Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dudley

Great location.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Super location, quiet and authentic. Very clean bedding and towels.
Cons: Shower head kept drooping.
Location: Very close to Vatican City, and within walking distance of all landmarks, great for sightseeing.
Stayed at the Sotto il Sole di Roma for two nights in March, having been used to English hotels at first it was a bit different, but I have to say it has a definite charm, it feels as though you are staying in someone's apartment who isn't there. It adds to the feeling that you are in Rome. Mario was very accommodating with breakfast delicious. The location is a short stroll from Vatican city and all the landmarks are within walking distance (Trevi fountain, Collosseum). With a map provided by Raul finding the sites was great fun. I would genuinely recommend this B&B for its unique qualities.
5 out of 5
by Nina

Gem of a hotel in Rome!

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
We contacted Raul at the hotel ahead of our arrival to let him know the time we would be there. He was there to check us in and greeted us like old friends. We arrived at 11:30am and were able to check in early but he offered for us to leave our bags there if the room had not been. He gave us a free map of Rome and very kindly plotted different routes to the sights. Room was lovely - plenty of space for our 3 night stay and enough wardrobe space. The bathroom was very nice - compact with large sink area, toilet, bidet and spacious shower cubicle. There were soaps and individual sachets of shampoo and shower gel in there too. The bed was very comfortable (2 singles together which is the case for most hotels in the area) and felt like memory foam mattresses. We had one pillow each but placed the spare blanket underneath to prop them up a bit more (personal preference) - the next day the maid had kindly left 2 more pillows on the bed. Breakfast was good considering they were only catering for 6 rooms! Each morning there was fresh cappuccino, juice, fresh croissants (some stuffed with vanilla cream or chocolate), melba toast, jams, nutella, sliced bread, cheese and salami. One morning there was a delicious cake too! Everything tasted of good quality, and Mario looked after us very well. Location was excellent - lovely and quiet in a good neighbourhood. We walked everywhere - the furthest sight was the colloseum which was a 45 minute stroll. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Ebookers
The staff is amazing. All of them are very polite and the attention is excellent. Stuffs that should be improved: - breakfast - airconditioner (it was very noisy)
5 out of 5
by Amy from Minnesota

Very lovely B&B

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
The people who the Bed & Breakfast are great. Very nice to deal. The room was very clean and very nice. They offered breakfast which was great.
5 out of 5
by Joanne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zagreb, Croatia

Walking distance to all important sights

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Comfortable room and bathroom. Very kind staff. Excellent location. Will come again. A room not very big, but ideal for who is sightseeing all day long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Good Value, Great Location

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Good price, good location
Stayed here for 6 nights with husband and 2 children (girls 10 and 12). Stayed in triple room. Location was easy 10 minute walk to Vatican and 20-25 minute walk to Spanish Steps/various fountains. Many good and low cost restaurants within 2-5 minutes of hotel. Room has a safe and water pressure and wifi are good. Breakfast is very simple, coffee, milk, cheese, ham, toast, sweet breads. Hotel made arrangements for driver to and from airport (50 Euro each way). Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bulkington warwickshire

nice hotel very close to the vatican

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: clean, tidy,comfortable, quite,and the owner could not have been any more helpful,he even got us tickets to bypass the queue for the vatican
Cons: maybe more choice for breakfast,we had continental there was no other option,even so what we had was ok
Location: located within 250mts of the vatican,surrounded by bars restaurants shops and market
the short stay in rome was made better by the position of our hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent B&B 10 min walk from historical centre!

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms; Big decent sized; Secure location; AC working great!
Cons: EUR 3.50 of city tax was charged when it mentions EUR 3 on expedia and other websites - perhaps information can be updated in time.
Location: 5 mins walk away from Castle S'Angelo and 10 mins walk away from Historical city centre. Its easily accessible by the metro -10 mins walk from Lepanto
Raul was very welcoming and room was excellent value for money. Breakfast was to the point and overall we had an amazing experience! Would definitely recommend this place to others and would stay here again in the future!
4 out of 5
by Angela from Dallas

Great place to rest in the Eternal City

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel (B&B) is located close to the Vatican and Castel Sant'Angelo but is well within walking distance to the sights on the other side of the river. We walked all over Rome (with two small children) and used the hotel as our home base. The neighborhood felt safe and cozy. We were out all day sightseeing so we didn't spend much time here, but check in/out was very easy and our room was comfortable. Raul contacted us prior to our arrival with helpful info, he arranged a car to pick us up at the airport, gave us helpful hints on some of his favorite spots, and made sure we were comfortable. There is breakfast every morning, but we missed it both mornings - once because jet lag kept us in bed until 10:30 and the next because we had to check out at 7 am to catch a train to Napoli. I originally chose this because it's hard to find reasonable accommodations for a family of 4. We will be back next time we come to Rome.