Ratings based on 1,198 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter, Ontario

Monte Carlo in Vaughan - good place!

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: - Clean - Friendly staff
Location: - Walmart around the corner if you forgot something - Close to York University - About a 15 minute drive to Downsview Station to take the subway
A nice, clean hotel, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was not overly large (we had a kingsize bed) but definitely adequate for our short stay; the bathroom was very clean. A continental breakfast was included and consisted of pastries, dry cereal, juice, coffee and tea; and fruit salad. The wait staff were very friendly. Parking was ample. There is not much in the immediate vicinity, but we were just looking for a place to stay while in Toronto for Chinese New Year so we were busy elsewhere. Easily accessible from Highway 400, and well marked and easy to find.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barrie

Room smelled of smoke

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Its average, cheap
Room smelled like smoke. Very disappointing. Complained but it was late and when offered a room change we declined. It was 11 pm and my wife had surgery the next morning at 6:30. It smelled all night and I told the morning staff and they said it happens some times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jan 23, 2017
This hotel has a variety of rooms availible. I have stayed here 3 times on various occasions, staff is always friendly and helpful. No complaints. Rooms are average and a decent value for the area. I would recommend this hotel for someone looking for affordable accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgina, Ontario

Staff was wonderful!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Staff was very helpful, quick and willing to go the extra mile. I was down for a couple of days for a business course and had everything I needed at the hotel.. Everything was within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Great hotel!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Great location, very clean, comfy beds with lots of pillows! Staff were friendly don't have one bad thing to say about this hotel. Highly recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably The Worst Hotel Stay I've Ever Had

Posted Jan 21, 2017
We arrived at the hotel and checked in without any real complications. The desk staff wasn't overly friendly but wasn't necessarily rude either. We went up to the room and found the phone ringing; It was the front desk saying we had to go back down to have our card put on for incidentals. Which is fine, I understand it's necessary but after a long travel, it was annoying to have to go back down. The bathroom was dirty. There was sanitized note on the toilet lid but the toilet seat itself had something like a waxy vasaline all over the seat. There was brown/red stain droplets on the bathroom floor, door and walls. The room itself appeared clean but behind the end table (while looking for a plug) had trash behind it (juice box wrappers and general dirt). A bump into the heater/AC unit revealed the air filter had not been cleaned in quite some time. It was thickly caked with dirt, dust and hair. We received breakfast vouchers upon check-in stating there was a "semi-warm" buffet available. We arrived in the restaurant in the middle of the availability hours, sat down and waited for service that never came. Another patron said he just served himself at the buffet, gesturing to an area that did not have any hot items (fruit, cereal, yogurt, etc). We just left. At the desk during checkout, the clerk was far from friendly and simply just handed me the receipt. I stood there for a moment unsure if we were through as she did not say anything. After a bit she said we had finished
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Hotel it's self was great. Staff was great. Breakfast was not great. Even ordered the hot breakfast for extra money and was a waste only ate there once ending up eating out for the rest of my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Whitby, Ont.

Couples Getaway, Shopping Weekend!

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff and free continental breakfast.
Cons: Overall room decor is a bit dated.
Location: Great location, (400 & 407) between IKEA and Vaughan Mills Mall. Great restaurants, movie theatres, comedy club, shopping all within 5 min.
The Monte Carlo Inn Vaughan is located right at the 400 and 407 interchange. Located right between IKEA and Vaughan Mills Mall. Great for a shopping getaway weekend. Lots of great restaurants, Dave & Busters, Comedy Club and Colossus Theatre all nearby. Rooms are a bit dated, but clean and many have large jetted, whirlpool jucuzzi tubs located in the room. Free continental breakfast is a nice perk. No pool...which means less families (kids). Overall, a perfect spot for a couples getaway, shopping weekend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for short stay.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Easy booking, check-in & check-out.
Room had everything you would need for a short stay. The decor is a bit dated but spacious and clean.The only complaint I would have is that the staff was very quick to rush us out of the included breakfast (which we paid for). They had already begun closing the kitchen much before the designated times. I would not recommend eating breakfast their again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice room, but included breakfast wasn't that good

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Suite had two queens and a pullout coach. Room was clean and fresh.
Cons: Breakfast as mentioned.
Location: Close access to Vaughan Mall shopping, Canada's Wonderland.
Included breakfast wasn't that good. Hotel wasn't bookings were weak that night and food didn't look that fresh. Much better breakfasts provided at other nearby chains, with more selections and hot offerings. Besides that, the room was very clean. No other complaints.