Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by omkar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Jan from Tallahassee

Average

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels
I wanted to get away from the madding crowd and I did. The hotel is a little shabby for a 4star. Overall I rate it as average.
4 out of 5
by Diana from England

Lovely setting in the countryside

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed our three night stay. The ground floor room was comfortable, very clean and with a door that opened on to a paved area and woodland. The rooms are set in woodland- which is not a 'manicured' garden but attractive non the less. It was a five minute walk to breakfast from our room which we enjoyed. The breakfast was a good continental breakfast which included a variety of breads, cheeses, cereal, juice fruit and drinks. We ate in the restaurant twice, enjoyed our meals and thought the service was excellent. The hotel's location was near the motorway but not so close that you could hear it. It as easy to drive to places of interest such as the national park and the Hartenstein Museum at Oosterbeek.
4 out of 5
by alison from navan

clean room helpful staff

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
While the view of the restaurant area seemed stunning on driving up to the hole- on checking there was a limited menu- also while going round the grounds for a walk several areas seemed quite dilapidated and run down. It was fine as a base place to stay because we had a car, but definitely not somewhere we would either particularly return to or recommend to others. The room was clean and adequate, but there were issues with noise levels late at night on one of the nights we stayed there- Our guess is you either love it or not be so enamored by it and we tended to veer to the latter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andy from Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire

Country House Rooms

Posted Feb 2, 2013
Location: Picturesque country house with rooms / lodges in the grounds.
Slept like a log in one of the upstairs lodges, very quiet and a lovely location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ximenilla from Miami

Apt for cliffhangers and no WiFi

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Pros: The surroundings
Cons: Stairs VERY steep
Location: Nice and woody!
The location was very nice in the woods but they don't have WiFi service at all! I think it is because of the trees and hills their internet service doesn't work. Regarding the second floor on the cabanas, they should specify that it's not recommended to people that are not cliffhangers! Their steps are as steep and as spiral as you will ever get. Not recommend to people with vertigo either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2012 on Hotels
We thought the accommodation was very generous and although the rooms were rather shabby they were clean and the beds and bedding were good. Disappointed that we did not get a room with balcony as promised. Would have appreciated a warning about the steep spiral staircase to the room.An electric kettle in the room would have been useful. Impressed by the setting and would certainly consider using the hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and handy to main road

Posted May 5, 2012 on Hotels
We loved the woods setting. We could only hear the birds singing! Maybe older people would need to specify a bottom floor as the stairs are steep if carrying luggage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AUS.

Quiet location excellent breakfast

Posted May 18, 2011 on Hotels
A very nice hotel in a quiet suburb. Buffet breakfast was excellent with creamy best coffee! Staff was helpful in pointing us direction to the nearest supermarket. Free internet PC at reception and wireless at restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia CANADA

Winter visit to the Wipselburg

Posted Dec 10, 2010 on Hotels
We stayed here to be close to Apeldoorn. It is in a beautiful location with lots of trees and gardens. The breakfast was excellent. One of the best .The rooms are spread out in smaller buildings. The second floor rooms are up a rather narrow, steep spiral staircase, but they are very comfy with a spacoius bathroom. Some of the rooms were cold when we arrived. [We had 3 rooms with our group.] Staff was very friendly and spoke English well. I think it would be especially lovely here in the summer!