Ratings based on 388 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Beautiful views, but the rest was disappointing

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: The location and some old building details.
Cons: The mattresses were very uncomfortable, and sleeping in a double bed put together by two separate ones was very uncomfortable given a hard edge merge.
The staff seemed to be indifferent to their guests if not between the older visitors praising the place. The bed was really uncomfortable, and the breakfast was filling but nothing special. If wanting expresso you needed to pay extra. Also the small town down the hill had minimal eating options for dinner outside the summer season. The nice thing about the stay was the warm sun on the balcony early afternoon, the splendid views from the bed and Lace Como. So next time we will go back to better places around it, that we have really enjoyed earlier years. And AirBnBs offer much more than this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Views - Views - Views

Posted Oct 15, 2017
High on a hill overlooking Lake Como. Nice, quiet room. Friendly staff and great breakfast. About a 10 minute walk to town downhill. Steep 20 minute back. Would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas, USA

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The view from this hotel is gorgeous. The towns nearby are nice to walk too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Excellent hotel only exceeded by the professional and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Fantastic location but hotel needs to improve

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Location is amazing
Cons: Lots of things
Location: Varenna is a great spot. Town is pretty. The gardens of Monastero are fantastic. The ferries give you easy access to Belaggio and Menaggio
Before going in to details, I would like to say that I walk with a crutch at the moment. No mobility warning was issued by the hotel. We booked a extra space room as I need extra space. The road to the hotel is exciting, narrow with two hairpin bends and part of the road is on metal grids as it needs the extra space. When we arrived I was told our room was in the upper facility. It was explained that I had to take two funiculars and a lift. There were steps to the funicular station of course. The view from the room was out of this world as it is something like 180 meters above the hotel and the hotel is probably 100 meters above the road. The room is spartan with no coffee facilities. In fact there are no facilities in the upper complex at all. A cup of coffee is a lift ride(expected) and two funicular trips away!!!. There is no staff presence in the upper facility so you feel very isolated. You are required to walk in the open between the hotel and the first funicular, between funiculars and from the top one in to the complex. The weather was wet when we were there. Not so good. The weather was cold for September. The heating was not on. The rooms are a conversion of a convent and you can hear people in the next room. As a result of my temporary disability, we ate in the hotel. Worst meal in Italy. We were there for 16 days. Breakfast was fine. If you visit this hotel, pray for fine weather or insist you want an ordinary small room. The view may not be as good but!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best view in Varenna

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Could not ask for a better view Simple hotel no frills
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

Amazing views

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We loved our 3 nights here and wish we could have stayed longer. If you like quirky places then stay here! We had a room at the top, accessible via two glass lifts. I never got bored of that. Beautiful views over Lake Como from the room and from the bar restaurant. We had breakfast there, which was fine. Buffet style and plenty of food and tea and coffee. A 10 minute walk from centre of Varenna. It is up a hill, so if you find walking difficult you may need a taxi. The furniture and fittings are not fancy or luxurious but everything worked. The hotel was a hermitage in the past so there is ahistorical interest there too. Being on the east side of the lake meant great sunsets and evening light too. If you want thick carpets and meals on silver trays then this is not for you, but if you love great views and something different then this ticks all the boxes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The view is wonderful and the staff were very welcoming. If you arrive by ferry u can call the hotel to get a cab for 12 euros.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Spectacular view

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: View.
Cons: Satellite T V was out of service and couldn't be repaired on a weekend.
Location: Walks, hikes,ferries to adjoining towns.
A bit of a hike up to the hotel but worth it. Hotel features a panoramic terrace and small outside areas to read or reflect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Stayed there for 2 nights, clean with great Varenna views. Remember that you'll have to take tram elevator to the hotel itself which is kind of cool. Parking is free but a bit tight Hotel is just by the castle Visio trail, and 5 min walk to Varenna