in downtonw with a reasonable price.
Cons: Air conditioning maybe. get rid of that smell of the room, clean it. Maybe it was the curtains?bed sheets? carpet?
The building is nice, and historical. But I don't think I will be back there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
by B Mac-GM, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear you won't be back Alberto. I'm also a little surprised to read your comments about smells. That's a first. We do everything in our power to describe the room amenities and we certainly don't try to mislead anyone. More than half the hotel has air conditioning and the rest, the budget rooms come equipped with fans I know it's not the same in a heat wave and I'm sorry you were uncomfortable.