Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in mountains

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Lovely hotel near Sacro Monte di Varese, lovely view and room. Staff are friendly, the only downside was the restaurant and bar were always closed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
beautiful views, but a bit remote and hotel very outdated in terms of interiors. good breakfast, although it would havw been nice to have more alternatives.
5 out of 5
by Derek from bromley

Super hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Super hotel, very good value for money, super staff, but did not meet the owner, who I think could have introduced himself to my wife and I. Area is stunning, with lots of walks etc. Only problem is the Wifi, or lack of it. There is supposed to be a connection!! Breakfast was adequate but limited, but at least there was English breakfast tea. We stayed in room 4, which was lovely, very comfy bed and good sitting areas. Bathroom good. Amazing views from balcony
4 out of 5
by Hossein Sean from San Francisco


Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Magnificent view of Varese, situated on top of the near by mountain in the Sacro Monte area. You would need a car to go up there of could take the bus. Has parking and it is a family run hotel, very nice people. Would stay again ...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel ancien

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pas de clim , frigo inefficace et toilette a l'étage , accueil froid , le prix n'est pas à la hauteur, on paye la vue ....
5 out of 5
by Peter from Bern

Merci für diese drei Tage ;)

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Reizvolles Hotelchen in einer schönen Umgebung ..zum erholen..aber nicht für ein langes bleiben ausgelegt. Gutes Essen und Natur geniessen.. Alle geben sich zudem Mühe.. Dennoch .. Varese, Milano sind nicht weit weg und eine tolle Ergänzung in unserem drei Tage Aufenthalt.
1 out of 5
by Christian from Lausanne

Bad, very bad hotel! Stay away!

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
Negative: The toilet of the room was wrapped with a "desinfected for you" paper ribbon, but not cleaned (dry urine everywhere) yeurk! (Later the hotel owner, who is also the cook at the restaurant, apologized for the dirty bathroom, but that's it, no drink offered, nothing. Other than this small accident the hotel room itself was ok, but the hotel description does not say that the bathroom is on a different floor and accessible through some very steep stairs. And it was so cold everywhere in this hotel (except in the restaurant), although the heating was set at the maximum. We felt cold in the hotel, in the room itself. Also, the food got us sick. Stay away from the food they serve!! The butter at the breakfast smelled like blue cheese and the evening before we ate at the restaurant downstairs, we went for a "discovery" menu, well, let's say that it was not to our taste at all. The only good dish was the one we tortelinis. They believe to serve you "nouvelle cuisine", but raw St-Jaques shell sliced with some vegetable powder (that smelled like food for fish) or the 0.5 dl lukewarm asian soup... we were not impressed and eating at the restaurant made our final bill 3x bigger as the night itself. (although we asked, we could not see the restaurant bill before the check out!! No signature, nothing! We were asked to check the restaurant bill at the check out only!) Also, do not use their electrical sockets! Our camera charger burnt in the room after 10 minutes plugged.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
- Exzellenter Service, sehr zuvorkommend - Das Angebot des Frühstücksbuffet war etwas entäuschend
5 out of 5
by Sue from Harolds Cross, Australia

Lovely small hotel ......

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay at Hotel Colonne exceeded our expectations, the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner and staff were delightful. The view was outstanding and our walk around the close by small village was lovely. Last but not least the quality of the food, sublime ..... My husband and I have been traveling around Italy for a month now and this small hotel has been the highlight so far ..... this will definitely be part of out next trip, however we will stay longer next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels
Accueil très chaleureux, convivial et parfait pour les gens qui ne parlent pas forçémment italien. Le staff est vraiment polyglotte. A conseiller pour le dépaysement et pour le cadre idyllique. Calme et repos garantis.