Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, UK

Difficult due to a heat wave

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: I think there should be a fan in every room.
Location: The old town, port and cathedral are all within walking distance. Plenty of places to eat and drink. Morbihan is a lovely area and Vannes a good base.
I don't want to write a negative review because what we experienced in terms of weather conditions was truly exceptional and unlikely to be repeated more than once or twice a year. The thermometer on the pharmacy across the road went up to 40 degrees on one day! However, if you visit during the summer months you may have to take into account that the rooms have no air conditioning and there are no fans in the rooms. I stayed for three nights and rarely slept for more than a couple of hours without having to take a shower even in the middle of the night. However, it is in a good location, there's secure parking as long as you don't have a tall vehicle (we just got our Ford Galaxy in but it needed one to drive and the other to get out and guide the driver for overhead obstacles). There is a Eu 6.50 per night charge for this though. Parking is free on the street up until 0900 hrs. Probably the only other word of warning is to take the breakfast cost into consideration when assessing the overall cost of the stay. I think Eu 9.50 is a bit steep for that class of hotel and this needs to be factored into your budget. However, the staff are great and location is pretty central for everything and easy walking distance of the railway station and old town. I would recommend it even taking into account the above considerations.
5 out of 5
by jk from thorney

top class

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
no issues and great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017
We want to thank you for your comment. We hope to have the pleasure to receive you again in Vannes. Yours sincerely.
4 out of 5
by Nigel

Quite Happy Enough

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
10 minutes walk to the harbour. Not outstanding to look at but parking easy, and inside clean & comfortable. Staff helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017
We want to thank you for your comment. We hope to have the pleasure to receive you again in Vannes. Yours sincerely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good priced hotel in walking distance from train

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Great value hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Great location with a down hill walk from the SNCF train station and also a short walk to the historical centre of Vannes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Too hot without fan
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Colorado

Would surely return

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
Great central location to train station as well as the city center. Small room, as expected, but very clean and quite comfortable. Staff was helpful and spoke enough English to help me, though I did not need that much from them. Sorry I was here only 1 day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josh from Vannes Brittany.

Hotel Manche Ocean Vannes.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Location, within easy walking distance of the medieval town, and harbour. Nice size rooms, and comfortable beds. Secure parking.
Cons: All good.
Location: Close to the medieval town, harbour, and numerous bars, and restaurants. Excellent market on Wednesday and Saturday.
We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions, and find the hotel location, excellent for exploring Vannes. The secure parking is an additional benefit. The staff are very helpful, and friendly, and able to assist with any language (French/English) issues. The rooms are very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Top marks throughout.
4 out of 5
by Nigel from UK

Good value

Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels
Rooms a bit small and could be a bit stuffy during hot weather. Bathroom could do with revamp with only a hand shower in bath. Bed very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by DW from UK

Fine budget hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel was fine, very clean, very helpful staff, good handy but quiet location. The only problem the first room offered for a five night stay wa far too small, but the manager quickly found more appropriate alternative room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2012 on Hotels