Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old dark room

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The room was very small and old. The flooring was cheap and peeling. It felt like 2 or 3 star only. The bathroom was very dark and old. No bath, no full length mirror. The window view also depressing. I switched to another hotel and missed my second night here because I did not want to return to the room. The restaurant was very good and room service excellent. The salon was good but for some reason they did not do a base coat, second coat or top coat on my pedicure, they just applied one layer of colour straight to my nails and said I was done. They also made me fill out a review card in front of them while they stood over me which was awkward and uncomfortable. I don't think reviews can be taken honestly when forced on clients at payment time. Not a 5 star move.
5 out of 5
by Neeta

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel. They are updating it.
5 out of 5
by Vineet

Great

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Love the Taj Ganges. it's always been my preferred hotel to stay with great amenities, location, Room, Restaurant and Buffet breakfast spread.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Slow wifi speed Make the swimming pool heated to use in winter
Hotel room has average ambience for the high price of $156 (executive room) Seems that the booking communication is not good.During check it was mentioned that buffet breakfast is not included and then I had to show the booking print out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing experience.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
VARUNA was the high point. Excellent cuisine. Breakfast at CHOWK was also quite extensive with Banarasi flavour. Sprawling green compound.Away from the city hubbub yet all sites and spot at stones throw.hubbub
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Amazing Oasis

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Leaving
Location: Right near town and the Ganges. Great tours and guides available.
We stayed here after nearly two weeks in Delhi and it was incredible. It's a beautiful, hidden away gem in Varanasi. From the moment we came through the gate we where blown away by the beautiful grounds and the welcome from the staff. The staff help us with every single request from tours, guides and packing boxes to pack our souvineers in. The rooms are beautiful and comfy. The outdoor tandoori oven restaurant is a must try. Highly recommended. We will definitely stay here again should we visit Varanasi again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Location is ok

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The restaurant lacks service. They promised us tea at 5am and never delivered. Lots of mess around hallway
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by tghgm.ben, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from The City of Temples! Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey at Expedia.com portal. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Please be assured that I have personally examined the concern with regards to the room services and decorum of hallway. Your feedback was duly shared with the team for the corrective measures to be addressed from our end. We rely on the constructive feedback of our discerning guests to help us achieve the highest levels of services that we aspire towards. We look forward to welcoming your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi! Sincerely, Ashwani Anand General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Delhi

love staying here

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
overall best in Varanasi
4 out of 5
by Geetali

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from The City of Temples! Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey at hotel.com. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. We look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing The Gateway Ganges Varanasi! Sincerely, Ashwani Anand General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The facilities are good. The food at the restaurant was superb.
Cons: Maintenance of the facilities are needed.
The rooms were clean but the temperature in the room could not be controlled. The temperature control did not work. The shower in the bathroom was non-functional. Either you could get hot water or only cold water in the shower. The water mixture did not work at all. The travel desk did not have adequate number of cars. If you needed a car, the travel desk executive will try to convince you to take the vehicle at a later date citing excuses like the temple will be closed now etc. While I wanted to go to Vindhyachal, I asked for a car at 10:00 in the morning, the person there mentioned that it so of no use to go at 10:00 in the morning because, the temples will be closed from 11:30 until 3:00 and therefore, it would be appropriate to go at 12:00 or 1:00 in the afternoon. When I visited the temple, I was told that the temple does not close at 11:30, but only at 2:30 and that too only for 30 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by tghgm.ben, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from The City of Temples! Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey at Expedia.com portal. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Please be assured that I have personally examined the concern with regards to the overall guest room facilities, services at travel desk and sensitivity of staff towards the guest needs. Your feedback was duly shared with the team for the corrective measures to be addressed from our end. We rely on the constructive feedback of our discerning guests to help us achieve the highest levels of services that we aspire towards. We are also glad to read the praiseworthy feedback about the food and we sincerely thank you for the same. We look forward to welcoming your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi! Sincerely, Ashwani Anand General Manager