Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle,WA

Great location and nice room

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We had a nice experience at this hotel. The location is great a few blocks from the Vatican. It was easy to walk to all the sights. There is also a bus that stops very close by to the train station. The hotel was clean and nice looking inside and the rooms were the same. We had an issue where the floor of our room which is a wall to wall plastic mat type surface was wet and the room smelled like wet carpet when we arrived. I told they staff and we left to go check out some sights. When we returned it was dry and the room smelled better. Thanks to the staff for being responsive but I can give 5 stars for this reason. The breakfast was nice with lots of fresh fruit available and a coffee drink of your choice. The staff was friendly and provided some visit planning info when we arrived. I'd consider staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Carl, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your gracious review of Hotel La Rovere. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad that we were able to make it as comfortable as possible for you. We look forward to welcoming you back and are very thankful that you chose us for your Roman holidays. A big Arrivederci from all the staff. All the best, Carl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich

Beautiful hotel, great location

Posted Jul 26, 2017
This is a beautiful little hotel, located really close to the Vatican and St Peters basilica; and a short walk from most of central Rome. Spotlessly clean, lovely room, and excellent breakfast. Staff very helpful, but I was a little baffled when asking for an iron to be told I have to iron downstairs and can't have it in my room! I would thoroughly recommend to anyone heading to see the sights of Rome
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Carl, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your gracious review of Hotel La Rovere. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad that we were able to make it as comfortable as possible for you. We look forward to welcoming you back and are very thankful that you chose us for your Roman holidays. A big Arrivederci from all the staff. All the best, Carl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
A beautiful little hotel, in easy walking distance of everything. And the staff were always helpful and friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Carl, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your gracious review of Hotel La Rovere. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad that we were able to make it as comfortable as possible for you. We look forward to welcoming you back and are very thankful that you chose us for your Roman holidays. A big Arrivederci from all the staff. All the best, Carl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel is lovely -the staff friendly and helpful, a thoughtful touch is the provision of iced tea and pastries for guests to enjoy on their return
Location: Close to Trastevere for restaurants and bars and the Vatican for culture- take a walk up the Giancolo Hill behind the hotel for beautiful views.
Wonderful trip to Rome - lots of sightseeing in this fantastic city - the hotel is handily placed for the Vatican/St Peters and also the pop-up summer city on the banks of the Tiber - lots of nice bars/restaurants not forgetting all those in nearby Trastevere. Remember to book online for the Vatican, Forum and the Villa Borghese - well worth it for walking past the queues!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by Carl, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your gracious review of Hotel La Rovere. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad that we were able to make it as comfortable as possible for you. We look forward to welcoming you back and are very thankful that you chose us for your Roman holidays. A big Arrivederci from all the staff. All the best, Carl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Nice hotel, good location to vatican & trastavere

Posted May 21, 2017
Really enjoyed our holiday, food good, location & weather was just right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Carl, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your generous review of our property and thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We hope you choose to come back on your next trip to Rome. Best Regards, Carl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley California

Location, Excellent staffs, Hotel cleaned/nice

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Location, Staffs, Cleanliness/Nice
Cons: Everything is good.
Location: Location is good near Vatican and other tourist attractions.
The staffs gave us excellent service and very helpful on arranging the tour and knowledgeable when we asked questions about the location and other things that we have asked for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Carl, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your generous review of our property and thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We hope you choose to come back on your next trip to Rome. Best Regards, Carl
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but not great

Posted May 9, 2017
Very stylish room with a great location. Their bed is two twins combined with a large seam in the middle making sleeping in the middle uncomfortable. The staff at check in was great. The staff at check out required payment for all fees, drinks, and taxes to be paid in cash despite the fact he had just swiped my card for the room cost. He was so adamant that he couldn't take card he delayed us getting to our Uber driver by 15 minutes and had to get another one. He was very angry throughout the process. Unfortunate that such a great place and great stay was ended on a bad note.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Carl, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very happy that your time with us was enjoyable and that our staff was able to make your stay a good one. Your comments and opinions are very important for us, we will do our best to provide better service in the future. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had at the time of your check-out. Best Regards and safe travels, Carl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Good location for walking to everywhere.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: As above
Location: Easy walk to Vatican, pantheon, trevi fountain, Spanish steps. Stop for hop on hop bus very close by.
Nice clean hotel. Friendly staff, very helpful. Good continental breakfast. Complementary pastries and tea in the bar in the afternoon. and complementary water in fridge in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Carl, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very happy that your time with us was enjoyable and that our staff was able to make your stay a good one. Best Regards and safe travels, Carl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

I'm POSITIVE you won't find a better hotel, fab!!

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Location - away from hustle and bustle but near enough to many fabulous sites, breakfast, view from third floor landing balcony, staff, ambiance,
Cons: There is nothing I can think of.
Location: Near to Vatican sites, Castel Sant Angelo and eateries, walks along the Tiber, river cruise.
From the minute we stepped inside, our overall impression was that it was a friendly, attractive and well maintained hotel. We could not fault the impeccable service received from the staff, but especially have to mention the staff originating from the Philippines - whom we especially thank for their helpfulness, courteousness and pleasantness. The elder gentleman who served us drinks in the evening was very charming, and we often shared a joke or two. It is a hotel we would be very happy to return to in the future. The excellent breakfast surpassed our expectations and there was something there for every taste. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless - many thanks to the cleaners whom we never saw, but had magically transformed our room and bathroom before our return from a long day sightseeing. There were complementary pastries and tea/coffee available late afternoon at the bar. We cannot speak highly enough, for us, the hotel made our holiday. We will be back!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Carl, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your generous review of our property and thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We hope you choose to come back on your next trip to Rome. Best Regards, Carl
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor value/price

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Room, location, hotel, food, etc. are all fine. However, not in line at all with cost. E.g. it's a fine hotel but poor from price/value perspective.