Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Super underwhelming - look elsewhere for the price

Posted Jun 10, 2017
This isn't the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, but it's certainly one of the worst four star hotels I've ever stayed in. The lobby was modern looking and everything seemed promising when we checked in, but as soon as we got off the elevator the carpet was stained and faded all the way to our room (gross). There was also a weird smell lingering that we could never identify. In our actual room it was more of the same - grungy carpet, outdated, old/musty smell. I will give Novotel credit for renovating the bathroom area, which had a decent shower and sink; they also had a pretty fast wifi connection. However aside from those positives, the room was not a place you wanted to be, other than just sleeping. I was shocked that so many reviews I read had been in favor of this hotel. Also, as others mention, although it explicitly states on certain Expedia reservation confirmations that breakfast is included, it isn't - and they are not at all understanding or accommodating even when you show them that proof in writing. (The person at the front desk basically had a "well, that's too bad" attitude when I showed her the confirmation email. You're not even going to try to make it right with the customer? It wasn't my error, after all...) As for location, it is of course very convenient if you are spending a few days in Avignon or taking day trips from there. However, there are many other hotels and I personally wish that I had picked another.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm desert , ca

Very nice hotel. Centrally located to ev.thing

Posted May 21, 2017
Great walking to historic downtown Modern pretty hotel with great pool area , good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph, ON, Canada

Convenient, modern, great stay

Posted May 16, 2017
A modern hotel with all amenities, but just across the street from the ancient city ramparts. An easy walk to all of the Avignon sites. Easy parking, if you are driving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Nice hotel close to town centre

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Only stayed one night but because of its proximity we were able to see most of the sites
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No AC no Vantilation and no service on breafast

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Well i rarely put low review but this time i had no choice. Room: no AC and No Vantilation. The room is facing the sun and it was very hot in the room. They told me that they will start the Ac in a couple of weeks. So we opened the window and had the light and the noise and the train noise. Breakfast: one employe was working alone. Service was not good and the food was most empty. More attention is needed for details in this hotel. Will try the north next time, maybe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Bad Hotel...

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The staff were nice and friendly
Cons: Getting the smell of smoke out of the room
Location: Wonderful Avignon, so beautiful and the surrounding area is amazing!
Not a bad hotel, but the smell of residual smoke in the room was a bit annoying. Everything was 'fine', but I think I'd stay somewhere else as I reckon there's better places in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reliable Novotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Orbitz
It is a typical Novotel. Not fancy but clean, comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Novotel, comfortable, quiet, convenient

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very spacious. The breakfast was good. The staff was very helpful, loaning us a scissors and providing some first aid lotion. They also helped us with restaurants and provided other useful information. It is a great location to stroll the old part of Avignon. The Novotel is located just outside the old city wall, but it is preferable than staying inside the walls where there is a of of noise and can get a bit rowdy. It is easy access to the surrounding parts of Provence for touring. A great launching pad to pursue many interests. A good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Lovely position.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Really lovely and safe and close to every thing. Would return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent. Overnight stop, wished we could have stayed longer.