Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Intimate and Lovely

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Cons: The restaurant, highly-rated, is overwrought. The food, while good, does not quite rise to the level of the elaborate service, presentation and price
Location: One can fall out of the hotel into the papal palace and the scenic park at the top of the rock. The city is a good base for seeing Nimes and Arles.
The hotel is a beautifully renovated and maintained small palace, literally in the shadow of the papal palace. We had a particularly lovely room (26) overlooking a courtyard. The rooms are comfortable, pretty (lots of florals) and up to date. The public rooms, including an enclosed court and a library-style space, are very nice for tea or a drink. The staff is both competent and very nice. All in all, a very well-managed property in a charming city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing Experience!

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Everything - staff, decor, location, our room. Whenever we return to Avignon, and we will, we will stay here; no other hotel could possible compare.
Cons: The elevator was out the day we were there, but the staff was very helpful and very apologetic.
Location: Directly across the street from the Palais des Papes and very close to the Pont D'Avignon. Not too far from the Marche les Halles and flea market.
We were only at the hotel for one night, but what an amazing experience! The hotel itself was gorgeous: the lobby, the lounge and restaurant, and the garden were all beautiful. The staff was incredibly friendly. Our room was lovely and the bathroom was immense! The little things made all the difference; being able to get the New York Times in the morning was a nice surprise, as were the fruit and marshmallows waiting for us in the room when we checked in. The hotel is close to a small square with quaint bakery. We bought a bunch of pastries and had them with the hotel's delicious coffee for a perfect breakfast. We recommend this hotel without hesitation. It is on the pricier side, but worth every Euro!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Francis L., Hotel Management
Dear Sir, We thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us. We are glad to read that your experience was very positive in general. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely, Francis Lacoste Resident Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Delightful

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Wotif
A very pretty hotel with a delightful restaurant. However interiors are a little worn and food a little dated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Quaint and cozy hotel with old world charm! Conveniently located to all and still maintaining privacy from the crowds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chic!

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing, magical, elegant place
5 out of 5
by Tina from Southlake

Best in Avignon

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Best hotel to stay in Avignon. Staying there was an experience in itself. The rooms were decorated beautifully and richly in traditional fashion. It feels like you're a private guest at a mansion. Fantastic location right behind the pope's palace.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Arnold from Goult, France

A disappointing experience.

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
We booked the hotel and had dinner there as well to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I called reception prior to our arrival to mention our special day... no response, no acknowledgement of any kind while in the hotel. We had to ask to change rooms to get a view of the gardens and the Palais des Papes, great view of the Palais, bad view of a garden largely unattended and unkempt. We wont stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Disappointment

Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
We have been staying at this hotel often and have always been impressed by the food in the main restaurant. Indeed this was why we went there on this occasion. The evening meal we had on Christmas Eve was not nearly as good as meals we have had in the past. We had to return the fish course as it had been severely over cooked. A disappointing visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobart

A perfect hotel in an historic setting

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: At La Mirande the hotel guest really is the centre of attention and concern.
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Visit the Palais des Papes, eat at local cafes, enjoy a walk along the Rhone, dance on the bridge at Avignon.
From the moment were greeted by the doorman until we were farewelled by the receptionist our stay at La Mirande was wonderful. Everyone was friendly and helpful without being intrusive or overbearing. The hotel facilities were fantastic, our room furnished with local antiques, a well equipped bathroom with a good, deep bath, separate toilet and bidet and a window overlooking the Palais de Papes. Our breakfasts were hearty and our dinner in the hotel restaurant gave us a genuine taste of French haute-cuisine.