Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to the Vatican

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Cons: The bathroom was very beautiful but it was difficult to shower in the tub. It was hard to get in and out of and the bottom of the tub was not flat
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Smart phone provided by the hotel was very useful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Fantastic staff, Amenities & Location!

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Location, room quality
Cons: Gym, a king bed instead of two doubles.
Location: You can walk tot he Vatican and all of downtown. We also walked to the Colosseum - even though it was a good walk ~ 1.5 miles/ 2 Kilometers.
Staff was wonderful, Hotel is beautiful. Would have liked a better Gym, but it was adequate. Really nice location. No complaints (and we are picky).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Great amenities, great food, great staff, wonderful rooms. Very good Location near the Vatican and not far away from Trastevre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Beautiful villas in prime location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: The people
Location: Right near everything!
The management at this hotel was exceptional and made for an incredible experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Office was very helpful with a booking error made

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Cooperation by office.
Office was very helpful with a booking error I made. Long story, but I will stay at this hotel next time I am in Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delraybeach fla

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Was great , love the location and how friendly every one was
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Quiet Luxury

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Ambience, decor, facilities, room and breakfast (yummy ricotta and salmon)
Cons: no need for continual muzak pool side.
Location: Very close to Castello d'Angelo, Vatican City and a 15 minute walk to Via del Corso/ Piazza del Popolo.
Excellent location, although within walking distance of most sites, it feels like a little oasis in the middle of a hectic city. Very pleasant staff, helpful yet not obtrusive. Had an excellent room, spacious, clean, modern, all the amenities you could want, all with a view of the gardens. Noticed a few 'irks'on other sites regarding breakfast and the added extra's if you want more than the buffet. You don't need anymore than the buffet, there is plenty of choice and it's delicious: fruits, cereals, sweet pastries, breads, yoghurts, hams, cheeses, salmon, eggs, waffles, donuts, fresh fruit juices - oh and prosecco. Swimming pool was lovely - plenty of space and sun loungers. Contemporary yet comfortable feel to the place. Liked the uniforms the staff wore in the morning. My only little grumble would be the pool side music - I'm not sure it could be anyone's taste. It was so tranquil there was no need for the piped 'muzak'. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Relaxation at its best

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Staff, facilities, location, resturant options.
Cons: Nothing of note.
Location: Easy walking to Vatican and central Rome. Locally there are lots of things to do and see. We love the local shopping around Campo di Fiori.
Great location and great staff. Only stayed for one night but will be back. Easy walking distance to central Rome. Pool and spa provided a great way to relax after sight seeing, and shopping. Room was available even though we arrived early. Staff were very attentive to make our stay perfect. The junior suite had all the amenities we needed and justifies its 5 star rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackburn, Lancashire

When in Rome...

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Upon arrival, we were greeted by a concierge (Roberta) who was extremely attentive. She arranged for our luggage to be taken to the room, and we were seated in the poolside lounge with complimentary glasses of prosecco. The location of the hotel was perfect - a stone's throw from The Vatican City and The Tiber. The food and drink within this five-star hotel was, perhaps understandably, extremely expensive. After days of walking many kilometres sightseeing and taking in the culture, the excellent pool and facilities provided luxurious respite!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Nice stay, good location. Lights and electrics didn't work properly in the bedroom. But room beautifully clean and made up
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Maria Ansalone , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing our our Luxury Urban Resort and for time taken in sharing your feelings about. We are pleased to realize how much you enjoyed our location and facilities, besides the great professionalism of our staff. In reference to the room's lighting, please be informed that our Maintenance department periodically checks all the rooms in order to keep them perfectly functioning for our guests. If any inconvenience occurs, we are always at the guests' disposal to promplty intervene and sort it out. We are already expecting you to come back to Gran Meliá Rome to keep enjoying the Eternal City. Kindest Regards,