Ratings based on 1,226 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

close to vatican city

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: wifi signal and speed and breakfast menu
well located, friendly staff and willing to help. however the wifi signal is very bad, sometimes it does not work and if the signal works it is weak, even the wifi signal is deficient in the hotel lobby. The other bad thing is that you have to create an account with your email to access the wifi signal. The other bad thing is the breakfast buffet, the selection is poor and little varied, you have no choice of hot dishes only limited to cereal, bread, hard-boiled egg, jams, cakes, coffee, orange juice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017
wonderful hotel and location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Charming Hotel near Saint Peter

Posted Oct 23, 2017
This is my second time at this hotel. I love the conviinience off being so close to everything. The charm of this place is it’s history. Needs some updating but it is clean and the staff is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by E.B., Hotel Management
Dear Mercedes, thank you first for having shared your experience with our Hotel. We are delighted that your stay has been positive and that you have appreciated the warm welcome and your stay by us. I will be grateful to share your review with all our great staff. Thanking you for the time you have devoted to us, in the hope of welcoming you as soon as possible in the near future, we cordially welcome you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2017
The staff was really helpful. Margarita who check us in was wonderful. Gave us recommendations for places to see and places to eat. The hotel is wonderful really close to the Vatican and transportation. We book again on this hotel on our next visit.
5 out of 5
by Dominic

Love this hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous location, lovely hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Altendorf, Switzerland

The old monastery near Vatican City

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: The location was great for us, 100 meters to walk to hear the Popes Sunday Blessing!
The old Monastery, not flamboyant, but with a simple elagance. The stall was friendly and helpful. Free parking in Rome is hard to find, Hotel Columbus has it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water..no discount?

Posted Oct 8, 2017
We had no hot water for an entire day and no discount was offered. After a long day of traveling, that was very inconvenient. I realize that problems happen, but to not offer a discount is unacceptable. Broken light that had a stand that was ready to break off at any moment. Called maintenance, but lamp never fixed.
5 out of 5
by Jenny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by judith w

Happy Happy Happy!

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
This was a perfect choice for our stay in Rome. Two blocks from the Vatican, wonderful food, charming ambiance, staff was very helpful. This is a 500 year old monastery converted to a hotel. Our room was a suite, very large. Stunned us when we walked in! Only complaint was that there was a bathtub with a hand held shower to rinse, no overhead holder. Awkward. I would return in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and very friendly

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent help and advice given. Very helpful and friendly with allowing us to leave the car in the car park even though we had checked out. The hotel was right outside the Vatican City so it was possible to miss long queues for the basilica. Make sure you leave plenty of time to get to the local eateries early to avoid being told you can only have salad or pizza.