Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Great resort, and also a great place to take the family. Friendly staff and nicely renovated rooms since the last time I visited.You can't go wrong with this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful & Comfortable

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Great rooms. Right on the beach with super pool and bar/restaurant. Volleyball & ping pong tables too - really fun! We'll definitely stay again - great deal/price and the staff were really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel with good staff and convnient amenities

Posted Dec 27, 2015
The hotel and its amenities kept positively surprising us. Their pool and hot tubs are open 24 hrs - a nice change from a lot of other similar hotels. The beach is relatively small, but nice. There were no crowds, and despite the size it really felt like a small and cozy resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.J. , U.S.A

Pleasant Stay

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Location and laid back atmosphere
Cons: The daytime bartender was somewhat taciturn
Location: We had two days with a professional guide for birding and this location was perfect. We also spent time in San Juan and El Yunque , both easy access.
A very comfortable, relaxing place. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, and most are bilingual if you prefer English. We stayed there once ( four years ago ) and it seems to be in better condition now, as well as more professionally run. Anything you need is readily available. The location is super! All of the island is easily reached and it was a good home base for us.... By the way the food at the Bohio kiosk was much better this time. Special thanks to Sasha who was especially helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Elaine

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: It was nice being by the water, the pool was large, there two jacuzzis, ping pong and more with no extra charges to use them.
Cons: Workers entering your unit with out any notice.
Location: We did ventre out but traffic coming and going to popular sites was terrible spent alot of time in car.
I enjoyed everything about the hotel except for the constant invasion of workers entering our room even when we had the do not disturb sign up. (installing a throw rug, adding a base to a dresser, saing they had to check a loss smoke detector) they didnt even call to inform of these entries. did not feel confortableabout leaving the unit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nothing to write home about

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: The staff and the beach were the best features of the hotel,
Cons: The cleanliness of the beach. The pool/beach chairs could use a spruce up.
Location: Fabulous restaurant, Zafra, at the Plantation View Resort. Arborio and La Terrazza were also good places to eat.
We don't usually write reviews, but wanted to make others aware before booking this hotel. Half of the complex is in total disrepair and is "blocked off" so that you cannot get access to it, which is a good thing because our first impression was, "Oh, no. What have we gotten ourselves into?" It looks like they may be doing some renovations, but not sure. There were large bags of garbage stacked at one end of the parking lot, and a rusty tractor trailer parked in the lot, too. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, which was plenty of room for our family of 5, but there was an odor that we couldn't seem to get rid of. It even followed us home until we washed everything! Also, the cleanliness of the kitchen appliances left much to be desired, and everything could certainly have used a facelift. On the positive side, the staff was very pleasant, and the small beach/pool bar/restaurant was nice. We enjoyed many nights sitting at the bar and listening to the ocean waves. The pool and beach area were decent, although the beach could use a little cleanup. The fitness facilities were sufficient and they were adding a new piece of equipment when we were checking out. Also, there isn't really anything close by to do, i.e. water sports, etc. You have to travel to San Juan or Isla Verde, which are about 30 minutes away. I certainly would not say that this hotel is 4 out of 5; more like a 2.5 to 3 out of 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, NY

Wonderful facilities

Posted May 18, 2015
We enjoy our stay at Hacienda del Mar. The facilities were excellent. We had everything we needed to enjoy our 50th Wedding Anniversary
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff was very friendly. It felt like I was staying with family. 1 large pool, 2 Jacuzzis, and access to a bar/diner with a view of the beach
Cons: We noticed that the room isn't cleaned everyday. They refer to it as a tidy service. We bought our own cleaning supplies and cleaned it thoroughly.
Location: On-site golf, gym, day spa, tours, and gift shop, nearby restaurants (fast food and fine dining), groceries, pharmacies,
While I was visiting for two separate funerals, my visit was very relaxing. I would love to return under better circumstances to really benefit from everything the hotel and surrounding locations have to offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Right on the beach but no restaurant really

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Not much. Staff was nice.
Cons: Almost everything.
Location: Nothing really except within the resorts.
Underwhelming. Staff was very nice but the hotel is old and there's really no restaurant to speak of other than a little beach cafe with limited menu. Also, the area around the hotel (Dorado) is on complete lock down. Every other restaurant is behind a high security gate and you are NOT getting in without a reservation. There's virtually no resort shopping anywhere. Plantation Village is not open to the public and doesn't really have shopping or dining facilities anyway. The only food or shopping nearby is a strip mall with American fast food. There isn't much to do in the way of water sports because this side of the island seems to get too much wind and waves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Im coming back

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Excellent and i have a great experience and coming back