Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Excellent hotel only exceeded by the professional and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Fantastic location but hotel needs to improve

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Location is amazing
Cons: Lots of things
Location: Varenna is a great spot. Town is pretty. The gardens of Monastero are fantastic. The ferries give you easy access to Belaggio and Menaggio
Before going in to details, I would like to say that I walk with a crutch at the moment. No mobility warning was issued by the hotel. We booked a extra space room as I need extra space. The road to the hotel is exciting, narrow with two hairpin bends and part of the road is on metal grids as it needs the extra space. When we arrived I was told our room was in the upper facility. It was explained that I had to take two funiculars and a lift. There were steps to the funicular station of course. The view from the room was out of this world as it is something like 180 meters above the hotel and the hotel is probably 100 meters above the road. The room is spartan with no coffee facilities. In fact there are no facilities in the upper complex at all. A cup of coffee is a lift ride(expected) and two funicular trips away!!!. There is no staff presence in the upper facility so you feel very isolated. You are required to walk in the open between the hotel and the first funicular, between funiculars and from the top one in to the complex. The weather was wet when we were there. Not so good. The weather was cold for September. The heating was not on. The rooms are a conversion of a convent and you can hear people in the next room. As a result of my temporary disability, we ate in the hotel. Worst meal in Italy. We were there for 16 days. Breakfast was fine. If you visit this hotel, pray for fine weather or insist you want an ordinary small room. The view may not be as good but!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best view in Varenna

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Could not ask for a better view Simple hotel no frills
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

Amazing views

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We loved our 3 nights here and wish we could have stayed longer. If you like quirky places then stay here! We had a room at the top, accessible via two glass lifts. I never got bored of that. Beautiful views over Lake Como from the room and from the bar restaurant. We had breakfast there, which was fine. Buffet style and plenty of food and tea and coffee. A 10 minute walk from centre of Varenna. It is up a hill, so if you find walking difficult you may need a taxi. The furniture and fittings are not fancy or luxurious but everything worked. The hotel was a hermitage in the past so there is ahistorical interest there too. Being on the east side of the lake meant great sunsets and evening light too. If you want thick carpets and meals on silver trays then this is not for you, but if you love great views and something different then this ticks all the boxes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The view is wonderful and the staff were very welcoming. If you arrive by ferry u can call the hotel to get a cab for 12 euros.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Spectacular view

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: View.
Cons: Satellite T V was out of service and couldn't be repaired on a weekend.
Location: Walks, hikes,ferries to adjoining towns.
A bit of a hike up to the hotel but worth it. Hotel features a panoramic terrace and small outside areas to read or reflect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Stayed there for 2 nights, clean with great Varenna views. Remember that you'll have to take tram elevator to the hotel itself which is kind of cool. Parking is free but a bit tight Hotel is just by the castle Visio trail, and 5 min walk to Varenna
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful views! Hard to get to by car...

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The view and location.
Cons: Instructions about how to get up to the parking area.
Location: We paid for an all day ferry ticket and used the ferries to get to a few of the villages like Bellagio.
Our hotel room was up in the mountain and had to be reached by two funicular/elevator rides, which very cool.. The views from up there were fabulous as were the views for the dining area. The hotel is a little away from the centre but completely walkable and worth it in terms of views. The difficulty was getting there by car and parking! The road was steep, narrow and not very well indicated. It took a while to come down from the stress of that drive up... Once we were there we did not dare use the car for the two days we were there... The breakfast was good and we had a very good dinner there one night. The staff was OK. Not overwhelmingly friendly but responsive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely position, friendly staff

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Its position, Fantastic view to wake up to each morning.
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in each room.
Location: close to the town centre where there are good restaurants Good area for walking or taking a ferry to the nearb.
Room in the old monastery which involved riding two outside lifts and then an inside one to my room. So unusual. Beautiful views. Friendly staff. Everywhere very clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Awful hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The only good thing is the view but many hotels have nice views
Cons: everything else
Location: located quite a hike from the center
Not really 3 starts- more like a hostal. Dirty plastic shower bin telephone did not work nasty staff members