Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul. Korea.

Very good to see The Ghat and Ganges River.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Perfect location to take a look and get to the Ghat and River. People are very kind and helpful. Hot shower and A/C are available. River viewing room has many flying bugs and a monkey got into my room through open door to Balcony and take my foods. hahaha. Have fun with bugs gecko rizard and monkey!!! One big problem was my big baggage could not be trolled myself coz too long, narrow and dirty corridor from the circle.
4 out of 5
by KARUNAKARAN

Great location / Great staff

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Palace on Steps is right on the Ganges at the heart of action in Varanasi. Hotels in this region can't be accessed by vehicle and therefore it is vital to pre-book an airport pick up via the hotel. The reception staff are fantastic and try their hardest to make our stay as comfortable as possible and to help arrange tours locally. The Maharajah suite is awesome with fantastic views over the Ganges. The roof top restaurant is fairly priced with a decent menu selection
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2015
The people there were very helpfull, the location was good, quiet and close to the Gange.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting experience

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels
Let's be clear, this place is definitely not a palace. It is a set of concrete rooms. We booked and received what was, absolutely, a basic room. Very basic in fact. Shabby with small beds and a small attached shower / wc room. The floor was spotless to be fair and had been disinfected just before we got there. But the paintwork in the room needed cleaning. The bathroom mould needed a ton of bleach. The room was bland and had no proper window as it was an internal room. I imagine some of the rooms are better and have great views as the establishment is literally on the bank of the Ganges. This is it's strongest point. It is in a great location. Easy to get anywhere in town or on the river on foot in a couple of minutes. Dreamlike architecture nearby. A little haunting actually. The guys that work there are friendly. We found one of them, Deepak I think, particularly nice. There is a rooftop canteen surrounded by a cage to keep the monkeys out. One disturbing thing is that access to the area from the river end of town is up a very steep set of stairs which is covered and also unlit. In the daytime it is simply dark and people sleep on the steps. At night it is black and full of dogs
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lucknow

Worst hotel stay

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Bad complementary food. Standard rooms are worst. Only plus point is location nothing else. Bad experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from England

Fantastic view from my room

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The view and the location
Cons: Cleanliness. The room was quite dusty
Location: Well placed for the Varinasi experience
If you have a room overlooking the river then this a place well worth staying
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Shyam from New Delhi

Proximity to Ghats : 10/10, Cleanliness : 0/10

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything else.
Location: Very close to the Ghats and the evening Aarti
While the hotel is "Just On the Ghats" and great from a locational perspective, everything else is terrible : a) Access : You need to walk with your luggage for at least 15 minutes b) Cleanliness : I stayed for 2 nights, they never cleaned the room during my stay, despite repeated reminders; I received similar feedback from other inmates ( both Indian and International guests ) c) Restaurant : The food is good, but the place is infested with stray monkeys. Added to this are the pet dog and its puppy - while they are cute, looks like they are not fed, so they come and pull your plate of food when you are eating. Overall, a horrible place to stay. Never Go there !
2 out of 5
by shubham from Mumbai

shoddy beds, few rude staff

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels
Location: great because it's on riverside. Terrible because you have to walk at least 1.5 km through narrow confusing and hopelessly dirty lanes to reach there as no transport is allowed. Service : Some staff were rude. Most of them were illiterate villagers.Esp rude to East Asian foreigners. Food quality was pathetic as the kitchen staff were not at all trained. Kitchen was very dirty. I didn't feel like eating out of the plates and glasses they served in. YET, I can say that the city that Varanasi is, this hotel would still qualify as a better one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location with the surprises .

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Only view and fact it is historical building.
Cons: Room equipment and cleaning or disinfecting entire room. Rooftop restaurant - the same as above.
Location: Everything is near by and is relatively quiet. Ganga has its own life like it or leave it.
On side upgrading procedure for view only. Not Expidia prices. Spiders or lizard living with you. make pick what you like. Equipment in terrible shape, heater ( was cold at night) fall apart no always hot or cold water. Dirty towels, no soup or shampoo. You have to ask for everything. Yes, great view if you upgrade nothing else.