Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Overall good hotel. Room was tiny, but ok for the price. I did left my souvenirs there, and after I checked out I came back to recover, but they disappeared, but it doesn't seem like they purposefully did something. They probably thought they are trash!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Leonardo, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Hotel Amalia Vatican, We are sorry for the loss of the souvenier but it was a mistake , we will pay more attention to the management of the refused to not repeat the episode. Best regards Leonardo Hotel Amalia Vaticano
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Excellent location, dreadful details

Posted Jul 7, 2017
location is excellent. a short walk away from Vatican City and also from the metro station to go to colosseum, pantheon, fontana di trevti, etc. great for walking around rome. room was comfortable and large except for 3 important details: 1. A/C did NOT work. Really hot room. 2. Fridge did NOT work (we reported it, didn't get fixed). We bought a couple of beers and had to drink most of them being warm... 3. Shower drain did NOT work properly. Had to constantly stop water flow to prevent from flooding room. Small details make a huge difference. Has potential to be a GREAT hotel, but it is NOT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Leonardo, Hotel Management
We are sorry to read such a negative evaluation of the Hotel Amalia Vaticano. With regard to air-conditioning is in operation from the end of May and it works in every room, in every room there is a remote controll to turn on the air conditioning and increase the cooling, thank you very much for this information, very helpfull,we will inform better our guest about the use of air conditioning . Best regards Hotel Amalia Vaticano Leonardo
4 out of 5
by Carolyn

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Leonardo, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. Best regards Leonardo Hotel Amalia Vaticano
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Hotel is a walking distance to the Vatican

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Night staff duty should be more accomodating and helpful.
Location: There are nice shops in the area as well as restaurants.
Very clean and accessible to main attractions in Rome. Spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cyprus

Nice close to many shops

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and quiet. The decoration was fine. The condition of the hotel was very good.
Cons: The breakfast had the basics but could get Improved more. For example could include cheese, cornflakes, fruits.
Location: The location is great. The hotel is near by restaurants/tavern. It's near Vatican, tour operators, shops and metro.
I didn't expect that the hotel will be near to many shops/facilities. It has easy access to many directions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Good location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Young lad on reception was a great help . Good location . Breakfast not very good but good coffee
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

amalia stay

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
We got billed twice on city tax. Pd €24 upon arrival and upon departure the front desk insisted that we have not pd. He doesn't speak & understand English. It leaves us no choice but to pay another €21 because our shuttle service is already there. The location is close to St Peter's Square but the hotel is old & there are too many doors before you reach the room. I feel i'll be trapped if there is a fire.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Z

No clean the room , no response to room service,

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Room size
Cons: Service and breakfast
Location: Location is good
I do not recommend this hotel since no service at all, even did not clean my room, no response to service room calls, no instructions at the room, the room size is ok and was clean when I came in Breatast is very weak only ham and cheese no options
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Leonardo, Hotel Management
We regret the inconvenience, but during the work shift the maid found the room occupied therefore she could not clean it. Best regards Hotel Amalia Vaticano
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel near the Vatican

Posted Sep 25, 2016
We checked in early as we were coming from another hotel and we had timed reservation at the Vatican museum. They stored our luggage at reception, checked us in when the room was free and put our luggage in the room. Air conditioning works great, clean bed and shower. Shower stall has seen better days but worked regardless. Good continental breakfast. Nice staff and location. Can't beat that for the price we paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Leonardo, Hotel Management
Thank you very much. Best regards Hotel Amalia