Ratings based on 680 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Does not merit four stars.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: The historic building and courtyard are aesthetically very pleasing.
Cons: See above.
Location: The location is convenient for the train station. The important historic buildings of the city are a long walk away.
The "superior" room that we paid for was spartan. The heat was turned off even though we were there during a cold spell. The shower over the tub was almost impossible to use without drenching the floor, and there was no grab bar. The hotel is not suitable for handicapped guests as the rooms have to be accessed via short staircases and the only toilets accessible from the public areas also require negotiating stairs. The electrical outlets in the bedrooms are inadequate, and the hotel could not provide multi-outlet adaptors. We thought the charges of 15 Euros for a small glass of champagne at brunch, and 15 Euros for an hour extension to the check-out time, were excessive. We were advised to reserve a table for Sunday brunch at 12:30 as the earlier options were taken, but when we arrived much of the buffet selection was depleted. The reception desk was typically staffed by a single employee, who had to deal with phone calls as well as a long line of guests wishing to check in or out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Like sleeping in a shipping container

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Courtyard and lobby
Cons: This can only be fixed by a tear down and rebuild.
Location: Centrally located, but didn't feel like a refuge for relaxation after a long day
Though the courtyard and lobby of the hotel are outstanding, the rooms were so uninspiring, we left one day early even though we had another pre-paid night. It colored our stay in Avignon in a negative way. Avoid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Le Perreux sur Marne

très bel endroit avec une histoire

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Location: près de la gare, intra-muros Avignon, restaurants à proximité etc
Trois nuits sur place. Hôtel très international. clientèle select. très bel endroit chargé d'histoire, bien placé en Avignon la première nuitée j'ai eu une chambre bruyante donnant sur une ruelle et entrée de parking. le lendemain on m'a donné une autre chambre en duplex, très calme. les plus : les pierres anciennes, la déco des parties communes, le confort de la literie, l'espace disponible dans les chambres, les écrans Tv, le charme de la deuxième chambre, l'accueil du personnel à la réception de manière générale, mais particulièrement lors de mon check-in de mon check-out et en nuit), le parking sur place les moins : la traversée de la cour entre le parking et la réception sur de la terre poussiéreuse (salissures des valises et des chaussures), le personnel de ménage qui a du mal à sourire, et se priorise l'utilisation de l'ascenseur, l'ascenseur trop unique et lent, ma première chambre trop bruyante qui ne m'a pas permis de dormir correctement, le petit déjeuner n'est pas à la hauteur de cet établissement (pas assez de réassort, manque de diversité, manque de personnel présent pour débarrasser les tables et effectuer les réassorts correctement)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Usa

Historic hotel in city center

Posted Aug 4, 2016
This is a charming historical building in the middle of everything to see.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

기대가 너무 컸나?

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
홈페이지에 게시된 사진과 달라 많이 실망했다. 추가로 구입한 건물을 재개발한 객실은 창 하나 없는 가건물 복도로 연결되어 있어 완전 찜통이었고, 걸어가는 내내 삐걱거리는 소리는 엄청 불안하게 했다. 객실까지 반층 정도 계단이 되어 있어 짐을 들어올리고 내리는 것도 힘들었고, 욕실 샤워부스에는 칸막이가 제대로 안되어 있어 한번 샤워하고 나면 완전 물바다가 되어 앉아서 샤워해야 했다. 직원들은 전체적으로 고압적이고, 불친절했으며, 영어가 능숙하지 못했다.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
nett, freundlich, relaxed, gutes Restaurant, schöner Garten, manchmal morgens/abends etwas lauter wegen Restaurantbetrieb für Gäste oder wenn Gäste im Garten sehr lange Sitzen bleiben
5 out of 5
by Mathias from Bremen

Stadtoase im Koster

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
sehr schönes Hotel, freundlicher Service, sehr günstige Lage, sehr gutes Restaurant, wunderbarer Garten im Innenhof, manchmal etwas laut im Innenhof, da dort auch Restaurantbetrieb (Hotelpersonal löst das aber charmant)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming large hotel in old cloister

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Room interiors are modern but building is a lovely old cloister and it's a quiet setting with an elegant restaurant although we did not eat there. The pool is great. Small but in a lovely rooftop setting with flowers, nice ambiance. Location right near train station .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Requested room in old part overlooking courtyard got room in new part built out of portacabin style units that were comfortable apart from a shower over the bath that was fixed almost horizontal and a veranda locked in by shutters. Not to mention a lift that was open to full sunshine and got stuck with four poor occupants for over half an hour. The bar while signed does not exist and you have to chase someone out of the kitchen to serve you if they fail to run away when they see you coming. The car park is a dust bowl so don't expect to come away without finding a car wash. For a four star hotel charging these prices there are some improvements they could make without too much effort.
5 out of 5
by Edwin from Ann Arbor

A charming hotel, but...

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel on a quiet side street. An old monastery made into a modern hotel. The garden where you could have dinner or a drink was lovely, and the food good. My only complaint: we had made a non-refundable booking, but were unable to check-in for the first day of our stay because of the train strike. Our hotel in Lyon had been quite understanding and permitted us, on 24 hrs. notice, to revise our reservation to arrive a day later. This hotel held us to the letter of our agreement, even though we gave them two days notice that we would arrive a day late. Legally correct, I suppose, but not good public relations.