Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

great hosts! had a great time!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Sabine and her husband were excellent! they turned a less than desirable situation (no hot water over a long weekend - no plumber!) into a fantastic experience at their other hotel property. really appreciate their thoughtfulness and their hospitality!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very cramped hotel in Avignon

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location was good
Cons: A bit of attention to the decor and some personality by staff
Location: Avignon is good place to use as base for western parts of Provence.
The internet flatters this hotel. It is totally impersonal and small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by patrick, Hotel Management
On your arrival you were not happy to be on the ground floor with view to the small street although this is exactly what you have reserved, the economic studio. The size of the studio with the large walk in shower is 18m2 and herewith above the standards of 3* rooms of the same category. We would recommend to customers who would like to have a living room and who travel with a lot of bagages to reserve one of our one bedroom apartments or the duplex for some euros more. Aparently you enjoyed the kitchentte as you could save some money by making the meals yourself instead of going to the restaurant all the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - quiet yet close

Posted Oct 11, 2016
On our arrival, we had difficulty finding parking & finding our way into the city where needed. On top of this we did not count on the drive from Arles to take 3 hours (lots of traffic and a wacky GPS route) so we arrive late and harried. Sabine was kind enough to wait for us about an hour. She greeted us kindly and efficiently. House rules a clear. The apartment is near everything. We loved going to The Halles market in the morning for cafe & croissants; and for picnic supplies for the day's outings. Because we thoroughly enjoy the Roman Antiquities present in the area, it was helpful to live in a town full of them plus a short drive from Pont Gard. Nimes & Orange are also within day-trip distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by sabine, Hotel Management
We are glad to know that you consider our guesthouse an ideal base for discovering Avignon & Provence and thank you very much for choosing us for your recent stay and also for sharing your impressions regarding our services, location and staff ! We wish you the best and hope to welcome you for your next trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

A nice hotel next to the very centre of Avignon.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The friendliness and attention to detail by the owner and staff. They were always helpful, and clearly wanted to make our holiday enjoyable,
Cons: Nothing
Location: All of the main attractions, the Popes Palace for instance, were within easy walking distance from the hotel. as were the cafes and restaurants.
My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 14 days. We could come and go at any time, which left us free to explore the city and Provence in our own time, making decisions from day to day. We could lunch in our hotel room if we were tired from visits, with fresh food bought from local shops, just like at home. This helped make it a very relaxing holiday. The room was provided with everything necessary and was immaculately clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by sabine, Hotel Management
We are glad to know that you consider our guesthouse (not an hotel)an ideal base for discovering Avignon & Provence and thank you very much for choosing us for your recent stay and also for sharing your impressions regarding our services, location and staff ! What could we add? . We do not need to propose a palace to make our guests happy.
5 out of 5
by Alex

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Janine from Perth, WA

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Wifi free but slow. Owners very helpful and easy walking distance to sightseeing. Be careful when driving a car into the town, some of the streets aren't wide enough to fit a car and as a visitor its hard to know which streeys these are.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted you had such a pleasant experience of Autour du Petit Paradis and thank you for sharing it with other travellers. Especially the fact that the old city center of Avignon with its small medieval streets is not made for cars. So it is very important to read through our welcome mail which contains a lot of precious informations to prepare your stay in Avignon. You can also read the best itinerary (there are several of course) and even which street to avoid.
5 out of 5
by James from Bedford

City Break in Avignon

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Really friendly place, lots to do. Plenty of squares to sit andcenjoy tge relaxing at,islhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review Autour du Petit Paradis. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and thank you for your compliments. Your support is very much appreciated. We very much hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It is difficult to respond to anonymous ratings with no review but we would like to thank this customer for having shared his appreciation. We always aim to please though also to understand and adapt to the requirements of each guest. You are all very special to us and often become more like friends than guests alone. From your rating of 5 out of 5 we understand that you were able to enjoy your time whilst staying with us and hope to welcome you back to your new home in South of France in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A welcoming host, a convenient location

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a convenient location to explore Avignon. The host is welcoming and covers all information needed to enjoy the city The kitchenette provides a chance to enjoy some fresh produce from the nearby market The narrow steep stairs to the top floors are a hazard for anyone less mobile
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
The location of our house is a real benefit, as you mentioned. We are located a few meters walk from the daily food market and the pedestrian area. There is an array of high end eateries and typical bistrots within a short distance form the house and we are glad you could take advantage of these during your time with us after your 1 week hiking tour through Luberon. With 3 from 5 rating you are far below our average and we were extremely surprised and disappointed to learn that we had not lived up to your expectations. Our 17th century old building is not equipped with an elevator as idicated in the description. We have 3 appartments on the ground floor and we always invite the customers to specify if there are special needs or wishes for a ground floor apartment and if possible we try to arrange. If you have told us, which was not the case, it would have been a pleasure to prepare the ground floor studio for you. We really do hope that you will consider trying again as we are very confident that we can provide you with the same experience and level of comfort that a majority of our guests are very willing to attest to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Great little boutique hotel.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Really nice place. Hostess was nice and provided a map of the city with some instructions on where things were. You can quickly walk to everything from here. Nothing in the Avignon city walls is more than a 5 or 10 min walk from here. The room was beautiful, clean. Nice little sitting garden. Really good place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Sabine, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a fabulous review of your stay at Autour du Petit Paradis. It certainly sounds like you had an exceptional experience and thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We very much appreciate your kind compliments and recommendation, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back as a returning guest very soon.