Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

A view that makes up for anything

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: We were pleasantly surprised to have a balcony. The view was unreal!
Cons: The double bed was 2 single beds put together so there was that line in the middle. The pillows were flat and unfluffy. I had a neck ache from them.
Location: The location is walking distance to city center. Note: its quite a hike up but beautifully scenic. A taxi is best when you first arrive with luggage
We loved our stay. Any unpleasantries were minor or at least felt that way after looking at our view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Nice location overlooking the lake. The funicular up to our room was a nice surprise! The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the center of town, and up a hill. This was not an issue for us, but it may be for some travelers. Easy taxi ride from train station to the property. Would stay here again if in Varenna.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

A fine place to stay in Como area

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: the view and friendliness of the staff to Americans.
Cons: we couldn't stay longer!
Location: A good location; you will need to walk a bit to the town and that means walking back up hill to the hotel. Could be issue for seniors or young ones.
This hotel was a nice adventure. We had a room on upper 5th floor; to get there you need to take two funiculars up a steep cliff, then an elevator. The view out our window was stunning overlooking the lake. The room was simple; king bed with dressers and night stands. Tile floor and bathroom was just fine. The breakfast was a pleasing European affair with meats, cheeses, pastries and yogurts. A bit tricky to find. When traveling down through town, you will pass on your left a public parking facility. Right after that you will see a road that veers left and up towards the hotel. Take that road for a hundred yards or so and then the road narrows a bit and there is a sign with a big red X on it, for no admittance...or so I thought. It turns out you can drive further up; if any people walking down they get up against the wall to let you pass. Up top is the hotel parking. Worth the effort...very pleased.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

lots of fun

Posted Oct 7, 2016
This hilltop inn has a wonderful view of the lake. The dining area is conducive to lots of conversation and interactions with fellow travellers. There are multiple terraces to enjoy a glass of wine. The breakfast was great. The night manager is very welcoming and cheerful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Interesting hotel!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The view! The staff were relaxed and friendly. Breakfast had a really nice selection of and the upper part of the hotel is both bizarre and amazing.
Cons: As it is an isolated location selling food/drink or keeping the restaurant open would have been nice. Also collection/drop off from the station.
Location: Its a 10 minute uphill walk from the main square and a 20 minute walk from the station. It is close to the lake and sightseeing spots.
This is a lovely hotel, the rooms are clean and have everything that you need. The best thing about this hotel is the view which is incredible - both from your room and then from the upper section of the hotel. Besides your balcony there are also many terraces available from which to enjoy the stunning view of the lake - probably the best spot in Varenna for this. I would note that the hotel is a 10 minute uphill walk from the town and at least a 20 minute walk from the station. As it rained on our check out day a lift to the station would have been an amazing service to offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting and views.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Views, staff and breakfast.
Cons: Bed and bedding, towels.
Location: Walking distance to town center, but pretty steep uphill coming back.
Bedding and mattress in need of replacement. Towels minimal. Breakfast quite good and adequate. Staff very friendly and accomodating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Our stay was excellent and we really enjoyed our room specifically with a private balcony.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

What a view!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The absolute best thing about this hotel is the view! It is simply beyond incredible. While the rooms are sparsely decorated and very simple, the view is haw- dropping. You must stay however on the higher levels with a balcony!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapolis

Amazing view!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: I almost cried tears of joy when I got up to our room. The view was truly breathtaking and we were able to sit on the balcony and take it all in.
Cons: I would prefer fresh cappuccino. The front desk agent could have shared more information about what to do in Varenna and the surrounding area.
Location: Varenna is a beautiful town with a lovely walk way along the lake. Take the mid lake shuttle to the other lake towns. Great restaurants in this area!
The view is truly breathtaking. I can't describe how special this hotel was to us. Just incredible! The room was clean and more than adequate. Breakfast is fairly standard though they served coffee out of a machine. Varenna restaurants were within walking distance though the walk up the hill seemed longer coming back after our delicious meals! The staff were professional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from naples, florida

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The view
Location: We could walk to everything, it was uphill coming home but a nice walk after dinner.
The views from this hotel are magnificent ! We had a room with a large veranda and had cocktails with our friends one night on the veranda. We also had dinner there and the food was good. The rooms were clean and simple but the whole hotel is spectacular in that it is built into the hill, two cable cars to get to the room. A great place to stay and take pictures.