Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Delhi

Keeping the Varanasi heritage alive

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Closeness to Ganga and Assi Ghat, the view, and the gallery of eminent people of Varanasi on the staircase.
Cons: A lift would be a great help. or at least a chair lift. Bathrooms are stuffy.
Location: Morning and evening aartis on Assi Ghat; Walk to Kashi Vishwanath temple (30 min), take a rickshaw/scooter to BHU, Varanasi street food.
Palace on Ganges is true to its name. It is right on Assi Ghat which allows you to atetnd morning and evening aartis, go on boat rides, or just walk along the ghats of Varanasi--the best way to imbibe the spirit of Varanasi. The hotel has been built, designed and maintained with care. Each room is named after a state and the furniture and upholstery chosen carefully to match the traditions of the state. We stayed at the Punjab room decorated with Phulkari work and a charpoy. The best room is the attic room that gives a 360 degree view of Varanasi, but unfortunately it can be reached after a steep climb of five floors. Service is good and food is above average.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Good location, little overpriced

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Location, front desk staff
Cons: Food quality, restaurant cleanliness and staff. Better directions about where the restaurants are located.
Location: Steps from Assi Ghat. Boat ride on the Ganges and watching the Ganga Aarti in the evening from the boat.
Overall, an OK experience. The room was clean, but smallish, considering the price per night, and it is closed ,, no view, unless you count the opposite inside wall from a small window. The front desk staff was pretty helpful. The restaurants, one inside the hotel, and one on the rooftop, were not at all good .. looked dirty, food was just about OK and the staff was not that good. The best thing about the hotel is the location - it is steps away from Assi Ghat, which was extremely convenient for us. We just spent a night there, and the hotel arranged for a boat to take us to watch the Ganga Aarti in the evening .. was beautiful. Overall, would recommend the hotel only for location.. everything else was average.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Porto, Portugal

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Paid USD 140 for one night, when the hotel is FOR SURE not worth more than USD 40. Facilities not amazing, bed was terribly hard and the only window was facing a wall which was 40 cms away. Only positives are proximity to the Ganges river and flexibility to have a late check-out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel I've ever stayed at

Posted Jan 15, 2015
The staff were so nice, it brought tears to my eyes. After a long day of traveling, the front desk clerk was so concerned that we didn't eat dinner, he asked the chef to make us a special dinner outside normal hours (the chef stayed late). They arranged a boat ride for us with a very good company that were honest and nice. They got us safe taxis. The room was always meticulous. Food was delicious and timely. Music was amazing. To wake up with the morning prayer ceremony songs coming through the windows was beautiful and nothing I will ever forget. People are posted in the halls to help with any question you may have, and people are always smiling and greeting you, asking if everything was ok several times during the stay. I also had a massage there in the spa which was excellent and so inexpensive. WIFI was reliable and strong. I cannot say enough about this place. If you are in Varanasi, you need to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

friendly staff

Posted Apr 19, 2014
good food and helpful stall we would recommend this hotel
2 out of 5
by Nikki from Atlanta, GA

Good Facility, Bad Front Desk Staff, Overpriced

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: We had two different rooms during our stay. They were both very clean with an A/C, but no free Wi-fi. The rooms had a nice size bathroom and standard
Cons: The issue we had with this hotel staff was the front desk staff. I had called several times prior to our arrival to make sure the reservation was con
Location: The location was at the very last ghat. I actually liked this location because it made it easy to find and easy to get to by rickshaw or taxi.
My friend and I stayed here for two days. We had two different rooms during our stay. They were both very clean with an A/C, but no free Wi-fi. The rooms had a nice size bathroom and standard beds. We liked the ambiance of the hotel and how each room had a different theme. The restaurants were nice and the food was good. The bellman and cleaning staff were very professional. They even delivered check-in drinks. The issue we had with this hotel staff was the front desk staff. I had called several times prior to our arrival to make sure the reservation was confirmed and fine, and on both occasions they hung up on me. When we arrived, they told me I only had a reservation for one night, and then they dismissed me. However, I kept asking them to check, and reluctantly they checked again and then they told me I had two nights. Once that issue was resolved, I asked to modify the reservation and I was told that I could not. They would not even try to accommodate, they just dismissed me. Upon check- out, I asked the guy at the front desk for my receipt. He told me that he would only give me my receipt after I wrote comments about my stay there. He handed me a piece of paper and pen and stood over me while I wrote. I told him I wanted my receipt first, and he told me no. I had to insist. He reluctantly gave me my receipt. We had other friends staying within walking distance and others at other ghats. Our hotel was extremely overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ottima posizione

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Posizione fantastica praticamente sul Gange. Ristorante discreto,personale gentile ed attento anche se con i tempi indiani,quindi un po' lento. Reception sempre disponibile. Camera purtroppo sull'interno ma silenziosa. Niente di che la colazione. Rapporto qualità prezzo discreto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 茨城県、日本

アッシガートの神秘的な朝にアクセスしやすいホテル

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: 24時間フロントに誰かいるので、問題があれば対応してくれます。夜中にボートでたくさんの蚊に刺されて参っていると、薬を買ってきてくれました。 外のレストランだと周囲の目が気になり、気まずいビールもここでは心おきなく楽しむことができます。
Cons: 屋上レストランのチキン料理。日本人の私には肉が硬すぎて飲み込むのに苦労しました。 ホテルの前にいるオートリクシャーや、ボートマン達はあり得ないような値段をふっかけてきます。ホテルが改善すべき点ではないかもしれませんが、周辺の環境が改善されるといいと思います(インドですから、無理ですね)
Location: アッシガートの朝のプージャ、ボートを使ってのガートめぐり、ヒンドゥーのお寺巡り等
アッシガートでは毎朝6:00からプージャが行われています。このホテルからガートまでの距離は1分もかからないくらい近いです。アッシガートの朝にお詣りしたい方におすすめです。ゴートゥーリヤまでもリクシャーで50ルピーも払えば喜んで行ってくれる距離です。何より、静かで良い所でした。 私は8泊しましたが、ホテルのスタッフ達のサービスがとても良かったです。タクシー、ランドリー、部屋掃除その他問題なくこなしてくれました。オートリクシャーの適正価格などもフロントで教えてくれるのでありがたかったです。 屋上のレストランのスパゲティーナポリタンが秀逸でした。冷たいキングフィッシャーも問題なく用意してくれます。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salzburg

Sehr gute Lage

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Die Lage des Hotels am Asi Ghat ist ausgezeichnet. Das Hotel ist per Taxi bzw. Tuk-tuk zu erreichen und eignet sich gut als Ausgangspunkt um die Ghats und die Altstadt zu Fuß zu erkunden. Die Zimmer sind sehr schön ausgestattet. Nur die Klimaanlage ist ungünstig eingebaut und störend laut. Obwohl bei der Buchung nicht optional buchbar haben wir problemlos ein Zimmer mit Aussicht auf den Ganges bekommen. Ein Negativpunkt ist jedoch das Personal an der Rezeption, das zum Teil kein Englisch spricht. Entgegen den Angaben in der Buchungsbestätigung ist WLAn nicht kostenlos.
2 out of 5
by なおお from 東京

ガンジス川が目の前ではあるが。。

Posted Mar 15, 2014
ガンジス川が目の前ですが、一番端です。歩いてメインガートへ行くには結構歩きます。 朝食はテラスではなく、ガンジス川を眺めるところではないところで取ることになります。パンとジュースにポテト・ゆで卵ぐらいです。 写真に比べて綺麗ではありません。夜もお湯はが出ない場合があります。