Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Francesco from Montreal

Historical house well outside city centre

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located entirely well outside Verona and hard to reach without a car. There is nothing up there in the winter: no groceries, no restaurants open on the evening we stayed, no coffee shops, etc. The "B&B" does not actually include breakfast in the room rate, but the hostess is accommodating and quite ready to prepare food if needed (for a price=. The villa, on about 5 floors, was built in 1902 by sculptor and decorator L. Pogliaghi, who retired to it and built a collection of ancient art, shown alongside models of his own works. It is massive and certainly with its own character and style — not one I'd choose for my own home but one I can appreciate. It's full of exposed, chiseled wood and medieval-inspired decor, and the only downfall is that the remainder of the house (including heating and bathrooms) could use a makeover (but how do you update a historical home while keeping to the original feeling and style?). We stayed in one of the rooms on the first floor which was comfortable and well appointed. Don't expect a mini fridge in the room or a telephone. It's a 115-year old villa from a gone era. There is a ground-floor suite that must be stunning in the warmer season. The views from the upstairs are spectacular. Overall, this was a good choice for our purpose, which was a romantic stop-over while en route to farther destinations. I'm not sure I'd spend longer unless I was looking for a do-nothing stay out of the way.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by SHIRLEY CAT

A very friendly B&B to provide warm hospitality

Posted Dec 31, 2012 on Hotels
The stay at the castle pretty nice. It has the amazing view at the top of mountain, it's worth to spare some time to walk around the area. The lord of the castle is a very very kind old lady. She was so care about our desire/expectation for the breakfast we were going to have. She would be pleased to introduce you the food she prepared you during breakfast and talk with you about everything like her castle's story and travel guidance. It's wonderful to be there feeling like living with family. There is also a lovely cat, also friendly. I would go back to visit my friends--the old lady and her cat if I go to Italy again;)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just a dream

Posted Aug 10, 2011 on Hotels
we were most happy to be guest in this beautiful house. just amazing...
5 out of 5
by Hans from Stoccarda

Eine kleine Reise in die Vergangenheit.

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Tausend Dank / "mille grazie" an die herzliche Erika la Viola ! Sie hat uns den Aufenthalt unvergesslich gemacht mit vielen Tipps zu lokalen Kultur und Küche. Das Anwesen und die Villa sind faszinierend und wunderschön. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt.
5 out of 5
by Philippe from Alsace

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Village touristique haut perché incroyable, maison de maître extraordinaire, accueil très chaleureux de la part de la propriétaire
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from München

Romantische Villa mit traumhaften Ausblick

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Familärer persönlicher Service
Sehr nette Gastgeberin Fr. Viola war sehr zuvorkommend auch Ihr Enkel hat uns sehr herzlich empfangen Das Frühstück war sehr reichhaltig und mit vielen landestypischen Spezialitäten z.B selbstgemachter Marmelade Das Zimmer war sehr gediegen und mit schönen alten Möbeln ausgestattet Traumhafter Ausblick auf den Lago Varese schöner Garten und eine sehr schöne Sonnenterasse viele Resturants fußläufig im Ort erreichbar ein rundherum gelungenes Wochenende Vielen herzlichen Dank an Fr. Viola und Ihrem Enkel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wie im Märchen

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Das Haus ist kein Hotel sondern ein Erlebnis. Nur 2 Zimmer, Einrichtung individuell (gemeinsames Bad, gut ausgestattet). Hoch am Berg (850 m), Blick ins Tal zum See von Varese, am Rande eines kleinen Wallfahrtortes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing building

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels
Extremely nice stay in a historic builing and garden, very forthcoming and flexible host.
5 out of 5
by jeremias from schweiz

HAMMER

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
die eigentümerin eine richtige italienische Mama, war freundlich und zuvorkommend mit einem herz aus purem gold. das zimmer und die lage waren sensationell.