Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Outdated and somewhat overpriced

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: We have chosen this hotel because of it location, close to the Hoge Veluwe National Park, and the view of the forest from our windows was very nice
Cons: A major renovation is definitely needed And a more generous attitude toward the customers could definitely improve the experience
The hotel is mid-priced, but there was an air of cheapness throughout our stay - starting with an option to "rent" a tea kettle for an extra 5 euro a day, to the extremely basic breakfast for which they normally charge around 16euro a person.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little hidden gem in the forest

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel - I was staying in a small block with only three rooms in it. Very quiet.
5 out of 5
by koren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Would booked again.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Beautiful surroundings. Great staff. Amazingly fresh breakfast. Multiple facilities, do as much or as little as you like!! Only small down was supplement of 5.00 Euro per day for kettle / tea/coffee.
4 out of 5
by Hok man

Quiet and relaxing.

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was very pleasant stay we had for the two night, we rented the ebikes however, it rained heavily on the first day(not the hotel's fault) me and my wife were soaked top to bottom, we got back to the hotel had a nice hot shower and proceeded with our dinner in the hotel. The meals in the restaurant are great. The next day we got the all inclusive deal with the hotel which covers the 3meal and a little snack at 5-5:30 and coffee and tea all day long. Oh also look for the wild bunny that hangs out around the hotel!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford, UK

Forest setting

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: The staff and the excellent food - brilliant breakfast!
Cons: The arrangement of the room - a bit of redecoration and the electrics tidying up. A reading lamp over the bed and a mirror in the room.
Location: Apeldoorn is supposed to be an interesting town. Bike hire, swimming, tennis, walking etc etc. We only stopped over so haven't had time to explore.
The hotel is arranged so that the facilities, indoor pool, bowling, bar and restaurant are in one building and the accommodation [of various types] is in separate buildings. This is perfect if you do not want to be disturbed by the noise of people enjoying themselves into the evening. It is a way to walk if you have difficulty walking. The building we stayed in has tiny rooms which are so arranged that you can only access one side of the double bed - it has no light over the bed and was tired and a bit shabby. If I wanted to make it a destination, the room would be disappointing but the food and ambiance in the bar/brasserie were excellent, assisted by charming staff and a lovely fire. If you stayed for a while, you can hire bikes, swim and play bowls. There are also other outdoor pursuits which look like a lot of fun. Although the room was small and in need of TLC, it was very good value for money and, for us, an excellent stop over on our way from the Baltic to Hool of Holland. We would consider using this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by zeev

Disappointment

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stay at the hotel with my 9 year girl. 1)when we arrived we found out that the bad of the girl was broken. 2)Breakfast was poor and with no variety and changes over the six days we were in the hotel. 3)The hotel is located in a beautiful surrounding. 4)The room that we got was small and crowded,And I doubt if the room size was 30 Square meter. 5)My booking to the hotel was about four months before our stay. according to the terms of our booking the hotel should charge us only during our stay. The hotel made a mistake and immediately after booking charge us for our all staying. After I complained to hotel.com web site,the hotel bring me back the cost of the order. but due to exchange rate Difference of the euro I lost money. During my stay I told them but it And I even brought them written confirmation for it but they refused to give me the lost money and did not even Apologize for their mistake.
5 out of 5
by john from newton abbot

needed a longer stay

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
One night stay on way to assen excellent hotel good facilities (swimming pool sauna etc) nice area for walking cycling and plenty of space for kids to play
3 out of 5
by Garthman from Buckinghamshire

Not quite as expected

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is in a beautiful country park location midway between Arnhem and Appeldoorn. The restaurant was very good for dinner and breakfast and as an alternative the bar menu was more than adequate. The bar was comfortable and the service was excellent. The hotel focusses on sports activities of which there are many and football training camps seem to be a speciality. The accommodation we were in was a large block and was very spartan. The rooms were small and very basic and expected items such as tea/ coffee makers were extra. The spiral stairs are very difficult when carrying bags. Other accommodation may be different and the hotel website does not adequately explain the standard of accommodation. This is A real shame as everything else was of a good standard.
3 out of 5
by Avi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels