Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Wonderful, Quiet Hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Everything
We really enjoyed the hotel. We had only booked for one night but the view was great, weather couldn't have been more pleasant and the food was just as impressive. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent small lodge in foothills of Poas Volcano

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Lovely lodge with great location, food, helpful staff. I would highky recommend this lodge. Only minor thing is the beds were very noisy when you move. So noisy that turning over woke up my daughter in her separate bed and she sleeps well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable rooms, gorgeous location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We loved hiking around the property - the landscape was beautiful! The staff was attentive and friendly. Overall a great stay!
5 out of 5
by Bonnie

Costa Rica Family Trip

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful Lodge, quiet & relaxing. Excellent Food. Wish we could have stayed longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sun Valley Idaho

Beautiful haven.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: It felt luxurious in a simple, yet rustic way.
Location: After a day of tough travel, this little slice of heave was a short drive from SJO airport and got us out of the city and into the beauty of CR.
We were welcomed to our cozy, clean attached rooms by friendly, helpful staff. Dinner was delicious. We returned to our rooms to find hot water bottles heating our beds. Bird song surrounded us in the AM. We enjoyed the simplicity and beauty of this delightful spot. We would highly recommend it and will consider ourselves lucky if we get to return for an another stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and beautiful place.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We had a great time there. The hotel is beautiful and so is the lobby. The breakfast was great. Very nice and helpful people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MOSCOW

the hotel in unaceptable for comfortable stay

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: nothing! The worse in my travel life.
Cons: everything. start from very beginning: airconditioning and heating facilities.
The hotel doesn't have heating. AT ALL! No climate control as well. We got cold and slept with small wamer in our beds, fully dressed! and it was awful! Breakfast is poor and bad-quality. No service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Maria Fda. , Hotel Management
Dear Vadim: We are very sorry, that you didn´t have a good staying at our hotel. However, we work every day to be betters and we invited you to come again...! Regards, Poas Volcano Lodge Staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warm, cozy and very helpful!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
We loved the feel of the lodge with the warmth of the fireplaces filling the rooms. The staff was wonderful in helping us rearrange our travel plans due to incoming weather. Sadly we had to leave a day early and didn't get to explore the area as planned, but staff made sure we had a bagged breakfast for our early departure. Definitely will be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels