Ratings based on 925 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, close to railway station and town.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Its location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great location. Went to Popes Palace, lovely place to see. Quaint little streets off the main street. The Festival had just started when we went.
Lovely room, we booked a superior room which had a separate sitting room so very comfy. Nice and quiet at the rear of the hotel. Very close to the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston, England

Perfect for exploring Avignon

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location and rooms
Location: Avignon is steeped in history and beautiful architecture and the surrounding area is perfect for exploring
The hotel is a perfect base for exploring Avignon, it's located five minutes walk from the railway station and just outside the medieval city walls. It is a short walk to the centre of the city and all of the places of interest and you can get almost anywhere via the railway station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Modern, spacious hotel, just outside City Walls

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Easy to find just outside City Walls parking and rail station close by. All Avignon attractions and its charming historical streets a short walk away. Friendly, low key staff, nice outside seating area, free wifi, nice spacious room and bathroom. Good air conditioning. Great selection of places to eat close by. Also went on wonderful day trip in our rental car out to Isle de La Sorgue then up into Luberon/Mount Vaucluse/Saut/Apt to see Lavender fields and Mountains - all doable in a half day drive. Couer restaurant a couple of hundred yards away excellent outdoor dining experience. Loved Avignon and the surrounding area and the hotel. No complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

hotel close to train station

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Convenient location , close to the train station and 15 minutes walk to the city centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, spacious, with great location

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location, spaciousness, friendliness
Cons: Nothing
Stayed here for the 2nd time and the hotel did not disappoint. Nice, spacious, modern hotel located across the street from entrance to the old city. Clean, large rooms. Very friendly staff. Walkable to all the sites in Avignon. Unless you want old world charm in the center of the old city, this is a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Wonderful hotel close to Avignon old city walls

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Very spacious and clean rooms and helpful staff
Cons: Allow children to wear tshirts in the pool during hot periods!
Location: Wonderful central location. VIsit Palais de Papes and Pont Avignon. The land train was also great. The amphitheater in Niemes is a must
Thanks to Expedia's great offers we found ourselves in the Avignon Grand Hotel not quite knowing what to expect but we were not disappointed. The rooms were so spacious and clean. The roof top pool was also great with plenty of sun loungers to relax. We are not quite sure why hotel staff asked our children to take their t.shirts off while in the pool (it was 38degrees and they were wearing them to protect them from the sun) We had stayed out of the midday heat but it was still very hot later on in the afternoon. Staff were very polite and always ready to help. We did not eat at the hotel as there were so many lovely places to eat in Avignon itself. We also did not have breakfast as it was rather expensive for what was on offer - but the train station next door had a really good bakery so we went there to get our breakfast to eat on our balcony! Will definitely use Expedia again and would love to go back to Avignon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Great hotel convenient for railway station and Avignon town. Quiet rooms on garden side, small rooftop pool, no shade so very hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alnwick, Northumberland

A Grand Hotel indeed near City Walls of Avignon

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Staff, location and room
Cons: Readier & quicker access to a plumber
Location: Walking distance from railway station and overlooking city walls. Easy access to Marseille by train, Orange and Pont du Gard by mini-bus tour
Staff professional, friendly and helpful; room very comfortable and clean; location ideal being just 50 m from railway station and overlooking city walls. Sole reason for a run of "5's" was a drain smell and lac k of access to a plumber. Staff immediately offered a room change but with just 36 hours to go the prospect of changing rooms was more inconvenient than the smell which could be mitigated by opening door to peaceful garden.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Avignon city walls

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Hotel maintenance.
Location: Lots of things to see and do, often within walking distance
Hotel location is excellent. Hotel is not well maintained. It was very hot at the time of our stay which was great but unfortunatley, the airconditioning in our room worked only for 1 day out of the 5 nights we stayed which unfortunately ruined it for us. We flagged this with hotel staff, and we were informed that it would be fixed. That evening we were given a fan. We were also told that the air con may not work as well when its too hot outside! The kettle did not work properly in the room. The breakfast was quite expensive for what they provided. While the location was excellent, I dont think this hotel currently merits a 4 star rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to the train station

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Check in time was 4pm which I think is way too late.