Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario,canada

Great location,staff, clean

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: Close and easy walk to all sites in the old city. Info centre within 5 minute walk. Right on Main Street for main shopping area .Great wine tours etc
. Real Comfortable bed, very clean, location near train station 5 minutes.This Historical building well maintained. Very roomy .excellent staff. there was a few mosquitos, screens on widows would make it for a good night sleep.we left windows closed after first nite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mosquitoes inhabiting Rooms

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Hotel is beautiful and at the Heart of Avignon with only 10 minutes walk to Train Station.
Cons: We were a party of 4 staying in two rooms and all suffered multiple mosquito bites. Even with windows closed - I believe they were entering through the Heating and Ventilation Ductwork Grilles within the Bedrooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel in a great location.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The staff were all very friendly. The hotel had a pleasant, calm ambience.
Cons: There was nothing I would complain about, I was very happy with the hotel.
Location: We could walk to the river and all parts of the old town easily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Good timing

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: It was quiet in this season, and spacious.
Cons: Crockery instead of paper cups, and more tea, coffee, milk.
This was one of the offers available via Eurostar, and it was excellent: I stayed for 5 nights, and being in October it was a very good rate. The location is perfect, just 5 minutes' walk from the station, and the Reception staff were very pleasant and spoke good English. My room was in the new section and was (in total) about 40 foot long and 10 foot wide, with larger double bed, large desk, sofa, two easy chairs, large TV, coffee tables, lamps, sliding front glass wall and private veranda with dining table and chairs overlooking, via louvres, the internal garden. Also a bathroom with bath and shower, and a separate room with the WC. Because of the season there were few guests and it was very quiet- which was what I wanted. The breakfast was well worth having - 15 euro extra in my case but with a large range of items and far cheaper than eating outside. The room was cleaned and the bed made up daily, with fresh toiletries. A small negative - paper cups instead of crockery, and a small amount of tea/coffee/milk, but enough for me so no big problem. All in all, an excellent experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Convenient central location, historical setting.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Well appointed comfortable room, free wifi. Efficient staff. Excellent restaurant food.
Cons: Nothing I didn't like, but I didn't use all options/facilities
Location: Close to rail and bus station and near centre of town for easy walking access to places of interest, restaurants, shops.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Does not merit four stars.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: The historic building and courtyard are aesthetically very pleasing.
Cons: See above.
Location: The location is convenient for the train station. The important historic buildings of the city are a long walk away.
The "superior" room that we paid for was spartan. The heat was turned off even though we were there during a cold spell. The shower over the tub was almost impossible to use without drenching the floor, and there was no grab bar. The hotel is not suitable for handicapped guests as the rooms have to be accessed via short staircases and the only toilets accessible from the public areas also require negotiating stairs. The electrical outlets in the bedrooms are inadequate, and the hotel could not provide multi-outlet adaptors. We thought the charges of 15 Euros for a small glass of champagne at brunch, and 15 Euros for an hour extension to the check-out time, were excessive. We were advised to reserve a table for Sunday brunch at 12:30 as the earlier options were taken, but when we arrived much of the buffet selection was depleted. The reception desk was typically staffed by a single employee, who had to deal with phone calls as well as a long line of guests wishing to check in or out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Like sleeping in a shipping container

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Courtyard and lobby
Cons: This can only be fixed by a tear down and rebuild.
Location: Centrally located, but didn't feel like a refuge for relaxation after a long day
Though the courtyard and lobby of the hotel are outstanding, the rooms were so uninspiring, we left one day early even though we had another pre-paid night. It colored our stay in Avignon in a negative way. Avoid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Usa

Historic hotel in city center

Posted Aug 4, 2016
This is a charming historical building in the middle of everything to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming large hotel in old cloister

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Room interiors are modern but building is a lovely old cloister and it's a quiet setting with an elegant restaurant although we did not eat there. The pool is great. Small but in a lovely rooftop setting with flowers, nice ambiance. Location right near train station .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford

Ideal hotel for Avignon

Posted Jun 1, 2016
This hotel is ideal for a trip to Avignon. It is a quite peaceful place to rest after walking all day. It is also near the station which is a plus when you arrive. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent.