Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Well-located Accomodation

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.
This is a great place to stay if you aren't planning to stay inside the room for a large portion of the day.It's located closeby the metro and of course the Vatican. The elevator within the B&B is fantastic since the location is on the 5th floor of the building.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Roma!

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was close to the Vatican & wonderful shopping & food & entertainment! The staff was very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from today florence it

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: convenient
Cons: breakfast was not provided. There were snacks and fruit put in the room and that was satisfactory but the name bed and breakfast is a misnomer.
Considering the budget we had to work within, this hotel provided all of the necessary requirements we needed including private bath, hair dryer, air conditioner, room safe and a lift. The fact that it is 1 block from the Vatican was a real plus. The complimentary breakfast is fresh fruit, packaged cookies, croissants, fresh coffee and assorted teas; this could use some improvement. It is convenient to the Metro rail system. The area has many good restaurants and souvenir shops. Angela was a major provider our needs and the desk staff provided us with directions. The room was small but adequate.
4 out of 5
by ANTHONY from edinburgh

Rome stay

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was pleasant enough but just basic
4 out of 5
by The Millers from Australia

Great location in Rome

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels
Fantastic location so close to St Peter's Square, Metro, Hop on Hop off Buses and plenty of restaurants. Mix up with the number of rooms booked still to sort out with Hotels.com and be aware of the 2 Euro per person per night government tax on top of your room price - this tourist tax is charged for every night that you stay in Rome. The apartment we stayed in was very clean and spacious and it is a quirky B&B where you are completely independent. We enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location close to the Vatican and buses

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: The Italian breakfast was wonderful. Spacious bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gigi & andy from QLD, Australia

Great place and convenient location

Posted Oct 1, 2013
We stayed at Ancient Romance in September 2013. I've never been to Rome before and when I walked in was quite amused at the reception. I think I expected more as I thought we were in somebody's home. But we were pleasantly surprised with our room. It was really great. Great bathroom as well and very comfy bed. The location is excellent! The staff were professional and were in contact with us before our arrival. Really a great place to stay at!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susan from San Diego, CA

Great location for visiting Vatican City

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: The location near the Vatican. Perfect for couples. Very reasonable price. (Cash payments are required.)
Cons: Easier coffeemaker?
Location: Walking distance to Vatican City. Great shopping opportunities.
Wish we could have stayed longer! The staff were extremely helpful and stored our luggage upon our arrival since our room wasn't ready and helped us get settled later that day. The location is PRIME for visiting Vatican City - short walk away with lots of restaurants nearby. Endless souvenir possibilities. There's even a 'flea market' of sorts near the "Sleeping Romance" units. GREAT DEALS. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. No street noise from our room. Things to keep in mind: shaky elevator, small shower, high-carb continental breakfast (pastries and cereals), and (for us) a very complicated coffee maker. There is a McCafe less than a block away which worked out perfectly. We needed airport service on departure and had a wonderful, prompt driver get us there right on time. Thank you, Ancient Romance, for a wonderful stay. We hope to be back one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lou from Seattle

good B&B close to Vatican.

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Very friendly staff. The only downside was for my elderly parents as the hotel's elevator does not go to 5th floor and entrance is on the sixth floor. Staff very helpful with arrangements, transfers and tips. Room comfort was okay as it took a while to get the room cooled down during a 100+ degree day in room. Shower was small but water flow/temp great. Good place for younger travelers on a budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Minneapolis

Right near Vatican.

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Staff didn't seem accustomed to dealing with the usual tourist issues. "Continental breakfast" needs revision.
Location: Vatican and restaurants. Metro 2 blocks away.
Family of 5 slept comfortably. Nice location to tour Vatican. Near subway station. Less expensive accommodations but adequate. Staff was very peripheral but sincere. Locally recommended restaurant ("Isola") conned us into a 45 euro appetizer. Continental breakfast was some meat and cheese plus some prefab croussants. We did have an espresso machine, though, and my daughter made some delicious lattes with the coffee pods provided.