Ratings based on 714 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Close to Vatican and other places of interest

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: It's location, cleanliness, and the restaurant was good
Location: Within walking distance to the Vatican. Hop on & off buses etc.
We enjoyed our stay at Ciceroni and booked tours & taxi's through the hotel All very convenient
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

The only interesting thing is the location.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Reported a malfunctioning fridge, and 3 light bulbs over 4 burnt in washroom, never repaired during my stay. First floor is in very bad shape inside and outside room. Toilet dripping, shower and faucets corroded, exhaust fan not working, Carpet so dirty and worn out, and hard to see outside window glasses very dirt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Hotel Cicerone, Rome.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: A total refurbish of the rooms.
Location: Ideally located for those visiting the Vatican and surrounding sights
The Hotel staff are very helpful and a happy crew. The lifts in our end of the hotel had only one working for the week we spent there. The hotel rooms could use a complete refurbish. Our bathroom had black mould in the bath/shower area and water damage to the door. The carpet in the hallways had seen better days and needs replacing. The wallpaper in our room was lifting from the walls and in places was dirty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This hotel advertises free wifi, but we were only able to connect on a rare occasion. Most of the time we needed to sit in the lobby for wifi. Even then the internet did not always work. This was very frustrating as we were trying to plan our time in Rome. We had no real concerns other than that. It's an average hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rome

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: location only.
Cons: Service at the reception and Wi Fi.
The hotel staff at the reception was not friendly at all. The room was on the 8th floor and the lift stopped at the 7th floor. No tea and coffee in the room. No ironing facilities in the room. I had to pay over £25 for the ironing to be done. The air conditioner was set at one position and was not able to turn up or down. On 2 days the room service did not leave any soap in the toilet. The Wi-Fi was hopeless. It only worked in the lobby of the hotel. There windows in the room was so high up just to let the light in. Unable to see the view. Not a good experience at all. When I tried to extend the stay due to my wife's illness the receptionist tried to charge a completely a higher different rate for the same room. When we need some medical attention the receptionist at the other end was talking about the cost rather than the support that van be offered. A disappointing visit. Only plus point of the whole stay was the location of the hotel which was central to most of the attractions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome

Perfectly located hotel for exploring Rome

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Hotel was in a good location but a lot of noise late at night inside the hotel. One account of knocking on the door at 3am. No help desk and reception didn't come across to helpful. Toilets was clean but everywhere else was very dusty through out the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Time to upgrade

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Cicerone is in a wonderful location so near to shops, ristoranti, and the Vatican. Warm and friendly staff with your interests at heart. Unfortunately, as with all things, the hotel is showing its age and is in need of a renovation. While the price is right, a good refresh is necessary to continue to compete with private rentals and other similarly situated hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Great location. Wifi was hard to come by but overall was perfect for what we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge,Louisiana

Great location, very helpful staff

Posted Jul 2, 2017
10 minutes walk to the Vatican and very close to other main attractions. Good quality. Exceptional staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff seemed put out by every question

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Breakfast included was awful. Hotel staff seemed annoyed when we had questions and provided wrong or conflicting information on more than one occasion