Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

ROBBED!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
What a shame. Arrived at the Monserrato 154 apartment for check in and we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful member of staff. The location was fantastic as were the condition of the apartment. However, We were then told we had to pay 30 EUROS for a cleaning fee that covered the duration of our stay. This I found unusual but I obliged... BIG MISTAKE! NO CLEAN TOWELS. NO FRESH BEDDING. NO TOILET ROLL REPLENISHMENT. All made worse by a lack of response from the hotel when we tried to contact them via phone & email. Disgraceful and utterly unexceptable to charge additional costs for a service that you are NOT going to provide or have the decency to reply to our attempts to contact you on this issue! Shame on you and I only hope that others don't get conned out of money in the future.
3 out of 5
by Kimberly

Good but Follow-up Service was lacking

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
I would have rated this place much better but ran into some instances that were never fixed. Upon arriving they only had a double room ready for us even though I paid for a triple room. We said it was fine and took the double room, no reimbursement was provided. I emailed 3 different times asking for the difference and received no response. Our second, and larger issue was with the keys. We were given a set of keys that gave us access to the outside of the building, outside of the apartment, and to our room. The key that allowed us to enter the apartment did not work... and we discovered this on our way back in. We were locked outside for some time before another guest let us in using their key. We had to stay inside the apartment until the next afternoon until the receptionist came back and gave us a key that worked. I included this in the email about the room and never got a response. Basically we had to share a queen sized bed with 3 people AND were locked outside and trapped until the reception came.... no reimbursement provided. They would not even reply to my email. Besides these issues, I really liked the place. It was clean, the shared kitchen was a nice feature, and everything seemed really clean. Keep in mind that you must pay the VAT upon arrival. The apartment was a little bit far from the nearest Metro (Lepanto) but it was a nice stroll and nice neighborhood. If they resolved my issue I would give this place 4.5 stars.
4 out of 5
by Daniela

Great location, no-frills loft

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location on Via di Monserrato; bed was actually a "California king"- sized mattress in the loft; stairs to loft very steep and narrow; kitchenette functional but few dishes provided (one mug/cup only); good clothes washer; no microwave; no direct access to courtyard; only one set of keys provided; overall good value for young/or athletic people. Strongest point is location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Absolutely terrible

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Close to the Vatican Very close to metro station
Cons: Full Renovation
Location: All kind of shops
The accommodation was terrible and literally the worst thing about our holiday in Rome! It's an old dated apartment that's in an awful condition as well. At the building entrance you can see rats setting comfortably! Bathroom had no lock, no continuous hot water as the heater is an old version gas one. Microwave wasn't working! Kettle was dirty and broken! Cups mostly broken. Not enough bed linen and the beddings itself were terribly dirty! The flat was cold at night but we couldn't turn the heating on as it was broken! There is no cleaning so this is not a hotel service by any means, in addition there is a 30 Euro charge to clean for the next customer!! It doesn't look anything like the pictures and were truly shocked by the condition of the flat and quiet surprised that Expedia would accept to market such a horrible accommodation!!
5 out of 5
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

will come back again

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
its a great place to stay for a traveller
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Room was nice but there were many other problems. We came early before our scheduled check in time and no one was at the hotel. There is no front desk and we had to be let in by a resident in the building because no one answered the phones. It took us over 30 minutes after calling Hotels.com to get ahold of someone. I think that their staff should prepare for guests arriving 30-45 minutes before check-in. Additionally, guests have to walk down the hallway to use the bathroom. The walls are paper thin - a woman walked into my room and said she was sleeping when I was talking quietly with my parents on the phone at 10pm.
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Excellent location

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly owner (Gabriele), good value.
Cons: A couple of extra pillows may be needed by some guests.
Location: Walking distance from all central Rome destinations. Next to the river and near a stairway taking you down to the river bank.
We were recommended Mellini 39 by relatives who had stayed here, for its excellent location (everywhere was within walking distance),and were not disappointed. Booking was easy, and although we arrived a little earlier than we anticipated, the owner came round very promptly and helped us settle in. The self-catering kitchen was no trouble, and one of the other residents told us about a supermarket round the corner in via Cola di Rienzo about 10 minutes' walk away, and we were able to get what we needed there. The room and bed were comfortable, although the mattress was very firm and people may want to ask for a couple of extra pillows. We appreciated the en suite bathroom.
3 out of 5
by Ross from Canada

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Not bad. But bring your own bath soap and shampoo if you plan to stay longer than 2 days.