Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2015
The location was good but we misread the map and got off at the wrong SNCF station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Dated charm

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Small, quaint hotel within reasonable walk to city center needs room renovation. Paint doesn't cover all the problems and sound from adjacent rooms carries through very easily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England.

Typical French independent small hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Overall atmosphere and access to garden. Cleanliness of room and other areas.
Cons: A hairdryer in the rooms would be good.
Location: Handily located for central Avignon provided you can walk a fair distance. Avignon is a beautiful town and reasonably compact.
Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The building was old style provencal with a calm and relaxing atmosphere. The garden access was a bonus and we had a room opening onto the garden which was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was perfectly adequate and especially nice when the weather permitted it to be taken outside. It should be noted that there are no restaurants close by and a walk into Avignon centre (about 15 minutes) is required for meals.There is a supermarket within 5 minutes walk in opposite direction. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Good location, lovely gardens

Posted May 8, 2015
The hotel had a convenient location, just a couple of blocks to walk to Avignon & we didn't have to pay for parking. We could park on the street for free in front of the hotel. The hotel has a lovely courtyard, with attractive foliage, but we weren't impressed with our room. It was dark and the bare minimum in attractive decor. It has paper thin walls, so we could hear people next door. They definitely need to improve the lighting in the room and bathroom at night. It was subpar. I didn't care to spend anytime in our room, except for sleeping. The price seemed pretty reasonable, but I wouldn't choose to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kallista, Melbourne, Australia

Avignon, Provence, France.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, blended in with old buildings, lovely sunny garden for breakfast
Location: Good location within walking distance of Avignon walled city, Pope's palace, gardens and bridges across River Rhone. Nice outdoor eating places.
3 night stay in delightful little bed and breakfast hotel. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Breakfast delicious and plentiful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unreliable, unethical and negligent.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: customer service reliability ethics
After a long day travelling across the country by train I found my way to this rather shabby looking Hotel. I climbed 3 flights of stairs only to be informed by the hotel clerk that my booking had been cancelled. I was perplexed and showed him my Expedia confirmation email, which specifies that the booking cannot be cancelled and does not need to be confirmed. He just shrugged and told me there was nothing they could do and that it was Expedia's fault. Despite having written confirmation of the booking I found myself without a room! I was able to find an alternative hotel which was only 50 metres away and in the end a much better place to stay. I was lucky in the sense that I'd arrived in daylight and had the chance to find somewhere to stay. I can't imagine how things might have been if i had arrived later in the evening or during a particularly busy period. As a traveller you need to have confidence that you have accommodation organised in advance. This hotel reneged on its obligation and commitment. Furthermore there was no apologies or even evidence of concern. I have reported them to Expedia and strongly advise everybody against booking with them. A hotel like this has no place in the tourism industry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chantal from London

Lovely slightly eccentric hotel.

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Decor, (traditional antiques, tasteful,) quiet, lack of fuss. The garden is a boon after a hot day, so best for summer stays.
Cons: Bathrooms are minimal, if functional. Breakfast a little disappointing.
Location: Five minutes walk from Gare Central, two minutes walk from the walls of Avignon and 15 minutes from the Palais des Papes.
Just outside the walls of Avignon, next to rows of ultra modern, characterless hotels, THIS hotel has lots of character. Minimum service, so not for those seeking luxury, but very lovely decoration and furniture in the rooms, and very quiet. Best are the rooms looking over the garden, especially rooms 1,2 and 3. Extremly good value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Nice location but would not recommend

Posted Jul 9, 2013
The location was great and the price is pretty good but everything else was lacking. The rooms are quite old. My room did not have a bathroom door. It had a curtain to divide the bedroom from the bathroom. The curtain was dirty and not very hygienic. The beds are not comfortable, the tv was miniscule, and there was no fridge or safe. To be fair though the price was quite low so maybe it's not reasonable for me to expect some of those hotel extras. I have read in other reviews that the staff can be rude. That was my initial perception as well but as I got to know them I think there limited English makes them come off as rude. The staff was actually quite nice. I would not stay again. I think it would be worth paying a little extra in this case for more comfort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bobbie from Adelaide SA, Australia

Avignon sleepover

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: Quiet, convenient location for a one night stay.
Cons: 8 Euros extra for breakfast
Location: Just off main road - outside city wall - handy to train and TGV shuttle stop.
Very handy to train station and bus station - with only a short walk along the road to each. Outside city wall but not inconveniently so. In a quiet little street between main road and railway line. Typical little 2 star hotel. We were a bit surprised to find that breakfast was not included, the first hotel in all our travels to exclude it from the tariff. Most conveniently the TGV shuttle stops on the main road only metres from the hotel. Not an ultra flash hotel but we had a comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michel from Gatineau, QC, Canada

Good hôtel--lovely garden

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Pros: The garden
Cons: None
Location: Not to far from the Main Street where at the end you have le Palais des Papes and le Pont d'Avignon.
Staff is very polite. Breakfast is good with everything fresh. Close to sncf center, not tgv. The garden outside is lovely, where you can sit and unwind from a day of visiting. Even though they close at 7:30pm, you have a code and that is fine with me.