Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: elevator
Cons: elevator
Location: perfect
Very good the only problem is that elevator is needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Solihull

Fantastique!!!

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Staying here has been one of my happiest holiday experiences. Wonderful friendly owners Olivier and Ludovic and their team make you feel so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. Even lugging my very heavy case upstairs and down -there is no lift but the stairs are not steep and are manageable. Excellent buffet breakfast with a good range of options including delicious locally (almost next door) produced fruit juices and jams. Rooms are clean, cool and comfortable. No hot drinks facilities in the rooms but a minibar fridge with good range of reasonably priced drinks. A pleasant walk across the bridge in to Avignon or a slightly more taxing one in the heat to Villeneuve dez Avignon but also good bus services only 1€30 for as many journeys as you can make within an hour. Drivers are friendly and helpful. I was welcomed on to every bus I stepped on to and wished au revoir when I got off most of them. A tip if you are arriving by TGV: if your luggage is manageable, don't bother with taxis. They are few and far between and I waited 40 minutes for one (but my case was extremely heavy and I thought it would be easier).Take the local train from the Gare TGV to the Gare Centrale. The fare is included in your TGV ticket. Then walk across the road to the bus station and take either the number 5, 16 or 40 to the hotel. You want to get off at the stop called General Leclerc. 1€30 in total as opposed to about 18€ in a taxi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Decent location but...

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Terrible rooms in a grubby hotel. It all seems so dated and in desperate need of improvement and quite a lot of it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Budget hotel in decent location.

Posted Aug 6, 2015
This is a budget hotel with facilities to match. The rooms are small and very basically furnished. There is air-con but it is very noisy. It's location is ok - a fifteen minute walk across the Rhone to the historic centre of Avignon which is both fascinating and beautiful. The one member of staff we encountered could not have been more friendly and helpful - a credit to the organisation offering many tips and advice about our city visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, California

It's a long way from everything!

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: The carpet was dated, maybe a larger TV?
Location: Avignon and Villeneuve de Avignon have to be one of the most beautiful places on this earth! There is great architecture and history.
I picked this hotel because it had decent reviews and looked close to both Avignon and town center Villeneuve de Avignon, unfortunately it was a 20+ minute walk. This wouldn't have been bad but after walking all day, coming back to the hotel to change for dinner it was just too far to go and have a nice dinner. One night I ended up eating at the pizza place next door, great pizza and a super nice family that owns the place. If you had a car it'd be great to be able to get around. The staff was friendly and helpful!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Too small, inconvenient, no views

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Front staff, Olivier, was helpful when present.
Cons: Provide better rooms when not fully booked.
Location: Looks good but is not.
This hotel is weak. Rooms are small. Location looks good on the river but most rooms have no view at all. Staff leaves at 8:30 and you have no assistance. Don't do it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Close to Avignon

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: clean, friendly and convenient
Location:
Hotel is on river with great view of Avignon. It is a 15 minute walk to the center of the city. The hotel has a very nice patio area on top with great views of the city and the river.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel overlooking the river

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Overnight stay. Nice room with balcony overlooking the river. Short walk across the bridge to the main city. Basic breakfast but nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good value, walkable to Avignon.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Outside impressions may not be the best but this was a great overnight hotel for Avignon. Perfectly situated for a 10-15 minute walk into the city, the hotel staff were really helpful and friendly with good English. Unfortunately we arrived in rain so couldn't check out the rooftop bar. Great bakery just up the road which we used for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE PLACE TO STAY FOR THE MONEY.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff and price of the rooms!
Cons: Update the rooms...the bed was very FIRM and fix the mold smell in the bathroom! Also, replace the older air conditioning units.
Location: Seafood restaurant just below the hotel...bakery up the street and of course the city of Avignon!
The professional pictures look much better than the hotel room. The rooms are outdated and my room smelled like a lot of carpet fresh was used to cover up a moldy smell coming from the bathroom. This hotel did have a wall unit air conditioner, which other hotels we stayed did not have any type of air conditioning. Although, my air conditioning unit froze up, after turning the unit off for a few hours the unit would work. The hotel staff were FABULOUS and very helpful! The hotel is on the outside of the city walls and the walk from the hotel into the city walls was approximately 15 minutes, depending how fast you walk. They did serve a small breakfast, which is not worth the money they charge you...save your money and take a short walk up the street to this fabulous bakery for breakfast. When making arrangements to stay here, pay more money and ask for the deluxe room. My room was overlooking the river and the other side of the hotel rooms face the train tracks.