Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach, Florida

This hotel doesn't live up to the ratings

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Based on Michelin and Relais and Chateau's ratings we expected more from this three day stay. The facilities are dated and the room cleanliness is disappointing. The WiFi connection was non existent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Classic chateau - step back in time!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Classic architecture, furnishings, friendly helpful manager, unique experience
Cons: Directions are a little difficult to find this gem. Stand-up showers would be beneficial.
This stately chateau serves as a beautiful base for exploring the area of Avignon and Chateauneuf-de-Pape. Quiet and unhurried, it is quite a departure from the bustle of hotels in the big cities. If you want to truly feel like you are living in a authentic chateau (not just visiting one of the many touristy Chateaus) then this hotel will fit the bill - do not expect room service, air-tight doors, pristine decorating, elevators, etc. but do expect a real experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A retreat

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice establishment, a hidden gem, easy access with car and GPS
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Llaguna Beach,CA

We never wanted to leave

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Sylvie and here husband treat you like family. The property is lovely and the rooms make you feel like you have stepped back into the Renaissance. So peaceful, we never slept so well. Really close to Avignon, a must see and to Chateaunuf du Papa too. Just an all around great location and wonderful place to stay. Also, you have full reign over the property. My wife and I would find a nice place in the garden or pool and drink one of our wine purchases from the day. Hope to be back soon.
5 out of 5
by Yves from Irvine

Old castle and quite fun.

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Old castle. Quite fun.
5 out of 5
by Laura from San Jose

Perfection

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
We LOVED this chateau! The staff are friendly, the breakfast was good, the grounds were lovely, and the room was cozy. It was close to Avignon but far enough to be outside of the hustle and bustle of the city. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Perfect French countryside stay

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Location: We explored Avignon for one day, and Châteauneuf-du-Pape for the other (wine tasting!).
We love being out in the country for our time in Avignon/Chateauneuf-du-Pape. Château de Varenne was the perfect reprieve from our more urban travels, and the rooms were so beautiful. The whole grounds seemingly serve to relax you — we had a big tub, there is a pool, breakfast is hyper-local and delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful atmosphere

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The staff were superb
Cons: Better bedside lamps and coffee making in the rooms
Location: A superb location for wine lovers in breathtaking countryside
The breakfast and presentation was quite superb as well as unique. The decor beautiful and we loved the little twist to it all. The staff couldn't do enough for us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place, to cone back to

Posted Sep 4, 2015
great place, great setting, peaceful @ quiet, looking forward to coming back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Nice Chateau close to the wine district

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Our first stay in a Chateau and would not mind to do that again. Nicely refurbished, friendly staff but no restaurant in the hotel or near by.