Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
37% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Why does Expedia even list this hotel?

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing, the hotel is rundown and even dirty.
Cons: Customer service! They should at least try to treat their customers as guests, they definitely do not understand that "hospitality" is their business!
Location: The location is the only good thing I can say about this hotel
There are much better choices in Avignon for a similar price, both in terms of accommodations and ESPECIALLY customer service - the staff is RUDE and simply DO NOT CARE about their guests! We arrived at the hotel at around 7:00 PM on a Friday. A somewhat friendly employee at the front desk told us we had no reservation! And that the hotel was completely full and we simply had to find another hotel where to stay. So I showed him our Expedia pre-paid reservation for two nights. He told me his Manager was the one in care of reservations, called him and he arrived a few minutes later. The Manager barely speaks any English, was VERY RUDE from the start even though I was very calm and courteous, and insisted we simply had to find another hotel in which to stay. He admitted that they made a mistake but showed no sympathy or concern at all for our situation thanks to this mistake, and never offered anything even resembling an apology! When I told them we no longer wanted to stay at this hotel even if he could find a room for us and only wanted to make sure I was going to get a full refund for my prepaid stay, he simply offhandedly said he would contact Expedia the next day and walked out of the hotel, leaving us with the clerk. After several hours in the lobby while trying to solve the problem thru Expedia's support, we had to find a much more expensive hotel far from the center of Avignon because all other options were booked, and pay an 80 Euro taxi fare to get there.
1 out of 5
by Mourad from London

Nightmare room N:8

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
The worst hotel. I couldn't sleep, the room felt like a prison. The shower damaged.
2 out of 5
by Hyunsook from Seoul

Not comfortable.

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
I had no choice but this hotel. I want a room within the wall and nearby the station. Great location but no wonder for room availability. No air conditioning and many mosquito bites. Be prepared! staffs were kind and friendly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Dirty hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Very thorough cleaning and management who cared.
Location: A great location within the charming old walled city of Avignon, in walking distance of most tourist attractions.
We booked at this place for 2 nights. After moving in we realised how dirty the floor and bathroom were but were too tired to consider moving. In the morning I confronted the manager who initially denied the place was dirty. We had cleaned 3 sections of the bathroom and bedroom floor and wiped up with toilet paper so I presented him with these disgusting piles! I told him that, at the room rate, old was OK, basic appointments is OK, but there is no excuse for dirty! Manager then offered to not charge us for the night. We would not stay the second night so had already arranged to move to another hotel within 50 metres which at a similar price was delightful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Basic room close to Centre station

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: A/C
Truly a two star hotel, a basic room no A/C, in a good area for sights and transit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I was reminded of George Orwell.

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Atmosphere, staff, a few good bars/cafes next door and towards the station
Cons: Wifi didn't work
Location: Google it :)
A charming 2 star hotel close to the main sights and the Avignon central station for onward journeys. Staff were friendly. The staircase winds its way up to the rooms evoking the Paris of George Orwell's experiences. I took the stairs to the top floor room I had, never the 2-man lift. I loved it and will go back on my home.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: in the center of Avignon, walking distance to restaurants, stores and points of interest
Cons: A/C or fans could be added. replacing windows with double panes for better noise insulation. curtains around tubs for showering
Location: main street of avignon walking distance to palais des papes, famous bridge, rocher des Dom etc...
Terrible on a hot summer night as you have to leave the windows open in order to breath but the noise keeps you up all night....
3 out of 5
by U L from london

location is great

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
no complaints just a bit noisy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cleanness

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Cleanness is not good and the bed covers. They need to take care of it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels