Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Bread and Breakfast.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: privacy
Great place to stay. Helpful staff. Location was directly across the street from Vatican City wall, and access to Vatican City entrance was just a 20 minute walk away. Restaurants within walking distance, as well as grocery store. Missed not having a microwave or small fridge option though, as it seems they expect guests to meals (other than breakfast) out in restaurants. Otherwise, a very enjoyable place to stay. Am planning on staying there again on my next visit to Vatican City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

A 25 Minute Walk to the Main entrance of Vatican

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Be prepared to use stairs, if you are on the 3rd floor and to share bathroom. We had to wait outside for a while. Staff don't start till 8:00. I was told it was only 8 minute walk to the Vatican. Darlene was very nice and professional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

B&B opposite Vatican Gardens

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: For a cheap 2 night stay in Rome it was good enough. Easy to find from nearest Metro station. Convenient for St. Peter's Basilica and Vatican Museum.
Cons: We spent 2 nights, each night in a different room. Poor booking control.
Breakfast is prepared in the narrow corridor and served in your room or the garden. Place is good for an undemanding couple who are more interested in sightseeing than resting in a hotel. There is an excellent gelateria half way between B&B and Metro.
2 out of 5
by Jonathan from Sheffield

One member of staff knew what they were doing

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Lets start with the positives - the location is great. However I cannot recommend this hotel. Despite notifying the hotel when I was arriving (they contacted to ask me), when I arrived there was no one to check us in (at 2pm). The phone numbers listed on the gate were disconnected, except for one. Stranded outside we ended up in the garden of the proprietor for the building and eventually someone vaguely connected to the building let us in. This person apparently did not work for the hotel but had access to keys and took our money, without providing any receipt. On returning to the hotel, we went to the gate for 'Vatican Garden House' and could not gain access to the building. Again we phoned the number that worked, only to be told that the member of staff would 'try' to get to us in 20 minutes. When she arrived she treated us like idiots for going through the wrong door (which could have easily been resolved over the phone).The following morning we were expecting breakfast which never arrived. It was only by being opportunistic that we were able to find the helpful morning member of staff who apologised profusely and made us a special breakfast, she also agreed to accommodate us by preparing breakfast earlier for our day of departure so we could eat before leaving. So if you like hanging around next to a wall for over an hour and spending money on international calls then this is the place for you. However I will be going elsewhere when I next return to Rome
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Hilly location, bit grimy

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Well, its a budget hotel, so go with lower expectations. It seems a bit like a converted apartment, there's some shared facilities, so be careful to book ensuite. Quite modern but a bit tired and mould in the shower, cleaning cloth just left in the middle of the table, suspicious stains on scatter cushions.... Bed very comfy and a good base for the Vatican, however quite a walk from everything else. Its on a hill and you have to walk up and round the walls to find it. Lots of stories about not being able to get in as no 24 hr reception, but they did stay and wait for me so I was lucky..another man was complaining at me about being charged for a night when he couldn't get in, I explained I didn't work there. Also there isn't a dining room and it was cold... Breakfast is not really worth having there, save your money and have breakfast out, there are many options, you're in Rome. It was ok for a couple of nights, and when we worked out the metro, but wouldn't go back there. Try and stay nearer the train station would be my advice unless you like hills!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BASIC BUT GREAT VALUE

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
It is a great location. The Vatican is right there. The people really look after you well. It is like a dorm room with white IKEA type furniture. Tv did not work. Could use a mirror in the room and a little night table. It is a shared bathroom but it was clean and a good size. It is safe. It was a single room so was fine for a 2 night stay. Room was in good condition and clean.
3 out of 5
by Vidya from Washington, D.C.

ROME

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
The B&B was lovely, and the staff was very friendly, and our stay enjoyable. The room was spacious and the pictures online do not do it justice. However, the shower was a problem, backing-up, while the curtain clings to you, which was a bit annoying. Though having the Vatican across the road made up for it! The location of this B&B was the best as everything was in walking distance, the metro, grocery stores, restaurants, and shops.
4 out of 5
by Jie Yee from Singapore

a day stay at vatican guest house

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
The guest house is near to vatican city. The furnishing of the room is very modern. It is also spacious which makes it more comfortable for the stay. However, we are not use to the lock of the wooden door and spent an hour trying to open the door as there is no one in the house. Do find out the way to unlock the door before heading out. There is no reception at the guest house. They emailed us to check with us what time we would arrive so that they could wait for us at the house. Polite and good service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
The room and bathroom were very clean and very modern. Breakfast was delivered to the room (croissants, juice and coffee). The location is almost silent, being next to the walls of the Vatican. About 10/15 minute walk to restaurants and the entrance to St Peter's and the Vatican Museums. 10 minute walk from Cipro metro and 20 minute walk to St Pietro train station - we got the train from the airport to that station. Ricardo and David were very polite and helpful. This is an apartment. The owners allowed us to leave our luggage at the apartment on our last day as we had a late flight and didn't want to have to drag our case around Rome. They charged 10 Euros for this - in my view, worth it given the alternative. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by william from Pittsburgh,PA.

Don"t go here, not worth it....

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
We arrived at 6;45 in the evening, there was no one there to let us in. Our phones would not work there, had to ask neighbors to call,to get someone to let us in. The room is dusty,dirt & hair under the bed, T V didn't work the first night, A C didn't work the second day..The bathroom cup, for drinking, was metal and filthy ,we wiped everything down with "Lysol"to be safe...Please don't go there,they just want you money.....